We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

There is one morning that we heard a very large heavy item fell on ground in our room. Despite of not having any stuff in our sight that dropped on floor as what we heard, we did not notice that it was actually a broken sound of a soda in our refrigerator. My partner saw this (as attached pictures) when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elynne T
PloenSamui, Hotel Manager at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Elynne T. My sincere apologies for the delay in replying to your comment due to the change in hotel management. The hotel is under our management, so I will not try to make any excuses for what happened. However, learning from the lessons and make sure the same mistake does not happen again. I hope that the crash occurred...

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel, with great staff in a great location on the amazing island of Koh Samui. This a lovely little hotel in a great location, within walking distances of the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel itself isn't massive but is fantastic, the rooms are massive but you have more than enough in them, the decor and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben_S_8282
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Why? 1.That bad smell people talking about, it's almost unbearable. 2. I have to argue, i mean it, argue... Just to swap a towel due to a stain on it and it looks dirty. I don't know who she was or what's her position but she has 0 manner and 0 hospitality. I'll stay somewhere else next time, period.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yosa S
PloenSamui, Management team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear Yosa S Thank you for your time sharing your experience at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui with us. Please accept our apology that some aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. We will certainly look into all the below expectation items you have mentioned which will have to be improved immediately. Thank you one more time for...

HCMC, VN
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Just cross the road to get to the beach. But have to walk through other hotels block front of the beach. So i feel not comfortable. There is no water tape to wash sandy foot at ground floor so my clean rooms got sand everyday! There is microwave in room. Good for longterm guests. A small balcony to hang wet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vibinguyen
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Loved this place... I was nicely decorated.. monkey theme.. clean, large place, comfortable bed and soft pillows...wet bar..tv and wifi worked great! shower was a good size with toilet and sink and blow dryer.. I was in room 1008 my friends were in 1009 they had a smaller bathroom. Had a balcony.. lots of lighting and plugs to charge your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _kkelly35
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

No breakfasts, costs too much, ants in the room. On the bright side: the hotel looks like new, new elevator, great location near the 'center' of chaweng. Staff helpfull and nice, speaks enough English.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Łukasz Z
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

We spent 6 days at the Ploen in March. Although the rooms are small, they are very comfortable. However the highlight of the hotel is the wonderful front desk workers. We were warmly welcomed by Mind on arrival and she was extremely helpful. Mind and May both went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Nothing was too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

This has the potential to be a really nice hotel but some aspects let it down. The bed was very noisy and creaky, so every time we turned in bed we'd get woken up. The staff on reception are nice but hardly speak any English so we were unable to book any taxis (went next door to the travel people)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lewis111
PloenSamui, Management team at Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui, responded to this review

Dear lewis111 Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback which was echoed in identical fashion by another reviewer in a similar review a week or so earlier. We had addressed most of the comments during the visit and will continue to make improvements on a regular basis, as to ensure that our guests receive the...

Croston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

We had the best stay at Ploen. We were greeted with refreshing cold towel and jasmine green tea and then personally taken to room and shown the facilities which were brand new and beautifully designed. Absolute luxury for us on a budget as backpackers. We ate breakfast here everyday - homemade strawberry jam is delicious! All restaurants and shops literally...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GBBee
Paris, France
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We were a group of friends visiting during Christmas time. Very impressed by the ever-smiling staff, nice clean modern rooms and efficient service! If you are looking for a great location, a positive young vibe and clean spacious rooms with all basic amenities - go for this! Also , the interiors are very tastefully done ! Perfect for a young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anisha B

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 km away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.9 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
1,531 reviews
1.6 km away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
540 reviews
0.2 km away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
485 reviews
0.6 km away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui

Address: 37/90-1 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Samui Ocean Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: ₹ 3,547 - ₹ 5,525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui Ko Samui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ploen Chaweng Koh Samui staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Actually all rooms are the same size, except a couple which are only a little smaller”
 of 5 bubbles terry187, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The rooms away from the road can be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles S7273QVjohns, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Room facing Mercure is better!”
  • Nice decoration and comfy beds
  • Smiling Monkey
  • View from Room 3001
  • more monkeys
  • only bad smell .... otherwise it is a good room.
 of 5 bubbles JayTC, 20 May 2015 | Read review
“I could not say a room to be not good. I stayed in one located at the front side of the hotel and it was very calm. So I can suppose that other rooms located to the back side of the hotel are also good.”
 of 5 bubbles rafaeljs, 26 Jan 2015 | Read review
“"near the hotel Mercure, on a small road"”
 of 5 bubbles _O4982IO, 24 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay