We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (399)
Room & Suite (116)
Pool & Beach (38)
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sri lanka”(86 reviews)
“vegetable garden”(11 reviews)
“infinity pool”(15 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Kalu's Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
210
180
89
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
210
180
89
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankavegetable gardeninfinity poolnational parkmain buildingtable tennisboutique hotelworld cupnice poolset menutop floorsmall hotelfoot massagelarge balconyhidden awaylounge areaoff the beaten track
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
111 - 115 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed 3 nights. Our room was ground floor just behind the restaurant and clean but rather small with no view.Unlike other reviewers we found the staff helpful and friendly. The location is the best thing about this hotel. There are so many beautiful birds...More

1  Thank Rosie B
Response from Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's HideawayResponded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017

The hotel is in a stunning location with lovely pool but the rooms are not even travelodge standard and the staff quite unfriendly. Nice open restaurant but food disappointing compared to what we had become used to elsewhere in Sri Lanka. We stayed one night...More

2  Thank Charles-Joint
Response from Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's HideawayResponded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas...More

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Out of all the many places we stayed in on our tour of Sri Lanka this was the most disappointing. The rooms were prison like, tea and coffee provided was only one sachet each. The staff were stand offish and unhelpful. The setting was stunning,...More

Thank deborahmoult
Response from Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's HideawayResponded 15 February 2017

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas...More

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We only had one night here to allow a visit to the park but this is a really nice place such deserved a longer stay. We booked an upgraded room and couldn't find any fault with it. The gardens, the pool and the river side...More

Thank KeswickTraveller
Response from Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's HideawayResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to...More

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

How could you give this dark, third rate place an 8.8 rating? Deluxe room like a concrete box with dirty floors. Food terrible in dining room swarming with bugs. Such a disappointment after previous 4 hotels in this lush and beautiful country. Katherine New York...More

2  Thank T6271XVmichaeld
Response from Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's HideawayResponded 11 February 2017

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
See all Uda Walawe National Park HotelsSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 77 - US$ 93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 77 - US$ 93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (399)
Room & Suite (116)
Pool & Beach (38)
Dining (24)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sj112
19 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from margotsmortgage | Reviewed this property |
Sorry not to check the site more often. I booked the hotel through an agent in Ann Arbor who also selected other hotels/tents in Sri Lanka. I went through several wildlife parks in Sri Lanka but again, the agent had... More
0
Votes
xulon
27 June 2016|
Answer
Response from JulieH6061 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do provide driver accommodation but it is sometimes best to phone ahead and check they have some available as they can get very busy at times.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Rooms near the pool are very good."
Read review
"Ask for one poolside"
Read review
"Don't pay extra for the suite"
Read review
"Not in the main building, but in the block overlooking the pool or adjacent to it"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing