We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Arcadia Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Arcadia Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 40: English reviews
Start your review of Arcadia Cottages
 Click to rate
Khorfakkan, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly and helpful staff. But what truly makes this place unique is the view of Lake Bunyonyi - wow, wow, wow. The position on a hill overlooking this picturesque lake and tranquil surroundings nurtures the soul. The rooms are beautiful and you wake to the sounds of singing from the villages below.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clearkin66
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Sitting outside for lunch or dinner is a highly recommended experience. THe view is just out of this world. Food above average, but you do not go there for the food. Service to African standards, but beverage can quickly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
ma3mb, Public Relations Manager at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you for your feedback. we shall be looking into our service time and food.

London, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The view from this place is absolutely incredible. Our room was large and spacious, very comfortable and a bit too modern for the setting (we felt). The only downside was that the food was not as good as many of the other places we ate it, but this is a minor complaint considering the beauty of this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theexcalibre
ma3mb, Public Relations Manager at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are working on our menu ad hopefully it will be better on your next visit. We shall shall be adding an african touch to the rooms.

Turin, Italy
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The view over Lake Bunyonyi is stunning, really incredible. The lake is just lying in front of the hotel, and this is the reason why you climb up here. Our room was in the new section, a wonderful, very spacious cottage that was clearly just furbished. It's the only place in Uganda where we had a nice, very large bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeoTravels
ma3mb, Public Relations Manager at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review

Hello Teo travel, Thank you for your review and feedback. The restaurant is also going to ber upgraded to match the rooms and we shall be speaking with the chefs in order to work on the menu plus the food. Apologies for the disappointment.

Gulu, Uganda
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This is one of Lake Bunyonyi's secrets. Overland camp and other places are far better known, but this is going to be THE best spot on the lake. The views are second to none--and with Lake Bunyonyi's fascinating history--with Punishment Island, the Leper Island and other intriguing elements all clearly visible from this spot, it's a good one not to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin Y
ma3mb, Public Relations Manager at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Robin for your review and feedback. we are glad that you loved your stay with us. hope to see you again

Mannheim, Germany
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Arcadia cottages offer an amazing view directly in front of the cottages. You see the lake with its beautiful islands. The cottages were modern equipped, the service was also good. We highly recommend that lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benji1985m
ma3mb, Public Relations Manager at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you Benji for your review. Good to know you loved stay with us.

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

This is a great family holiday location. It's quiet and fun all at the same time. The manager met us at the door and knew all about our booking. It made us feel right at home. Moses, the head waiter , was really helpful with tips of what we could do while here. He runs a lake bunyonyi tour guide....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
ma3mb, Public Relations Manager at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review

we are glad you had a great time with us and are looking forward to seeing you again.. The pool and health center are already in plan and construction will begin as soon as all the cottages are done.

Dallas
Reviewed 27 November 2016

If nothing else, when you get to the top of the crater rim if it's still daylight, have your driver turn left to have drinks and take in the view of the islands with Mount Muhabura in the background. The lodge itself is currently midrange, but that is due to go up (according to the manager) once the remodeling is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
ma3mb, Public Relations Manager at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Paul apologies for the delay in response. we greatly appreciate your feedback. We will be looking into all the things you outlined that need improvement. All the remodelling and construction will be done before the end of 2017 as we have focused all our attention and resources to it.

Reviewed 11 November 2016

We stayed here about a year ago and since then the owners have been making renovations. I was amazed when they showed us our cottage - a new one - with wrap around deck, huge bathroom with both a bathtub and a shower, queen-sized bed and sitting area. The over view of the lake and islands is beautiful. Food served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
ma3mb, Public Relations Manager at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. we looking into making the beds more comfortable for your next stay with us.

Sarasota, Florida, United States
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Just like the title of my review, Arcadia Cottages has a stunning view of the deepest lake in Uganda, Lake Bunyonyi with the small islands dispersed along. I must say that as a safari operator, there was a time when I thought I was paying only for the view and nothing else...But I passed on my suggestions to the management...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
ma3mb, Public Relations Manager at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review

Apologies for the delay in response. we greatly appreciate your feedback. our customers are key and we are always looking to make your stay with us better. we are currently retraining our staff for a better service for our guests

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kabale
1.0 km away
Bunyonyi Overland Resort
31.0 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
81 reviews
1.7 km away
Lake Bunyonyi Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
Bunyonyi Safaris Resort
#11 of 29 in Kabale
33 reviews
2.9 km away
Bushara Island Camp
Bushara Island Camp
#6 of 29 in Kabale
66 reviews
32.5 km away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 29 in Kabale
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
High up on a ridge overlooking Lake Bunyonyi, our eleven self-contained cottages are arranged around a central lodge building, where guests can enjoy the tasty dishes in our restaurant or relax and take in the truly breathtaking view. We have a 25-seater motor launch, ideal for taking in the lake and its islands on one of our daytime tours or watching the stars on our nightime Stargazing tour. For the more adventurous, Arcadia Lodge Lake Bunyonyi has two high-end Bombardier JetSkis available for hire, as well as four Honda quadbikes that guests can hire to explore the muddy tracks along the lakeshore or the the ridges overlooking the lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arcadia Cottages

Address: Bunyounyi Rd, Kabale, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Kabale
Price Range: ₹ 11,863 - ₹ 12,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arcadia Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Arcadia Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Arcadia Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one of the new cottages”
TeoTravels, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bandas on the left of the main building get an absolutely magnificent view of the islands in the lake.”
robiny222, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closer to the end with a more open view are the best for the Lake Bunyonyi view though almost all are good and unique in their own way”
233matthews, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have a great view”
bhavinraval, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Try the new cottages which should be ready by Christmas 2015”
105nitins, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5