We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vatera 81300 Greece
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (91)
Pool & Beach (69)
Dining (23)

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Vatera
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

LESVOS is a traditional island, virtually unaffected by mass tourism. Made up of small , closely knit towns and villages, Lesvos is a safe haven for those who want to experience the real Greece.

The majestic beach of VATERA is the largest and most beautiful beach of LESVOS ISLAND.

Situated on the southern side VATERA'S seemingly endless stretch of sandy-pebble beach has been repeatedly awarded the Blue Flag of E.E.C (European union ) for it's clean , unspoiled beach and water.

APHRODITE BEACH HOTEL is built on the seafront of VATERA beach.

Built and owned by John and George Hahathakis ,it is completely family run. John's wife Maria is from Kelowna, B.C. Canada and George's wife Georgina from the island. We all speak English and are always ready to provide our Customers with excellent service and to make you feel at home.

The friendly service , clean and relaxed atmosphere will ensure that your holiday is unique and unforgettable.

APHRODITE BEACH HOTEL has single , double and triple occupancy rooms , double and triple studios , as well as fully-furnished apartments ( with 2 or 3 bedrooms ), all together 102 beds.

All rooms have : Air-conditioning , T.V with cable reception, mini bar ( hotel rooms ) , or mini kitchenette (studios) , hair - dryers , safety deposit boxes (hotel rooms), telephones , music , bathrooms with luxurious facilities and verandas with sea or mountain view.

This is more than a good hotel. This is the kind of place you end up coming back to every year to see the friends you have made. Inexpensive and family run with a great taverna the hotel is right on the beach at Vatera, which is one of the best beaches in Greece.

Owned by Maria and John who are Greek-Canadians who really go out of their way to make sure guests enjoy themselves and take pride in their hotel and the island of Lesvos.There seem to always be English-speaking kids around for ours to play with and that is a plus of course.

Vatera and the area around Polychnitou is the most interesting part of Lesvos with hot springs, traditional villages and traditional island products, many of which are available in the hotel. On Saturday nights they have live Greek music and dancing and it can get very festive. They also rent cars to their guests so they can see the whole island. Best of all for the kids they have a trampoline which keeps them more occupied than the sea does.

WI-FI FREE INTERNET ALL OVER THE HOTEL......

APHRODITE also has to offer:

RESTAURANT - TAVERNA- on the seafront

Aphrodite Restaurant - Taverna has a huge selection of traditional Greek food prepared in the traditional lesvos way.

The excellent homemade dishes are our

mother's recipes ( who runs the kitchen) and are all prepared by our own extra virgin olive oil which we produce ourselves during the winter.

