We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torres del Paine National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

This was the worst campsite of the three I visited. VERY crowded, so the line for cooking and showering is huge. Also the bathrooms are messy. It's very windy, so make sure your tent is at the foot of a hill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teun P
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thanks for your comments. Sorry we couldn't meet your expectations regarding our service. Unfortunately, on high season, there are always too many people using our instalations at the same time, but still we would like to make our visitors feel as confortable as we can. We hope you enjoyed the beautiful view and have had an amazing trip....

Washington D.C.
Reviewed 11 January 2016

This refugio is big and crowded but also importantly the most impersonal of all the refugios we stayed at. The dining arrangement is like a dorm dining hall (you pick up food from a central location rather than being served at the table like in the other refugios). The dorms and bathrooms are nothing to write home about. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fruitflyboy
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thanks for your comments. We hope you enjoyed the beautiful view and that you have had an amazing trip. In our mountain shelters, we are constantly concerned to provide the best service to our visitors so they can feel as comfortable as possible, despite its a very remote place with difficult access. Kind regards

Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 11 January 2016

This shelter needs rehab. The front desk staff is nice but the facility has seen its prime. Its big, dirty and loud but will give you shelter if you need it. Basics only. Doors slam all night. It is windy in the area but a few felt bumpers would help trekkers get some sleep. Co-ed arrangements. Bunk beds, dirty old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thanks for your comments. We will take note on these in order to improve our service. Kind regards

Oakland, California
Reviewed 8 January 2016

We did not like our stay at Refugio Paine Grande. The facilities are run down, dirty, and poorly laid out. We shivered the whole time we were there because there was only one inefficient wood burning stove being monopolized by other hikers. Too many people in the refugio and not enough facilities (only one working toilet in the bathroom) for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RounderPea
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, we are very sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations. Even if in high season sometimes is difficult to control all the people that arrives to our mountain shelter, we are always trying to make our guests feel as confortable as they could be back home. Sorry again for all the inconvenients. Kind regards!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

The location is great. But this place needs a lot of improvement. Compared to the other lodges the meals are chaotic with long lines and not so good food. And the showers are in sad shape - 1 out of 3 was working, and it shouldn't be too difficult to fix that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juan D
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, we are sorry you didn't enjoyed your staying at our shelter as much as we would expect you did, thanks for your comment, this will help us a lot to improve our service. Kind regards!

Ontario
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Spent one night indoors in November. This was a large refugio with lots of rooms, less intimate than some of the other refugios and felt a bit zoo-like at times. That said, my bedroom slept four (compared to 6 or more at other refugios) and had a good amount of space. It was clean and warm with comfortable bedding. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaykay99
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your comment! It makes us very happy to know you've enjoyed your staying at our shelter. Please tell your friends about your experience in Torres del Paine, so more people would like to come and visit our park. Kind regards

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Beautiful setting for this shelter.Very clean--rooms are good with very comfortable beds. Drawbacks---staff not friendly or very interested---food is awful especially the breakfast with powered scramble eggs................................................................

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noel H
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thanks for you comment. This will help us on improving our service. Kind regards!

Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

The setting is incredible, but the service is so incredibly poor that it taints the entire experience. Two people that worked at reception were very nice and helpful, but it was clear that they have to put up with a lot of abuse from tourists because the product their company provides is horrible. Most employees were lack luster, burned out,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zeb B
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thanks for your comment. We are very sorry that you had a bad experience in our shelter, this will help us a lot to improve our service for the future and to train better our employees. Thanks again!

Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

Read through many of the reviews from last season and here is the take away...set your expectations accordingly. This Refugio is located in a perfect spot within the NP. It has access to the French Valley hike as well as a nice hike over to Glacier Grey, both part of the W circuit. I was there as part of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CO_bound_13
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your staying at our shelter and that we meet your expectations. As we are always trying to make all our visitors feel as comfortable as we can, we are also trying to improve the breakfast line, as we realized that almost everyone wants to have it at the same...

Kansas
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

The setting for the campsite was absolutely stunning at the foot of Mount Paine Grande and just off the shore of Lago Pehoe. Plenty of space but it is very exposed and wide open (WINDY!). We were lucky to have a sunny morning when we awoke to take some fantastic pictures. The cook shelter is large and has plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bguth11
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your comment! It makes us very happy to know you enjoyed your staying at our shelter. We hope you can tell your friends about your experience in Torres del Paine, so they would like to visit us too. Bye and thanks again!

160 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.9 km away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,045 reviews
19.6 km away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
708 reviews
5.9 km away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
202 reviews
35.9 km away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#3 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
398 reviews
7.3 km away
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del...
#5 of 17 in Torres del Paine National Park
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shelter is located on the shore of Pehoe Lake, facing the southern face of Paine Grande hill, crowned by Punta Bariloche in the plain that terminates Quebrada de los Vientos. It locates in the area of the old Refugio Pehoe, and sited in a strategic position of the primitive zone of the park for excellence, it is only accessible through lacustrine way or walking through the trekking paths of the park. It forms part of the circuit and the W-shape road, being a base camp for excellence. It is strategically located in the old area of Pehoe Shelter and is only accessible via Pehoe Lake or by walking the trekking routes of the park. It forms part of the W Circuit and is considered as the base camp. The Shelter can hold 100 people in 22 bedrooms with 3 and 2 bunks each. These rooms have a lovely view to Pehoe Lake, the heights of Paine Grande, Valle del Frances and the east face of Cuernos del Paine. Each one of them has comfortable bunks and drawers to put away gear. However, we have a custody service and a safety box to keep valuable belongings. The toilets are on the first and second floor and have wash basins, toilets and hot water showers, separated for men and women. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter

Address: Sector Paine Grande | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: ₹ 5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter Torres Del Paine National Park, Aisen Region, Chile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If I was forced to go back I'd camp”
 of 5 bubbles Colleen587, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't pick a room near the toliets. Some people are not polite late at night and slam the doors going in and out of the facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles goldswimmom7, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“corners bunkers facing the lake and the mountains is very refreshing!”
  • waking up to the sunrise
 of 5 bubbles 980cristyl, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“make your plans and book at least one year in advance to be able to stay IN the refuge...but the camping was not bad.”
  • Refugio Paine Grande
  • Refugio Paine Grande
 of 5 bubbles salty_dog_68, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“everything is bad…just best to avoid if possible!”
 of 5 bubbles Desh1936, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5