We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kalu's Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kalu\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 415: English reviews
Start your review of Kalu's Hideaway
 Click to rate
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 3 nights. Our room was ground floor just behind the restaurant and clean but rather small with no view.Unlike other reviewers we found the staff helpful and friendly. The location is the best thing about this hotel. There are so many beautiful birds in the garden, and the grounds adjoin the river so there is even more wildlife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a stunning location with lovely pool but the rooms are not even travelodge standard and the staff quite unfriendly. Nice open restaurant but food disappointing compared to what we had become used to elsewhere in Sri Lanka. We stayed one night to do a safari tour and would not have wished to stay longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles-Joint
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. We certainly hope to have the privilege of...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Out of all the many places we stayed in on our tour of Sri Lanka this was the most disappointing. The rooms were prison like, tea and coffee provided was only one sachet each. The staff were stand offish and unhelpful. The setting was stunning, great shame the hospitality didn't match up

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahmoult
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. We certainly hope to have the privilege of...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We only had one night here to allow a visit to the park but this is a really nice place such deserved a longer stay. We booked an upgraded room and couldn't find any fault with it. The gardens, the pool and the river side location were all very inviting and the semi-open air dining just fits into the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeswickTraveller
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

How could you give this dark, third rate place an 8.8 rating? Deluxe room like a concrete box with dirty floors. Food terrible in dining room swarming with bugs. Such a disappointment after previous 4 hotels in this lush and beautiful country. Katherine New York USA

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank T6271XVmichaeld
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. best regards from the manager

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed here for 1 night but wish we stayed longer! We had a very warm welcome with a complimentary head massage. Our room was amazing, the bathroom had such an gorgeous view. The hotel is very relaxing and peaceful, buffet breakfast and dinner were very good too and reasonably priced. Staff were lovely and very attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fj_parkes
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is beautiful, surrounded by nature. The rooms and bathroom are big and clean. the pool is really nice. Very good food. the staff was really nice and wait for us to come back from the safari for breakfast. Location for safari is really good around 15-20 minutes by car. the spa is so-so

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ccabrich2014
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there for one night on our Sri Lanka tour. The pictures cannot capture the calm atmosphere, close to nature with lizards and peacocks running around the hotel grounds. The place is also perfect for families with children with a playground, ping pong table and nice pool. There is also a vegetable garden and different tropical trees to show....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iokra
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading some reviews about this lodge was a bit concerned but it turned out to be better than expected. Rooms were fairly simple but spacious air con was great and walk in shower huge. Little bits were missing though had a plant in the bathroom but no tissues?? Service was great once you found someone and asked however don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thebass
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed here at the end of December 2016 for 2 nights. Disappointing check in. Make sure you don’t get a room on the ground floor ! They look like prison cells with hardly any daylight. By email we had requested a room on the first floor but when we arrived they had put us in a room on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amsterdam05
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. We certainly hope to have the privilege of...

400 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
0.0 km away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
147 reviews
4.4 km away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
693 reviews
2.4 km away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Nil Diya Mankada Safari Resort
19.0 km away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#9 of 28 in Uda Walawe National Park
86 reviews
7.0 km away
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Udawalawe
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Uda...
#3 of 28 in Uda Walawe National Park
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With 14 Fourteen Spacious rooms including 5 Superior rooms,6 Deluxe, 2 Chalets & 1 Suite, the hotel caters to the most unique clients. It provides the butler service with personalized dining menu of your choice. The Hotel is located just 5 Minutes next to Udawalawe National Park & Udawalawe Lake. From Colombo 187 km to the Hotel and around 04 hours drive from Colombo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalu's Hideaway

Address: Walawegama | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 00300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: ₹ 4,692 - ₹ 5,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalu's Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalu's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalu`s Hideaway Hotel Uda Walawe National Park
Kalu's Hideaway Sri Lanka/Uda Walawe National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalu's Hideaway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kalu's Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles rosieb130, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you don’t get a room on the ground floor ! They look like prison cells with hardly any daylight.”
 of 5 bubbles amsterdam05, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you can climb 3 floors then go for the top room amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles dianec570, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if possible take the luxury suite on the top; it's really worth it!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Tanja_and_Chris, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you would like a view ask for a room with one”
 of 5 bubbles WeloveAsia, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5