We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mbale Resort Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 4 Hotels in Mbale
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Mbale Resort Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
Start your review of Mbale Resort Hotel
 Click to rate
Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel and restaurant is as good as any I have stayed in outside of the United States. The room rates are very reasonable and the food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was also very good. I would not want to stay in any other hotel if I was in that area again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StanD72727
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StanD72727, Oh wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thank you so much , we love what we do and hold our guests in high regard, i am pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for taking time to share with us your feedback.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is clean and set in beautiful grounds. The staff are helpful. Watch what room you book Deluxe actually represented Standard and Superior was the next one up. We were placed in the old hotel on the top floor, Deluxe Twin, overlooking the gardens, pool and beyond which was lovely. All rooms gave a balcony with seating. To begin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woodview2
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Woodview2, Thank you for the wonderful feedback and i agree with you those rooms have serene views. I am glad to inform you that the renovations are done and the pool is more attractive. i have shared with the Management your suggestions on decor too but overall i am grateful you chose us and please come back anytime.

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were placed in the original hotel as we required a twin room. This was sold as a deluxe room, but although comfortable, certainly wasn't deluxe. You are able to get through to the new hotel by walking through part of the garden. (There is a bridge but this is under construction). I was very disappointed that the pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenny591
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny591, Thank you for your feedback, after this review i can assure you we have edited the room names online especially on booking.com but according to the hotel these are the room names but we do specify the amenities you will be getting in the room. Indeed the hotel pool and surrounding were being renovated but i am glad...

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is an OK hotel, with modern and clean rooms, but while we were staying swimming pool was under construction and there is no real outdoor sitting area. Food it OK, but service is very very slow. The place has no soul, it is a modern, soulless place. It clean, so that is good, but there are better options in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizade
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lizade, Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience, indeed the swimming pool is being upgraded to meet your demands as our clients and hopefully a new feel, the sitting area in fact is plenty as most of the rooms have balconies and we have very big grounds. Please allow my deepest apologies for the slow...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017

All comfortable with friendly and welcoming staff. Keep it up!! I will definitely return. We quarterly visit Mbale and this hotel has always been a home away from home. You feel recognized with personalized service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pwoniala
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pwoniala, Thank you for dropping us a review and being part of this journey, you are family come back anytime.

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

I had a wedding within the hotel gardens and we loved the whole beauty Mbale Resort exhibited both during the set up of everything till when we checked out. In particular, the service guys were so warm to us and so friendly as meal we ordered for reached on time. The gardens are good for photo moments. Visit them as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mujuni G
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mujuni G, Thank you for the wonderful feedback but above all for sharing with us one of the most important days in your life. We were glad to serve you and you made our work easy too. Congratulations and our regards to Mrs.

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We visit Mbale Resort Hotel usually several times a year on trips thru the area. It has always been in of our favorites, due to it's ambience, the staff and amenities given it is in Africa. This time however it stepped up to a more Western caliper of service. The WIFI worked in our room, the water ran hot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid L
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ingrid L, Please allow my sincere gratitude for being loyal to the brand and choosing us to serve you. We have upgraded in most areas to meet standards of all guests especially international travelers. Jimmy receives your gratitude with warmth, again thank you for taking time to share your experience.

OTTAWA
Reviewed 5 January 2017

My partner and I stayed in the new section of the hotel and very much enjoyed it. The room was comfortable, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the hotel's amenities were great (room service, pool, sauna, steam bath). The breakfast buffet was also excellent, with a mix of vegetarian options (good for me) and non-vegetarian (good for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RIANA T
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Riana T, Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with everyone it is very kind of you. We are pleased to have met your expectations and i hope you visit again.

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with 2 friends while on an adventure trip around Uganda. The staff is courteous and rooms comfortable especially the beds. I liked their breakfast most. So sumptuous with lots of variety. The prices are generally affordable. You will also love their health club especially the steam bath

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kyamutetera
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kyamutetera, Wonderful feedback, we are grateful you took a minute of time to give us your reactions and thoughts. I agree with you and i hope you check us out again.

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 24 December 2016

This one of the best hotels in Uganda. Nice and friendly staff, the meals were on point. the hotel has tour guides to waniele and sipi who are dedicated and very helpful. The rooms are big and clean but could do better with the finishing touches on the door frames

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmwanja
Josephine N, Front Office Manager at Mbale Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jmwanja, O my God "best in Uganda" thank you so so much. we are extremely humbled. Please allow my sincere gratitude for sharing your feedback with us and we shall do better with the doors.

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mbale
0.0 km away
Kabalega Resort - Murchison Enrout
0.0 km away
Crown Suites Mbale
Crown Suites Mbale
#8 of 16 in Mbale
6 reviews
0.7 km away
Mount Elgon Hotel
Mount Elgon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mbale
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Dream Palace Hotel
Dream Palace Hotel
#11 of 16 in Mbale
6 reviews
2.0 km away
Mbale Travellers Inn
Mbale Travellers Inn
#4 of 16 in Mbale
6 reviews
0.0 km away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#8 of 28 in Mbale
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mbale Resort Hotel is a four star hotel located in the heart of Mbale. All of Mbale's famous landmarks are within walking distance of the hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mbale Resort Hotel

Address: Bungokho Road, Mbale, Uganda (Formerly Protea Hotel Mbale )
Region: Uganda > Eastern Region > Mbale
Price Range: ₹ 1,898 - ₹ 3,927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Mbale Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mbale Resort Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mbale Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Reserve it early as you do not want to arrive and not be able to stay at this hotel when in the area”
 of 5 bubbles StanD72727, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you stay in the new part of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jenny591, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room in main building & ask for corporate rates, as they may be better than those online”
 of 5 bubbles lizade, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles pwoniala, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the new section of the hotel, if possible”
 of 5 bubbles Rianatop, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5