We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Brentwood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Brentwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
South Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very basic ,but clean and warm,breakfast freshly made ,bit noisey in morning like a generator going on and off ,bit annoying,,near town and all pubs and bars,parking was a nightmare ,no room on main road,Parked in street behind

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanno P
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I haven't used the Brentwood Hotel in a long time due to moving to the Midlands. Whilst visiting my Dad yesterday there was just no question where to have our Sunday lunch, (he's a regular visitor) and as normal it was amazing, lots of FRESH veg, they didn't mind at all that we asked for more veg even though they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tubbs120516
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Damp room, mould spots, smoked in regularly, windows advertised as double glazing yet I could feel the wind.. lower water pressure than Africa.. bathroom straight out of the 70s, breakfast was actually a plate of turd

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes P
Robina I, General Manager at The Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

This is completely a false review! As we had three contractors staying in the hotel on this particular date, no couples. If you are going to go out of your way to make false reviews, please make sure you get your facts right! I would suggest that the person who wrote this false review is a 'turd'.

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Stayed for the weekend. Staff was friendly and helpful, the food was good,entertainment was lively, but the hotel needed freshening up especially the bedrooms but they were comfortable and warm and plenty of hot water.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed here in aug was going to see a show, when we arrived there was no one on reception, we had to wait for someone for 5 min after ringing bell, then she just gave us the key for the room and that was that. We had to ask someone else what time breakfast was, in the morning the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caroline W
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The hotel was a warm pleasant stay with all entertainment in its got a well set out back Beer garden the hotel room was big with a big bathroom but unfortunately the shower I'd give a down marking as I could not get it off burning hot so no shower facility which really ruined the hotel room but overall it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
ebbw vale
Reviewed 14 August 2016

called in here on saturday they had live band on wasnt impessed with choice drinks no real ale but band were quite good so enjoyed the night would return more often if had a real ale on did not try food so cant coment on that or rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EbbwValeTessie
Robina I, Manager at The Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the band, we had real ale before but it did not sell well. Sorry, we can only have products that we can sell.

swansea
Reviewed 3 August 2016

A bit tired but situated in a great position straight down to the sea round the corner from the Grand Pavilion. A very lively hotel with entertainment . Very good breakfast will return because of position so convenient.Staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoy Porthcawl a nice place. It was Carnival weekend and the whole town joined in. Art...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swanlakeswansea
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I know it's fairly cheap so only expected so much but we were disappointed. Check-in was awful and just handed a key with no explanation of facilities, breakfast etc The room was small, very dated but can't fault the cleanliness. Bed wasn't a double and cheap fittings. Couldn't get shower warm Breakfast service was poor and food was dire. Wouldn't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Robina I, Manager at The Brentwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, We are concerned at your experience with us, especially as the date you quoted for your stay was full of contractors. We had no customers booked with us from FTB or Tripadvisor on the date you stated. I think you may have confused us with another hotel!

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016

the rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable.we found the staff very friendly and polite.the breakfast was good served very nicely in a friendly atmosphere .the hotel is situated in a good spot very close to sea front.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 84edwinac

20 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.2 km away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
215 reviews
9.3 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
335 reviews
0.4 km away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
9.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
6.5 km away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Bridgend
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Brentwood Hotel

Address: 37-41 Mary Street, Porthcawl CF36 3YN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Porthcawl
Price Range: ₹ 3,070 - ₹ 4,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Brentwood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brentwood Hotel Porthcawl, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Brentwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
wales
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Brentwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles X9245AGpeterr, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would say all the rooms will be nice but check the shower works”
 of 5 bubbles rogerdO9028MV, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor as we were up 2 floors OK if you are good on your feet. No lift.”
 of 5 bubbles swanlakeswansea, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles lew130, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Haven't stayed here as we live only 40miles away”
 of 5 bubbles T41468, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay