We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort

Save
Share
Village Laitkynsew, Sohra 793108 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (353)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (19)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 11/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Updated 11/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 15 hotels in Sohra
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is a family run 'Nature Resort', promoted as a Family Holiday Destination. Located atop a hill in Laitkynsew village, with scenic views, we have 12 well appointed & well maintained rooms. We offer a family ambience and help create memorable holidays at affordable rates. * Mountain & Bangladesh plains views * Delicious & homely food * Separate kitchens for Veg & Non-veg food * Intercom facility * Power backup * Children's play area * Board games & Library * Evening Campfires * Musical Evenings * Transport assistance * Guided treks of varying difficulty levels * Sightseeing tours & outdoor picnics * Baths in waterfalls & cool mountain streams * Natural Swimming Pools, Adventure Caving, River Canyoning, Bird watching * 11 Living Root Bridges in the vicinity. * Courteous, sincere & helpful staff from surrounding villages.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Badminton
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Car hire
Public wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
387Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 162
  • 31
  • 9
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ib traveller wrote a review Yesterday
Bengaluru, India65 contributions3 helpful votes
Located in a top of a hill with an excellent view. The service is good. Owners are polite and believe in hospitality . Just relax and enjoy your stay. The rooms are clean. Ample space for parking. Food is good. Overall good experience
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
kalasubramanyam wrote a review 10 Oct
Chennai (Madras), India311 contributions109 helpful votes
It’s situated on top of the hill at Cherrapunjee. Location wise it’s excellent. Very panoramic view of the hills and falls. Very peaceful place. The rooms are big enough with all basic facilities. From here you can visit the double trek root bridge. The hotel has cycles yoga mat etc., Walk in the forest in the morning is arranged by the hotel. This resort organizes music in the evening and bonfire. A place where we can peacefully stay and enjoy the nature. Very refreshing to stay. Very well maintained. All of us enjoyed our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Nonalcoholic hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
arjunajb wrote a review May 2021
Greater Noida, India356 contributions94 helpful votes
Had to call off my visit to Cherrapunji due to travel restrictions but shall make a trip on the first opportunity as I was impressed with the Hostess Angela who demonstrated immense Integrity Intent Empathy and Compassion Humility in my several interactions with her.. looking forward to the visit
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 3 May 2021
Thank you Sir, for your kind words. We try to make the holidays of our guests memorable with utmost attention that we can give for making their stay pleasant and comfortable. We shall look forward to your coming when it is alright to travel again. Please do stay Safe and Remain Healthy.
Read more
carlf192017 wrote a review Mar 2021
Mumbai, India6 contributions5 helpful votes
Property is located approx 10km from Sohra centre and reached via a winding road that is being asphalted. The resort is clean, rooms airy and most importantly, the staff are very welcoming and helpful. Food has that homecooked feel and tasty too. Apart from the fixed vegetarian fare, we could also order non veg items. We used a guide and must say, Fedric is very good at his job. The evening campfire with live music by the boys from the village is an added bonus. Angela, who helps in managing the resort, helped us curate a super itinerary which made for a truly memorable visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Premium rooms are the best
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 3 May 2021
Thank you very much for your Five Star Rating. We had built the Resort in the scenic mountain top village Laitkynsew which is a little beyond Cherrapunjee town from where one can see over 18 waterfalls from the Resort itself during the monsoon months, to bring employment opportunites to our village youth 21 years back, when there was not a single accommodation for tourists in the entire Cherrapunjee area. We had named and promoted the Living Root Bridges including the Double Decker Root Bridge to create great activity holidays for the guests and opportunities for guiding to our youth and with an idea of helping our youth meet people from across the world, thereby opening their eyes to the world and immediately providing hard cash in their hands. We enjoy interacting with people from different corners of the world and crafting individual itineraries according to the taste and inclination of the guests to make their holidays unforgetable and a source of joy whenever they recollect their stay at the Resort. Thanks a Million for giving us this opportunity.
Read more
Gaurav wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The road to the resort is horrible (almost 30kms). We struggled to get to the resort that too late in the night it’s an isolated area. We booked premium rooms, the rooms are totally different from the one promised in pictures. The director(an old man) was very rude towards us he was going to hit me when we complained about the services. Food was bad in taste. Overall, bad bad experience. We had to immediately vacate and look for an alternative. Don’t book if you want a hassle free stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort, Owner at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Responded 4 May 2021
Dear Mr. Gaurav, I learnt that you had written a review wherein you claimed that the Director an old man was very rude and was going to hit you when you complained about the services almost immediately after you had posted it. I wanted to allow time to pass before replying to your allegation and to the review. 1. The distance between Cherrapunjee town and the Resort located in Village Laitkynsew is 15 kms. We had built this Resort in this village specifically to help generate employment to our rural youth 21 years back. The condition of road had deteriorated over a period of time. We had made representations to the PWD Minister and Dy. Chief Minister of Meghalaya along with the heads of 8 villages that are connected by this road in January 2020. He had assured to get the road relaid before the monsoon rains set in, by April 2020. With the lockdown caused by the Corono Pandemic in March 2020 the focus of the government got shifted elsewhere and the approach road became very bad. We represented again to the Secretary, PWD Roads in December 2020 who assured to get the work done. They have now completed laying the approach road and it is a very pleasant experience to drive this approach road. As the rains start, one can enjoy the sight of about 3 dozen waterfalls enroute to the Resort and enjoy the magnificient views of the valley, the cotton puffs of clouds lazily floating through the valley and the plains of Bangladesh. 2. Our Laitkynsew village was for centuries the gateway to the Khasi hills and people having business with the plains and Calcutta (Kolkata) went through this village to the rivers at the foot hills and used the rivers as the highways to these places in the plains. Trading of iron ore smelted in Cherrapunjee was taken through our village to the Sylhet plains of Bengal. The British came to Khasi hills in 1830s through our village and established their headquarters for the area in Cherrapunjee. They built the Pony trail connecting the Sylhet Plains and the Assam Valley through our village in 1826-1828. After our nation's Independence in 1947 the trade across the border to East Pakistan was curtailed and after the formation of Bangladesh in 1971 the borders were closed to prevent immigration. The educated from our once prosperous village that received education even before Shillong, migrated to Shillong the present State Capital seeking better prospects. It was our endeavour to bring back the market to this area through the setting up of the Resort, so that our rural youth can aspire to employment opportunites in their village itself and can generate self employment opportunities for themselves. 3. I was not at the Resort when you had checked in. When I returned to the Resort in the evening, I got report from our staff about your complaining about the Road and the remoteness of the Resort. 4. After sometime after my return, your daughter came and complained to the Reception Staff that the Premium Room was not up to their expectation. On hearing her loud protestations, I went myself to the Reception counter, I told her that we had provided what best we could and if she is not satisfied, she may vacate the room and find some other place to her liking. For that, she retorted, 'Am I talking to you? You shut up.' Her rude behaviour which was very unbecoming of an young lady shocked all who were around including other guests and the staff of the Resort. Impulsively, I retorted "You shut up and don't shout." Her voice became louder and her rantings more unbecoming. I realised that it was no use to talk to such an unreasonable person and chose to remain quiet despite her provocative talk. I am surprised that you now allege that I was going to hit you. I can not reply to such false allegation because I never even interacted with you. I advised my staff, that in case, you wish to leave, you may be allowed to vacate without any payment. I retracted from the scene for better sense to prevail. I was also away from the Resort on the next day morning to arrange for the sending of people from the village for training at Institute of Hotel Management in Shillong, when you were checking out. In the Review, you are saying that you had to immediately vacate and look for an alternative. The truth is that, you had stayed overnight, had your dinner at night and breakfast in the morning before you left the Resort. 5. Premium Rooms are priced at Rs.6500/- and come along with complimentary good quality sumptuous Buffet Vegetarian Dinner and Buffet Breakfast with a good spread. After the Lockdown, to help rebuild the flow we made Special Offers and offered Rooms on European Plan - only accommodation (December 2020, January 2021). Premium Room was offered at Rs.3400/- much below its actual price. Food was provided as per the order of the guests. Food provided is of good quality and is prepared hygenically. 6. We thank you for your Review and Star Rating. We are sorry that you we could not stand up to your expectations. It is our desire to provide the best possible amentities within our means and in accordance with the Room Tariff and the best of services to make the holidays of the guests pleasant and comfortable. We do not have the inclination or time to pick up quarrels. I did not respond to you immediately, so that you may have the satisfaction of whatever you wanted, to write such a review or make blatantly false allegation against me. Perhaps, you wanted us to lose business or reputation. By giving time, we wanted your desire to be satiated.
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
cherrapunjee holiday hotel cherrapunjee
LOCATION
IndiaMeghalayaEast Khasi Hills DistrictSohra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort?
Nearby attractions include Double Decker Living Root Bridge (0.1 km), Nohkalikai Falls (6.5 km), and Mawsmai Cave (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
Is parking available at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Does Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.