We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort

Save
Share
Village Laitkynsew, Sohra 793108 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (371)
Room & Suite (90)
Dining (23)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 20 hotels in Sohra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is a family run 'Nature Resort', promoted as a Family Holiday Destination. Located atop a hill in Laitkynsew village, with scenic views, we have 12 well appointed & well maintained rooms. We offer a family ambience and help create memorable holidays at affordable rates. * Mountain & Bangladesh plains views * Delicious & homely food * Separate kitchens for Veg & Non-veg food * Intercom facility * Power backup * Children's play area * Board games & Library * Evening Campfires * Musical Evenings * Transport assistance * Guided treks of varying difficulty levels * Sightseeing tours & outdoor picnics * Baths in waterfalls & cool mountain streams * Natural Swimming Pools, Adventure Caving, River Canyoning, Bird watching * 11 Living Root Bridges in the vicinity. * Courteous, sincere & helpful staff from surrounding villages.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Badminton
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Car hire
Public wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
399Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 172
  • 166
  • 31
  • 10
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gopalkhetan wrote a review Nov 2021
Mumbai, India166 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights, and were delighted by the resort. The location and the service was excellent. The breakfast /dinner service was bit slow and I hope they add some whole/cut local fruits to the spread to make it more wholesome .The hotel gave us packed breakfast the previous night for next day early departure to the double decker root and rainbow falls. They also offer good stay and food to the drivers.The evening live music adds to the charm ,there is a bonfire in the night - and overall a very good experience. Lily and Riya at the reception deserves special mention for their good service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
iexplorer wrote a review Oct 2021
Chennai (Madras), India129 contributions30 helpful votes
Located in a top of a hill with an excellent view. The service is good. Owners are polite and believe in hospitality . Just relax and enjoy your stay. The rooms are clean. Ample space for parking. Food is good. Overall good experience
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kalasubramanyam wrote a review Oct 2021
Chennai (Madras), India323 contributions111 helpful votes
It’s situated on top of the hill at Cherrapunjee. Location wise it’s excellent. Very panoramic view of the hills and falls. Very peaceful place. The rooms are big enough with all basic facilities. From here you can visit the double trek root bridge. The hotel has cycles yoga mat etc., Walk in the forest in the morning is arranged by the hotel. This resort organizes music in the evening and bonfire. A place where we can peacefully stay and enjoy the nature. Very refreshing to stay. Very well maintained. All of us enjoyed our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
arjunajb wrote a review May 2021
Greater Noida, India369 contributions99 helpful votes
Had to call off my visit to Cherrapunji due to travel restrictions but shall make a trip on the first opportunity as I was impressed with the Hostess Angela who demonstrated immense Integrity Intent Empathy and Compassion Humility in my several interactions with her.. looking forward to the visit
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 3 May 2021
Thank you Sir, for your kind words. We try to make the holidays of our guests memorable with utmost attention that we can give for making their stay pleasant and comfortable. We shall look forward to your coming when it is alright to travel again. Please do stay Safe and Remain Healthy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carlf192017 wrote a review Mar 2021
Mumbai, India7 contributions6 helpful votes
Property is located approx 10km from Sohra centre and reached via a winding road that is being asphalted. The resort is clean, rooms airy and most importantly, the staff are very welcoming and helpful. Food has that homecooked feel and tasty too. Apart from the fixed vegetarian fare, we could also order non veg items. We used a guide and must say, Fedric is very good at his job. The evening campfire with live music by the boys from the village is an added bonus. Angela, who helps in managing the resort, helped us curate a super itinerary which made for a truly memorable visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 3 May 2021
Thank you very much for your Five Star Rating. We had built the Resort in the scenic mountain top village Laitkynsew which is a little beyond Cherrapunjee town from where one can see over 18 waterfalls from the Resort itself during the monsoon months, to bring employment opportunites to our village youth 21 years back, when there was not a single accommodation for tourists in the entire Cherrapunjee area. We had named and promoted the Living Root Bridges including the Double Decker Root Bridge to create great activity holidays for the guests and opportunities for guiding to our youth and with an idea of helping our youth meet people from across the world, thereby opening their eyes to the world and immediately providing hard cash in their hands. We enjoy interacting with people from different corners of the world and crafting individual itineraries according to the taste and inclination of the guests to make their holidays unforgetable and a source of joy whenever they recollect their stay at the Resort. Thanks a Million for giving us this opportunity.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gaurav wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The road to the resort is horrible (almost 30kms). We struggled to get to the resort that too late in the night it’s an isolated area. We booked premium rooms, the rooms are totally different from the one promised in pictures. The director(an old man) was very rude towards us he was going to hit me when we complained about the services. Food was bad in taste. Overall, bad bad experience. We had to immediately vacate and look for an alternative. Don’t book if you want a hassle free stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 4 May 2021
Dear Mr. Gaurav, I learnt that you had written a review wherein you claimed that the Director an old man was very rude and was going to hit you when you complained about the services almost immediately after you had posted it. I wanted to allow time to pass before replying to your allegation and to the review. 1. The distance between Cherrapunjee town and the Resort located in Village Laitkynsew is 15 kms. We had built this Resort in this village specifically to help generate employment to our rural youth 21 years back. The condition of road had deteriorated over a period of time. We had made representations to the PWD Minister and Dy. Chief Minister of Meghalaya along with the heads of 8 villages that are connected by this road in January 2020. He had assured to get the road relaid before the monsoon rains set in, by April 2020. With the lockdown caused by the Corono Pandemic in March 2020 the focus of the government got shifted elsewhere and the approach road became very bad. We represented again to the Secretary, PWD Roads in December 2020 who assured to get the work done. They have now completed laying the approach road and it is a very pleasant experience to drive this approach road. As the rains start, one can enjoy the sight of about 3 dozen waterfalls enroute to the Resort and enjoy the magnificient views of the valley, the cotton puffs of clouds lazily floating through the valley and the plains of Bangladesh. 2. Our Laitkynsew village was for centuries the gateway to the Khasi hills and people having business with the plains and Calcutta (Kolkata) went through this village to the rivers at the foot hills and used the rivers as the highways to these places in the plains. Trading of iron ore smelted in Cherrapunjee was taken through our village to the Sylhet plains of Bengal. The British came to Khasi hills in 1830s through our village and established their headquarters for the area in Cherrapunjee. They built the Pony trail connecting the Sylhet Plains and the Assam Valley through our village in 1826-1828. After our nation's Independence in 1947 the trade across the border to East Pakistan was curtailed and after the formation of Bangladesh in 1971 the borders were closed to prevent immigration. The educated from our once prosperous village that received education even before Shillong, migrated to Shillong the present State Capital seeking better prospects. It was our endeavour to bring back the market to this area through the setting up of the Resort, so that our rural youth can aspire to employment opportunites in their village itself and can generate self employment opportunities for themselves. 3. I was not at the Resort when you had checked in. When I returned to the Resort in the evening, I got report from our staff about your complaining about the Road and the remoteness of the Resort. 4. After sometime after my return, your daughter came and complained to the Reception Staff that the Premium Room was not up to their expectation. On hearing her loud protestations, I went myself to the Reception counter, I told her that we had provided what best we could and if she is not satisfied, she may vacate the room and find some other place to her liking. For that, she retorted, 'Am I talking to you? You shut up.' Her rude behaviour which was very unbecoming of an young lady shocked all who were around including other guests and the staff of the Resort. Impulsively, I retorted "You shut up and don't shout." Her voice became louder and her rantings more unbecoming. I realised that it was no use to talk to such an unreasonable person and chose to remain quiet despite her provocative talk. I am surprised that you now allege that I was going to hit you. I can not reply to such false allegation because I never even interacted with you. I advised my staff, that in case, you wish to leave, you may be allowed to vacate without any payment. I retracted from the scene for better sense to prevail. I was also away from the Resort on the next day morning to arrange for the sending of people from the village for training at Institute of Hotel Management in Shillong, when you were checking out. In the Review, you are saying that you had to immediately vacate and look for an alternative. The truth is that, you had stayed overnight, had your dinner at night and breakfast in the morning before you left the Resort. 5. Premium Rooms are priced at Rs.6500/- and come along with complimentary good quality sumptuous Buffet Vegetarian Dinner and Buffet Breakfast with a good spread. After the Lockdown, to help rebuild the flow we made Special Offers and offered Rooms on European Plan - only accommodation (December 2020, January 2021). Premium Room was offered at Rs.3400/- much below its actual price. Food was provided as per the order of the guests. Food provided is of good quality and is prepared hygenically. 6. We thank you for your Review and Star Rating. We are sorry that you we could not stand up to your expectations. It is our desire to provide the best possible amentities within our means and in accordance with the Room Tariff and the best of services to make the holidays of the guests pleasant and comfortable. We do not have the inclination or time to pick up quarrels. I did not respond to you immediately, so that you may have the satisfaction of whatever you wanted, to write such a review or make blatantly false allegation against me. Perhaps, you wanted us to lose business or reputation. By giving time, we wanted your desire to be satiated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynne wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful place to eat and relax. Food was good and service was excellent. The view from the restaurant was spectacular not to forget the amazing clifftop pool. Staff was well spoken. Will make sure I visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 4 May 2021
Dear Guest, Thanks for your Four Star Rating and Review. What baffles me is the view from the amazing clifftop pool. We do not have any pool. Hope you have not written the review meaning for someother place.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BalaRV wrote a review Oct 2020
Chennai District, India4 contributions1 helpful vote
We visited this resort in the month of May. I'm an avid traveler and from South of India. Without a doubt the hospitality we enjoyed at the resort is the BEST we have ever hard. The staff is all women and very courteous despite many questions you have about the sight seeing options. The walk down the resort into the Lainkyntsew village is very charming.. interacting with the small children and family was very pleasing. The village also has a primary health care center which is well maintained with quality staff. The view in front of the resort and from the Rooms is awe-inspiring to see the valley. Please go for the deluxe rooms on the top floor for best view. The kitchen in the resort serve very delicious vegetarian food including South Indian and any made to order. The owner
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 4 May 2021
Dear Ms.Bala, Thank you very much for your Five Star Rating and detailed Review. We appreciate it much. You have indeed taken time off to share your experience at our place. We feel greatly rewarded when the guests are satisfied and happy with their stay at our place. Your Reviews help us to fine tune our services and take steps for improvement. We wish you both Good Health and Safety in this Pandemic times. When it is safe to travel again, you are welcome to come and rejuvenate yourself to beat the corona fatigue in the Lap of Nature. Thanks a Million.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sumana M wrote a review Mar 2020
41 contributions48 helpful votes
I and my friend visited this resort on 11&12 March. It was my second trip to cherrapunje and second visit to this resort. Though previously it was more beautiful according to my feeling but now it has developed more with new building and annexe building. But the rooms are decent,very clean, spacious, staff very cordial and owner also very friendly. The ambience is still the same, the buffet breakfast and dinner is really wholesome and I liked a lot. You get to taste local pineapple and mulberry juice . Overall it's a grand experience and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. I stayed in a standard double bed room. One should not leave the opportunity to stay here once you are in cherrapunje.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from chresort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dear Madam, We are so happy that you chose to stay with us for the second time. As the demand for stay with us has been growing, instead of declining guest requests for stay, we have been adding accommodation. The new rooms are furnished more and more better every time as we add buildings, more sit out area is created to enjoy the hill top view of the valley, the waterfalls, the river and the plains of Bangladesh and courtyard and garden is being developed for better enjoyment of the place. We added Buffet Breakfast and Buffet Dinner so that we can serve sumptuous and delicious meals to our guests. The new rooms that are getting ready will be having large valley view windows from where one can see the scenic beauty of the valley as the clouds float through the valley and waterfalls streak the hill sides. We are coming up with a 360 degree view point at the very top of the new building. We enjoy serving our guests with the warmth of our guests, so that you always go with pleasant memories of your stay with us. Thanks a Million for your review. Denis P.Rayen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashok1391 wrote a review Feb 2020
Mirzapur, India11 contributions6 helpful votes
The choice of staying here was made by a friend. IT certainly turned out to be a great choice, We were a group of old friends and we could not have asked for a better experience. We were greeted by the friendly staff on arrival and they were very attentive to all our need. In fact some electric points were not working in the room allotted to me and I was upgraded to an other room till the next day when the resort had things back in Order. the rooms are quite basic but clean and neat. the food was very good, like home food and had a wide variety. The Evening bonfires were a great place to chat around. .All in all a great place and cheers to Mr. Dennis for his exceptional hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from chresort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dear Sir, Thanks for your review. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry for the inconvenience on the first day as the micro circuit breaker was tripping when you wanted to use the electric kettle and one of the power points was not working. We had started with Standard and Deluxe Rooms which are basic. Our Executive and Premium Rooms are better furnished. The new Valley View facing rooms will be still better appointed. We are happy that you had enjoyed our food. They are prepared by home makers and does not upset one's stomach especially when guests stay with us for many days. We shall look forward to be of service to you and to other members of your family and to your friends circle. Thanks for your review. We appreciate it. Denis P.Rayen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ALSO KNOWN AS
cherrapunjee holiday hotel cherrapunjee
LOCATION
IndiaMeghalayaEast Khasi Hills DistrictSohra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHERRAPUNJEE HOLIDAY RESORT (Sohra, Meghalaya) - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor