We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bambu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Bambu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is just perfect! The cabins are spacious, beds are comfortable, safety box, very clean, mosquito net, plenty room to store your things, and our bedroom had a good size balcony. There is a functioning communal kitchen and plenty of space to seat on the beach. The common grounds are clean. This place has no restaurant, compared to other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzethva
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I stayed 4 nights at Bambu, and felt that it was perfect. I really enjoyed the tranquil environment and all the staff were super chill and attentive to my needs. I stayed in a ´smaller´room upstairs with a balcony and only had to walk downstairs and 10 feet to get to the beach. It´s nice that they have a communal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanna B
london
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Bambu for 8 nights as a solo traveller early Dec 2016. I became aware of San Agustinillo because of the yoga and meditation center Hridaya. It is a very small coastal village so there isn't an abundance of accommodation - which can only be a good thing as the place wouldn't be the same if overrun with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chocbloc
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We loved the Bambu! First trip to Mexico as a family -- two adults, two teenagers -- hoping to avoid the whole all-inclusive scene.After many online searches and convos with friends who know Mexico, Bambu was the perfect pick! We liked the fact that Bambu is locally owned (yay, for Memo!), natural building materials, right on the beach, had space...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ccullen2016
Guillermo E, Propietario at Bambu, responded to this review

Great!!, we are so happy to know that you really enjoyed our paradise, and it will make us more happy to see you again. We send you many thanks and sun shines from all Bambu' s team. See you soon!!

Story, Wyoming
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Bambu', and the little town of San Agustinillo was exactly what we had envisioned and wanted. The room was light and airy and absolutely delightful. Memo is a terrific host - speaks English. We also enjoyed the in-house kitchen. The beach is long and lovely for walking, but the waves are almost too rambunctious for swimming. Perfect for boogie-boarding, however....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tupelok
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Although not The Holiday Inn in any form or fashion, Bambu offers its guests a little bit of heaven in rustic Mexico. The bedrooms are cleaned everyday. It is very peaceful and quiet and within walking distance to local restaurants. If you want to go to Mazunte or Zipolite, camionetas run every 15 minutes and can pick up up right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill1111
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I loved my stay here, It's on the best stretch of the beach with plenty of hammocks and beds to lie on for relaxing by the ocean. And the bed i had in the spacious cabana was extremely comfortable and close to the beach so you could be lulled by the surge at night. Memo (the owner) is a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauhickey
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We simply loved our beach getaway at Bambu. Our room was clean, comfortable and airy. Nothing better than buying a few things from the store across the street and making up a fabulous little lunch in the spacious communal kitchen. People were great, giving each other the right amount of space but sharing the pleasure of this great location together.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Guillermo E, Propietario at Bambu, responded to this review

Hola Robert Thank you for your comments, hope to see you again !!! Saludos costeños Memo Bambu

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We love this place because of Memo and Mickey, and of course the gorgeous rooms right on the beach. The rooms with the palapa roof are especially appealing as they have a Robinson Crusoe feeling with all the comforts you need. We've been to Memo's place three or four times now, and each time it is a treat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Orleans, California
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Bambu is located right on the beach; walk out of your room and into the surf. It offers an outdoor communal kitchen with a large dining table, from which you can see the ocean in a lovely garden setting. Guests get a cupboard to store their groceries and space in the two refrigerators. There are many lounges and hammocks, some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franyurt1

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Other (82)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustinillo
0.3 km away
Casa Aamori Hotel
Casa Aamori Hotel
#1 of 4 in San Agustinillo
165 reviews
3.0 km away
Posada Buena Vida
Posada Buena Vida
#3 of 5 in Zipolite
104 reviews
2.4 km away
El Alquimista Yoga & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
ZOA Hotel
ZOA Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mazunte
96 reviews
0.0 km away
Punta Placer Bungalows
Punta Placer Bungalows
#3 of 4 in San Agustinillo
92 reviews
1.6 km away
El copal
El copal
#4 of 6 in Mazunte
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Bambu

Address: Main Rd | Conocido, San Agustinillo, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > San Agustinillo
Price Range: ₹ 4,289 - ₹ 5,582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Hotel San Agustinillo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bambu staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bambu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in both a downstairs room and an upstairs room. We LOVED the upstairs room and would recommend it to anyone.”
 of 5 bubbles tupelok, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“There are eight rooms total. One or two on the lower level are right on the beach, and several are upstairs w/ balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Bill1111, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We stayed at a two story cabin, it had a big balcony with chairs and a hammock. Great if youre traveling with another couple.”
  • Balcony with hammock
 of 5 bubbles U2088ZFanac, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ocean view rooms are the best”
  • The beach
 of 5 bubbles Natfri, 2 Apr 2015 | Read review
“If any problem with stairs the ocean front rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles anitdro, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay