We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Insight Resort

PricelineUS$ 15*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 39*
US$ 15*
Great Deal
US$ 16*
US$ 30*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Insight Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of Insight Resort
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 2 fabulous nights here as part of a tour group. Were lucky enough to have sea view rooms on the 2nd level. Nice beach outside hotel & you have choice of swimming there or at the pool. We found the staff pleasant & helpful - good variety of food options & food was very good. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toplissmtbers
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/madam, we are glad to know that your great and awesome tour ended by staying in our hotel for two nights. We are also pleased that you have enjoyed the beach, the pool and also the rooms offered to you with a sea view. Thank you for commending the services offered by our staff as we continue to train...

Uttoxeter
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here at the end of our tour with KE travel. The hotel is lovely and the beach beautiful. However, the management is really poor. Wet and dirty towels were reused by the pool, raw chicken served at lunch and the bar is the slowest you will come across in Sri Lanka. I cannot recommend this hotel to friends.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harry A
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Understand you saying “give this one a miss”. Really you shouldn’t please. As endorsed the hotel is lovely and the beach is beautiful. Certainly what matters most is service, we agree with you. If wet and dirty towels are being used by the pool attendant, that is not acceptable and not the norm of...

Galle, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

we went there to celebrate birthday of my partner. Before i go there I called to there FnB manager 077 1025964 which given from reception. he promised me to arrange a table in the beach with candles but when im going there was a table in dark. i dnt wanna be too fussy so i sat by there and before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dolz89
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

First of all we need to apologize for the delay in response to the two negative comments by Dananjaya and Dolz89 due the person being the responsible for complaints and comments, firstly being extremely caught up with the work scheduled and also requiring time to properly investigate. We understand that you have been at Insight Resort as a couple to...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Arrival: It was my birthday and my GF wanted to arrange a surprise birthday celebration. The staff not even light a candle on the table, the food and beverage manager had promised a table on the beach, which we did not receive. Service: We were waiting someone to come and offer the service for 30 minutes and no one turned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dananjaya D
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

First of all we need to apologize for the delay in response to the two negative comments by Dananjaya and Dolz89 due the person being the responsible for complaints and comments, firstly being extremely caught up with the work scheduled and also requiring time to properly investigate. We understand that you have been at Insight Resort as a couple to...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 15 April 2017

I have stayed at this place on several Occasion to find out they have consistent service standers and food quality. Small but comfortable rooms with and without ocean view. Specially recommend the morning breakfast – a wide variety of yummy dishes and desserts to choose. A good location to have a dip in the sea too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GayanWickramage
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we thank you and really appreciate for choosing to stay in our hotel on many occasions and also commending on the consistency of the service standards and the food quality. We are glad that you enjoyed and recommend our yummy breakfast dishes and dessert and also is glad to know that you are pleased with the location and...

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This is an exceptional resort. Rosham is a very attentive manager. Very attentive to your needs. Front office manager,warm and welcoming always ready to help. Rooms are spacious and have everything you need. Pool area is very good with an amazing view of the ocean. Good location to see Galle, unawatuna etc. I would stay here again anytime. I know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ondrea M
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your excellent comments given to our resort. We are glad that you have commended on our Resident Manager Roshan and the Front office Manager for their courteous service. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the surrounding, the location of the hotel and also that your stay had been memorable. As you were...

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Very nice place. Area is not crowded. Only issue is that the area goes dark early. The room I stayed in (standard, not beach facing ones which are really nice), was nice and cozy but should have better ventilation system. They normally change towels every other day, do be sure to request them if you want it daily. Also make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abrar H
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, we thank you for your comments of our hotel and is pleased that you have recommended it as a nice place to stay. We will look into the rooms that you have mentioned which is less ventilation and take measures to remedy same. Our staff is at your service at all times, therefore you are most...

liverpool
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Had a couple of days here before heading out to the nature reserves.Well placed for trips to Galle and Whale watching. First evening buffet was just about acceptable - but second night we had fresh grilled Tuna - delicious. Location on the beach is great and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Pool area very clean and rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank her177
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you dear Sir/Madam for your comments about our resort. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the fresh grilled tuna being a resort by the sea, seafood is available at Insight. We also thank you for commending our staff and the surrounding and cleanliness. We are pleased to inform you that we have trained our staff to give...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This is a beautiful hotel. Warm welcome and lovely room with amazing view of the Indian Ocean. Comfortable Area around the pool and attentive towel man. Lovely poolside bar. The buffet was obviously set up for half board so was not of particularly good quality so ordered off the a la carte which was perfectly okay. Bothersome ladies selling their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nicolamW9008HW
Ahangama, Manager at Insight Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Sir / Madam for your comments about our Resort and glad you enjoyed our a la carte menu. We very much regret to note about the annoyance from the ladies at the beach. We will look in to this. We certainly have taken steps to limit them to two instead of some hotels in this area having quite...

essex
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Arrived to find that we had been allocated to a small dark road right next to the main road. immediately asked to move and was told by a rude reception lady that they were full and this was our room. After a night of little sleep saw the manager lady in the morning who agreed to move our room. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul087

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahangama
4.6 km away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
400 reviews
2.6 km away
Garton's Cape
Garton's Cape
#1 of 6 in Ahangama
140 reviews
4.0 km away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
204 reviews
5.8 km away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
366 reviews
12.6 km away
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
Esprit d'Ici Hotel
#1 of 9 in Mirissa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Insight Resort

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama 80650, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Price Range: ₹ 973 - ₹ 7,785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Insight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Insight Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Insight Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view room - always something to see.”
toplissmtbers, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get one with a sea view the higher up the better”
nicolamW9008HW, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The room we had was large with great veiws over the garden and sea but did not have a balconey on the backI”
simond546, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor balcony rooms are best”
HoddersHodders, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“501 good sea view higher floors are better”
herbiefrogg, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 15* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$ 16
Booking.comUS$ 30
ElvolineUS$ 39
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates