We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Las Dunas

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Las Dunas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,005 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,374: English reviews
Start your review of Melia Las Dunas
 Click to rate
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I visited Cuba for the second time from May 3 to May 10; I stayed at Melia Las Dunas again, and I was not disappointed. I was there before in September and noticed some differences: this time of the year the resort was busier and there were more families (so if you have kids you'll enjoy the activities pool, on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alessandravioli9
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Alessandra, Thanks a lot for taking your time sharing your experience on Trip Advisor web site and showing to all the travelers how good is our hotel. It will be a pleasure to receive you here again, thanks again for trust in Cuba, Melia Hotels International company and our Melia Las Dunas hotel. Thanks also for mentioning so...

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from a very disappointing vacation. The resort was booked beyond capacity... the hotel ran a promotion the week we visited that offered local Cubans a huge discount with an unlimited kids stay free offer (one week only promo). The result.... a hotel in complete and utter chaos! How we were affected? -only had the opportunity to change our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mgvg2000
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holiday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. As you mentioned, we recently had during three days a high occupancy, which...

Bridgewater
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the second time to Cayo Santa Maria area. First time was two years ago and we stayed at the Valentin Perla Blanca. Melia Las Dunas resort although older was by far a better spot to go. Our flight on Air Transat out of Halifax was not good. The plane broke down before we left and delayed us for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NSSBridgewater
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Many thanks for give us the possibility to know about your experience and for take your time writing on TripAdvisor. It has felt very good to read your review. We understand you have had a good time. We will take into account every detail you are referring us and work very hard in the improvement of all our...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and two kids both age 10 enjoyed our vacation here during the week of April 17-22 2017. I have to say I am not one to post reviews but I am tired of the negative reviews this hotel seems to get. We enjoyed the 1 1/2 hour bus ride (and we DID expect it as we did our...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sharlyn F
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: It has been a real pleasure to read your comments about your stay at Meliá Las Dunas Hotel. It satisfies us to know you took a good impression of the hotel and its facilities in general and I want to thank you for all details you offered to TripAdvisor readers. Thank you for consider our hotel a lovely...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Pros: beach, pool, ground. Friendly staff, baby club Cons: food is not so great, it was expected but there isn't much of vegetarian dishes. Most of dishes were fried and oily. Long lineup for the omelette station, pasta station, fish and grilled meat station and ice cream station. Dining tables were not always cleaned after each use( only removed plates...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fifi663
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thanks a lot for your comments. Concerning the food, our Executive Chef works hard to offer different types of dishes for our guests coming from all over the world, we are sorry if our food offerings did not fulfill your expectations. We sincerely thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we will take them all into...

Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Everything runs on cuba time however on vacation so no hurry. Check in was slow but front staff very friendly. Shuttle to room again service excellant. Our room was building 24 which was quite far from the main lobby. The room seemed ok until our 3rd night we saw a bug above the tv. I went to kill it and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jcumming1975
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our resort as the destination for your vacation and for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. Thank you very much for emphasizing the good quality of the food. We are sorry for the issues you encountered with your room but...

vancouver
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my 3rd visit to Santa Maria and first to this hotel. I won't return. The property is run down and crowded with people who smoke - literally everywhere other than the indoor restaurant - which apparently was acceptable, and made sitting by the pool and eating in the open-air facilities difficult for me. The room walls are wafer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank canadagal09
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you for your comment, but we are very surprised about your mention about smokers in restaurants. At Meliá las Dunas, all the restaurants (indoor and also outdoor), rooms, are non smokers areas, and all the outdoors bars have half smokers and half non. Maybe did you make a mistake and are talking about an other hotel?...

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

-This is my 9th all inclusive Carribean vacation and unfortunately it ranks the worst. -The weather was sunny and hot everyday. We did manage to have a good time and make it the best we could, but I am stuck on the fact that it was not true 4/5 star quality. -The water was beautiful. The beach was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank prettylady2015
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holiday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We sincerely thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we will...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a week in April 2017 (Couple 33 & 27) and while we managed to have a good time the resort wasn't up to our expectations and I feel like we wouldn't have gotten worse treatment if my girlfriend wasn't a native Spanish speaker. When we checked in they said the room wasn't available so we went...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrew D
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Melia Las Dunas for your holiday. We apologize for all of the inconveniences you mentioned and we are very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved. We sincerely thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we will...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second time to MLD , while my travel companions have been there multiple times. Last year I rated this resort a 4 star but this year I have to move it up in spite of some minor construction outside the buffet. MLD is very clean, the lobby and grounds are beautiful, the beach and the ocean are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James H
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mr, James H: Thank you very much for considering Melia as your vacation company, that make me real proud of the service ant most specially of the staff that provide it here in Las Dunas!! Thank you very much for your great review and comments!!! Kind Regards, Laurent Labal General Manager

10,884 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10840)
Viewed
Room/Suite (851)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2973)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1993)
Viewed
Dining (729)
Viewed
Bathroom (153)
Viewed
View from Room (180)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (129)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (77)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (25)
Viewed
Other (3730)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
6.9 km away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,056 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,241 reviews
0.3 km away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,924 reviews
1.9 km away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,007 reviews
3.0 km away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magic and Legend unveils an ancient story that goes back in time to 1492, with the discovery of America. Melia Las Dunas, a 5 star resort, All Inclusive, ideal for your vacation with your Family, Reunion & Incentives, Weddings, Honeymoon Distinguished by the variety of services, the inviting atmosphere and the confort of its facilities, Melia Las Dunas offers the vacations of your dreams. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Las Dunas

Address: Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara | Jardines del Rey, Villa Clara, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: ₹ 7,324 - ₹ 17,796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Las Dunas 5*
Number of rooms: 925
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Dunas Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Hotel Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas Cuba
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and other travellers.
783 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (783)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick the second floor; the area by the relax pool is quieter.”
alessandravioli9, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“48 or 49 area. Close to beach, adult pool and main entrance.”
NSSBridgewater, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suggest premium room for small amount extra”
jcumming1975, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get close to the lobby so as to walk less”
prettylady2015, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floor of any building and if you are a single or couple, ask for the adult side.”
882JamesH882, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Elvoline
HotelsClick
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates