We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Las Dunas

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Las Dunas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

7,880 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,316: English reviews
Start your review of Melia Las Dunas
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I read all of the reviews and was recommended this resort by my travel agent. I arrived with my two children around 9pm. Check in was quite quick and we were given the building we requested (Building 1) on the second floor. A buggy drove us to the room. So the first night was fine. The room was a good...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Krystal R
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Very disappointed from this resort. Very poor customer service. Everything get so slow, you have to spend all of your vacation waiting in line for food or drink. If you ask some of the stuff for assistance or help they don't pay attention and play that you don't exist. Everything is very dirty: rooms, plates, cups. And food is awful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maya N
Burlington, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Not the 4.5 stars it is rated, The towels in our room were never changed as they did not have any??? Food in the buffet was barely edible. I have been to other resorts in Cuba and always have been able to find something in the buffet to eat but not here other then one day the had Turkey and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carribeanrules
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed Mar.15 to Mar.22 Food: The first few days the food was pretty average until we ate at 3 amazing la à carte restaurants (pizzeria,oriental and romantico) My favorite one was romantico, I ordered the beef tenderloin with shrimp and mashed potatoes and the buffet was good too. 4.5/5* Beach: The beach was not the best as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lucas G
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lucas: I’m sincerely thankful to read your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is good to know you enjoyed of a pleasant stay with us and took a positive view of our services. For us, it will be an honor to receive you again at Melia Las Dunas, so please let us know about your next...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hello fellow readers and travellers, Let me begin by saying that we booked this hotel for 2 weeks thru CARIBE SOL TOURS from March1 to 14th 2017 and with Cubana Airlines. Santa Maria is located approximately 1h40 mins by bus from the airport of Santa Clara. We arrived at Las Dunas and were pleasantly greeted. The check-in went smoothly and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ronald B
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ronald: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holiday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We sincerely thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was a repeat guest at this location. Last year in 2016 I could not have asked for a better vacation. The service was great, very attentive and friendly, the accommodations were also great, house keeping great, front desk great, swimming, guest services all great. This is why we booked again for 2017. Upon arrival and check in, we had...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sdelorme5150
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holiday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We sincerely thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we will...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I recently stayed at the Melia and it was ok. The staff in the restaurants were great. The food was good in the buffet restaurants, not as good in the a la carte restaurants. The Activity staff were fun and there were tons of activities. The hotel rooms were clean, but nothing special. Bring your own towels because you are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matty K
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our resort as the destination for your vacation and for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. You can be sure that we are taking note of your comments in order to improve our service. It will be a pleasure to...

Ottawa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful resort, friendly staff, clean, great food and drinks. We arrived early afternoon, had to wait for our room, no big deal,so we went around exploring. Most staff members greet you with a smile. We heard people criticizing the food, but we were really happy with the choices. Never ate the same thing twice, unless we really liked it,which we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank maguida
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all many thanks for take your time writing on trip advisor. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! It will be a pleasure to receive you again. Best regards, Laurent Labal General Manager

Ancaster, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Traveling with 8 family members and the 5th time to cuba this was by far the worst experience we have had. The pillows were stained yellow and when my husband turned his over there was blood stains on the underside. No facecloths provided, towels not changed and the worst mattress ( the springs could be felt ) ever. As for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gwhitelhs
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holiday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We sincerely thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we will...

Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would give this place a 3.5 stars out of 5 .. I thought this was supposed to be a 5 star Hotel so I was a little dissapointed in some things. It was definitely not Terrible but definitely not 5 star. It was average for Cuba.Ill Start of with the one thing that I LOVED which is always the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephFresh
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Many thanks for give us the possibility to know about your experience. We understand you have had a good time, even when your experience has not been exactly as expected. We are happy to know you have enjoyed our amazing beach, although it is really a surprise to us read your comments about our staff, because it is...

10,734 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10690)
Viewed
Room/Suite (826)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1978)
Viewed
Dining (718)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2923)
Viewed
Bathroom (149)
Viewed
View from Room (175)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (129)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (77)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (25)
Viewed
Other (3690)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
173 reviews
1751.2 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
176 reviews
1777.7 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
30 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
60 reviews
230.6 km away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magic and Legend unveils an ancient story that goes back in time to 1492, with the discovery of America. Melia Las Dunas, a 5 star resort, All Inclusive, ideal for your vacation with your Family, Reunion & Incentives, Weddings, Honeymoon Distinguished by the variety of services, the inviting atmosphere and the confort of its facilities, Melia Las Dunas offers the vacations of your dreams. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Las Dunas

Address: Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara | Jardines del Rey, Villa Clara, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: ₹ 7,926 - ₹ 26,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Las Dunas 5*
Number of rooms: 925
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Melia Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Dunas Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Hotel Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas Cuba
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and other travellers.
754 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (754)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sorry no tips”
 of 5 bubbles carribeanrules, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have very low expectations and you won't be disappointed. Always get 2nd floor. First floor smells.”
 of 5 bubbles sdelorme5150, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring some warm clothes, the wind comes in from the north sometimes. Don't worry if you are a fussy eater, you will find good food.”
 of 5 bubbles maguida, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second Floor Adult side if your adult Kids side if you have kids and want to be close to kids pool”
 of 5 bubbles StephFresh, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“upgrade to VIP for nominal fee for a centrally located room (34-36 on family side).”
 of 5 bubbles carminav2014, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5