We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Shelter Paine Grande was a simple shelter on the shore of Pahoe Lake.The catamaran to Pudeto was leaving just a hundred meter from the shelter. Our single bunk bed room was clean. The shared restrooms and bathrooms were ok considering the number of people staying there. The food in the canteen of the shelter was decent. Breakfast was simple. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ISMETCENGIC
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions! We try very hard to improve the standards of our service, so we really appreciate when we receive this kind of feedback. Hope you have had an excellent trip! Best regards, PR Vertice Patagonia

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 28 December 2016

This was probably the best Refugio on the W trek. The dining area is spacious and the food was actually pretty decent. There is a bar upstairs where you can get your free welcome drink and enjoy the beautiful view of the Torres. Rooms were quite small and cold but pretty clean. Bathroom/showers were clean and big. There are few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucyan
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions! We try very hard to improve the standards of our service, so we really appreciate when we receive this kind of feedback. Hope you have had an excellent trip! Best regards, PR Vertice Patagonia

Switzerland
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Well, if you want to go hiking in Torres del Paine you don't have a lot of accomodations to choose from. This means they can any price they want. This was by far the most expensive "hotel" we booked in Patagonia. For that price I would expect a working heating in the rooms. For some reason, the heating was out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abcsim
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions. Your review will be shared with the management department. We tried very hard to do our best to improve the standards of the service, so we really appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. We hope you have had an excellent trip. Kind...

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

It was the worst place we stayed in our W circuit trekking in the park, by far. The staff were so unfriendly and not nice, they definitely try to worsen your trip. Please avoid to stay in this place if you can. Kitchen was closed at 10 pm, nobody tell you this before you go there and you are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans S
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience you have had experienced. Your review will be shared with management. Best regards

San Diego, California
Reviewed 13 December 2016

I understand that the refugio is in the middle of wilderness area. We stayed a private room that had one two bunk beds. The room was clean and it was bad weather day, and heaters worked fine. However the bathrooms were not well maintained, and really dirty.The Boat tip to refugio is pricey too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelophile_Banjara
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience you have had experienced. Your review will be shared with management so we can make sure we will improve bathroom cleaning. Thanks again, Kind regards!

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We set up our tent here on our W-trek trip, the area is very windy but it was ok. This refugio had the best bathrooms off all the four we stayed in during our stay. It also have a nice cooking area. What is more important is that unlike Fantastico Sur this company do not rip you off, price was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kasperfrank
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your feedback! It makes us very happy to know you have enjoyed your staying at our shelter. We hope you can tell your friends about your experience in Torres del Paine, so they would like to visit us too. Bye and thanks again!

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I am lucky to live on the edge of one of the biggest wilderness areas in the world - which I enter and explore often - and I was very disappointed in my experience in Torres Del Paine and very underwhelmed by Vertice Paine Lodge - and Vertice Patagonia. I would suggest that Vertice Patagonia and the other vendors in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen587
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience you have had experienced. Your review will be shared with management so we can improve the communications in the future. Best regards

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 December 2016

WARNING: NO HEAT. Had read this in other reviews and was disappointed it is still true. With good weather the first day we didn't need it but the second day was freezing and pouring rain. Everyone was asking for heat and everyone got a different story for why there was none, "It has been broken for awhile," "We couldn't bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJO812
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your observations and suggestions! We try very hard to improve the standards of our service, so we really appreciate when we receive this kind of feedback. Hope you have had an excellent trip! Best regards, PR Vertice Patagonia

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived to Paine Grande refugio on a day where the heavens had opened and the wind speeds were enough to break tents. We were wet through and sodden but as we had booked to stay in the refugio, we didn't mind as we would dry off and warm up on arrival. This unfortunately, would not be the case as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize if we did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience you have had experienced. Your review will be shared with management so we can make sure these won't happen again. Best regards

Orlando
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Like Central, more like a hostel/hotel than a refugio. With the boat dock right there, it generates a lot of day trippers and day hikers. We scored a private room that had one two bunk bed. Still a bunk bed, but it was really nice to have a room to ourselves, after three nights of dorm life. The bathrooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CharlieOrlando
Catalina B, RRPP at Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter, responded to this review

Dear traveler, Thanks for your valauble review. We try very hard to improve the standards of our service, so we really appreciate when we receive this kind of feedback. Hope you have had an excellent trip! Best regards, PR Vertice Patagonia

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.9 km away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,092 reviews
5.9 km away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
429 reviews
19.6 km away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
213 reviews
35.9 km away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#3 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
420 reviews
7.3 km away
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del Paine
Refugio Torre Central-Torres del...
#5 of 16 in Torres del Paine National Park
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the shores of Lake Pehoe, Shelter Paine Grande features an amazing view over the mountains. It is the starting point for the hiking trail towards Glacier Grey, French Valley and it is part of the W Trail. The only way to get to Paine Grande is navigating accross the lake or hiking the trails. It features shared bedrooms (only bunk beds) uo to 100 guests. Restrooms features hot water showers with a push-button system to save water. Paine Grande features a cafeteria (daily fixed menus), a minimarket (groceries and souvenirs) and a bar overlooking the lake and mountains. Important: The shelter does not feature a central heating system. Only 2 resting areas feature wooden stoves (only for guests). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter

Address: Sector Paine Grande | Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: ₹ 9,921 - ₹ 17,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter Torres Del Paine National Park, Aisen Region, Chile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It really depends on who your roommates are more than the room location.”
 of 5 bubbles Wanderdogs, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick a room near the toliets. Some people are not polite late at night and slam the doors going in and out of the facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles goldswimmom7, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“corners bunkers facing the lake and the mountains is very refreshing!”
  • waking up to the sunrise
 of 5 bubbles 980cristyl, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“make your plans and book at least one year in advance to be able to stay IN the refuge...but the camping was not bad.”
  • Refugio Paine Grande
  • Refugio Paine Grande
 of 5 bubbles salty_dog_68, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“everything is bad…just best to avoid if possible!”
 of 5 bubbles Desh1936, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5