We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waveney House Hotel

Save
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (10)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“the river”(135 reviews)
“four poster bed”(13 reviews)
“fish and chips”(12 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Free Breakfast
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
Meeting Rooms
Concierge
3 Star Hotel
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Puddingmoor, Beccles NR34 9PL, England
31.2 km to Norwich Airport
33 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
162
104
59
19
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
162
104
59
19
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverfour poster bedfish and chipsriverside locationlovely hotelfunction roommy wifeslarge bathroombirthday meallovely riversidesea bassstand up showerwatch the boatsspecials boardsit outsidekippershome town
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Good weather always helps but this small hotel is situated in an idyllic spot right on the river and would make a great stay no matter the weather. Reception was straightforward and very attentive. We arrived very early so took tea on the terrace while...More

Thank Brian N
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Food lovely, staff lovely and attentive. River view amazing but...... there was an awful man on his boat opposite swearing, giving me awful hand gestures, drinking and playing loud music. Had to go inside in the end which was a shame because I was having...More

Thank Janey K
Response from WaveneyWarrior, Owner at Waveney House HotelResponded yesterday

I'm so sorry about that. We know the owners of the mooring and will have it dealt with immediately . If local please call into the hotel and speak with the manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

I pre booked the restaurant for 14 people to celebrate a birthday Sunday lunch. To make things easy it was suggested we selected the choice of roasts. I informed there was one celiac among us who would probably have a fish choice. Well unfortunately the...More

Thank Barry J
Response from WaveneyWarrior, Owner at Waveney House HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Barry, Sorry to here about this on Tripadvisor. In a situation like this its best to ask to see the manager or indeed make an appointment to see the manager if not on the premises. Could you call the Hotel in a couple of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I went to the Waveney to dine with two friends on Saturday evening. We had a round of drinks out on the very busy patio, a perfect spot overlooking the River Waveney with the odd pleasure boat passing by, before going into...More

Thank tonywindsor2016
Response from WaveneyWarrior, General Manager at Waveney House HotelResponded 1 week ago

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but as normal in a case like this what is most peoples joy can also be someone else's dissatisfaction . We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been here three times in the last few months. Food is always lovely, hot and reasonable price. Staff are polite and the only 2 critique's is you need to clean the corners of the restaurant. Lots of dirty corners especially behind the plant....More

Thank Gem184
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 122 - US$ 188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 122 - US$ 188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
exYorkie148
26 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from WaveneyWarrior | Property representative |
Unfortunately not as Grade 1 Listed building
1
Vote
Vickers55
5 October 2015|
Answer
Response from WaveneyWarrior | Property representative |
Disabled access to all the ground floor but not to upper floors where the rooms area as Grade 1 Listed building
0
Votes
alanloki
9 July 2014|
Answer
Response from luisadagnolo | Property representative |
I'm afraid we only allow guide dogs inside the hotel however all dogs are welcome on the riverside terrace.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 2 was good but our friends recommend room 4"
Read review
"Get a room overlooking the river."
Read review
"No lift but shallow steps on staircase. Good car park"
Read review
"Upgraded room was excellent"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing