We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Playa La Roca Ecohotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Playa La Roca Ecohotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Start your review of Playa La Roca Ecohotel
 Click to rate
ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place is paradise, Beautifully artistically created cabins that are only a steps from the beach. The uniqueness of this place allows real relaxation on a wonderful quiet clean beach (and pool). It felt like home and we were treated so well by all the staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irish055
Zürich
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a small resort with only a few bungalows and a main house at the end of the Palomino beach in direction to Parque Tayrona. It is a long way to the center of Palomino but there are buses or motorbike-taxis (no "car"taxis). I really liked the style of the bungalows. They stand in leavy grounds in middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brigitte27_12
South Africa
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay here. The rooms are stunning and the beach is lovely. Mario's customer service was exceptional as he was always checking in to make sure we were satisfied. The only small issues were the patchy wifi and they were slightly short staffed at the time we were there. That aside, we would certainly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cocozee
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Located in an amazing area this place has potential to offer an unforgettable experience. According to the price you would expect some things or services but in this place nothing is granted. Here a highlight of things that surprised me: 1) Terrible and unfriendly stuff. The worst is the hotel manager who does not take responsibility over anything happening in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Arrival is a few steps downward from the coastal highway. The premises are between this highway and the beach, a narrow strip of vegetation. We had the room Esperanza. It is big, has one doublebed and 4 additional beds placed alongside the walls, that means for our couple more than enough space…you can place your bags on top of those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tucano
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Way too expensive for the bad service and product that they offer. The food is simple and tasteless. How can you serve pasta and meat sauce when you've just next to the sea? The worst part was the service that tried to charge me for everything even things I hadn't ordered. Will not be returning and advice everyone to avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daniel S
PlayaLaRoca, Manager at Playa La Roca Ecohotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola Daniel. Muchas gracias por tus comentarios. Estaremos revisando el tema expuesto y nos encargaremos de mejorarlo.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We were a big group of 28 people from all over the world, celebrating a post-wedding trip (group honeymoon?) in Colombia. I cannot even describe what a pleasant and relaxing stay we had at this ecohotel! First of all, the location is amazing and took our breath away! The water was excellent for swimming and the beach was beautiful! The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ioana_from_romania
PlayaLaRoca, General Manager at Playa La Roca Ecohotel, responded to this review

Dear Ioana; thank you very much for all your comments. We greatly appreciate the time you shared with us in the hotel; It was a great experience and left your joy and warmth. Our staff remembers all of you and we hope to have you with us one day soon. Muchos abrazos!

Curacao
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed one night in Play La Roca during our roundtrip in Colombia with our three children aged 7, 5 and 3. The location of this hotel is absolutely stunning. It's locked between the road and the beach in lovely green surroundings. Although it must be close to the road, we have not heard anything during our stay. The beach...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WimTalma
Pereira, Colombia
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

For what it is--a true eco hotel (maloka-style rooms, gorgeous natural setting, no AC, no hot water)--this place deserves 5 stars. Worried about amenities? Content yourself with a great massage and the hypnotic THUNDER of the surf and forget about anything that requires electricity. With the constant sea breeze, I felt no need for air conditioning (the rooms have fans),...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gringoencolombia
london
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Had a fantastic time at this eco hotel. The staff were accommodating and the food was fresh and tasty. The huts are on the private beach which is clean with chairs and loungers ready for the guests to use. The complex is very quiet and the rooms are clean and comfy. Getting to town is a short bus ride or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s_voltage

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riohacha
4.4 km away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
244 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Playa Mandala
Hotel Playa Mandala
#2 of 4 in Palomino
211 reviews
31.7 km away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 2 in Tayrona National Park
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
81.2 km away
Hotel Taroa
Hotel Taroa
#1 of 5 in Riohacha
116 reviews
20.8 km away
Merecumbe Hotel
Merecumbe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Buritaca
279 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Hukumeizi
Hotel Hukumeizi
#4 of 4 in Palomino
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Playa La Roca Ecohotel

Address: km 69 Via Santa Marta - Rioacha, Riohacha, Colombia
Region: Colombia > La Guajira Department > Riohacha
Price Range: ₹ 7,220 - ₹ 13,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa La Roca Ecohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Playa La Roca Ecohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Playa La Roca Ecohotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Playa La Roca Ecohotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a room very near the beach, the sea can be noisy but I love the sound of the waves going to sleep”
 of 5 bubbles irish055, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to have a first line room, next to the ocean. Don't pay before seeing the room”
 of 5 bubbles paulgJ8488OK, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“close to the water, if you want to hear the roar of the sea”
 of 5 bubbles danielbV7472JE, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“You can hear the sea crashing in all bedrooms, not a gentle lapping of waves to sooth you to sleep.”
  • Our room, looks good from the outside
 of 5 bubbles andy52Brussels, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I am afraid there aren't any”
 of 5 bubbles CarloS911, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5