Our father grows all the vegetables for the hotel and a large percentage of the fish we serve is also caught by him.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Game room
Snorkelling
Fishing
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Hot spring bath
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Greek, Romanian
121Reviews1Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 26
  • 11
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marc B wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
The first thing you'll notice when you arrive at the Aphrodite Beach Hotel in Vatera is that it is family-run hotel and you have now become part of the family. Yiannis, Giorgos and Maria are masters at running a hotel and providing all the amenities that they would offer their own family. You will certainly feel as if you were their only guest. From the wonderfully appointed rooms to the spacious pool, to the taverna at the water's edge, to the delicious meals that compare with the best in the world, the Aphrodite Beach Hotel is Lesbos' hidden gem. Once you discover it, Vatera will be on your yearly vacation itinerary. Besides the beautiful location on the beach, take time to visit the neighboring villages of Vrisa and Polichnitos (try the Hot Springs). And be sure to plan at least one full day in Mytilene before you leave. This is always a vacation that lasts longer than the actual visit. This is the real Greece!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hahathakis Yiannis, Owner at Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
We really thank you so much for your nice review. The owner Yiannis Hahathakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flyfishingBC wrote a review Jan 2020
Kelowna, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights with our son and his girlfriend. What an amazing time. Maria and Yannis were so accommodating. The place was busy at the end of August, but they made us feel welcomed and at home. The buffet breakfast was amazing for all of us (kids are vegan and had no issues having lots to eat at breakfast or for dinners). With 3 of us with special dietary needs, the staff made sure we were always taken care of, Thank you, you don't know how important that is while travelling! The rooms were clean and quiet, Our room was near the pool and no issues with noise. Vatera is a town you want to go to have a quiet, relaxed vacation. Many traditional towns nearby to get the real feel of Greece. We were in Santorini and Mykonos earlier. They had stunning postcard views, but overrun with tourists. And overpriced! Thank you again Maria and Yannis for an incredible vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hahathakis Yiannis, Owner at Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
We really thank you so much for your nice review about our Hotel The owner Yiannis Hahathakis and Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monsi wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
I spent a week at Aphrodite Hotel in Vatera, Lesbos, which I can say was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is a family-run business and the personnel was always attent, smiing, making conversation with me and asking if I was comfortable or needed anything. I felt pampered. It´s a place to go and get away from it all, very relaxing and the beach right in front of the hotel, was impeccable. The buffet breakfast included homemade desserts and the highight of the buffet, in my opinion, was the pistachio marmalade. Very unusual and delicious. Other meals that I had had there were also fresh, hot and so appetizing. One evening, one of the owners, Giorgos, sang Greek songs at dinner-time, providing an enjoyable atmosphere. Yiannis, the other owner, was kind enough to print out my boarding passes for my trip back home. What else can a person ask for?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hahathakis Yiannis, Owner at Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
We really thank you so much for your very nice review about our hotel. The owner Yiannis Hahathakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RocketFan1 wrote a review Aug 2019
Kelowna2 contributions4 helpful votes
What an incredible time my family and I had on our vacation to Mytilene! Our favorite part of the trip was the 10 days we spent in the seaside village of Vatera. It was undoubtedly one the the most relaxing vacations I’ve enjoyed in a long time. We found on trip advisor one of the best kept secrets in all of Greece, the Aphrodite Beach Hotel. This family run hotel has a great taverna with amazing food to satisfy a wide range of palates, from pastas, pizzas, salads, to a variety of fresh proteins and fish. We have been island hopping for 3 weeks now from Crete (crazy drivers) ,to Santorini (wall to wall people), and Mykonos (outrageously expensive), this was the perfect way to finish off our vacation. If you are not the type to relax and enjoy the natural beauty of the area, this place might not be for you! John and George (2 brothers) that run the hotel were very helpful in guiding us on where to go and what to see on the island. They also had rental cars that we rented to explore the island on a few occasions. We also want to thank Maria (John’s wife) who is also Canadian born, for making some incredible home cooked meals for us. My favorite was the Yemista ( stuffed vegetables), my wife’s was the dolmathes, and the kids loved the pizza. Thank you to the whole family for making this a truly wonderful vacation for us and also making us feel part of the family. Can’t wait to come back on our next trip to Greece!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hahathakis Yiannis, Owner at Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
We really thank you very much for your nice review The owner Yiannis Hahathakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
333eloise wrote a review Aug 2019
Casablanca, Morocco9 contributions16 helpful votes
We had booked this hotel after reading Matt Barrett’s stellar recommendation of this place. We were planning a family reunion - 2 families coming from different parts of the US, 1 coming from Morocco. This was to celebrate my MIL’s 75th birthday. After arriving in the afternoon, we knew late that night that we had to pull the eject, before the 3rd family arrived, even though we were booked for 4 nights. Thankfully we had just come from Molyvos, where we had a wonderful experience, so we just headed back. I would like to mention that in our group were 2 young children and a stroke-impaired 79 year old, so deciding to hop in the car with no reservations of where to stay in another town was pretty gutsy, and most telling of just how unacceptable the current accommodations were. Our room, while tacky with pink and blue walls, was ok, my in-laws room was unacceptable. There was not even a window. Depressing, prison-like, down-and-out are a few descriptors I would use for it. Lesvos does not have the number of tourists that the other islands we visited on this trip had (Milos, Paros, Sifnos). It is clear that this hotel (and Vatera in general) has fallen on hard times. Many items of the menu were unavailable - this was not a ‘we’ve just run out’ situation: all of the servers were well versed in what they had and didn’t have, and there were too many items that they didn’t have. We found the food to be mediocre and exceptionally expensive... a kid's burger was 8 euro. And eating there is really your only option as there aren't restaurants around that are easily accessible without a car. There was a huge tv and video games set up in the lobby; we had seen kids playing with it earlier in the day. When we asked if we could use it, we were told by a child staffer that it ‘was his cousin’s, and not for guests’, which is a rather odd thing to have set up in a hotel lobby. We realized then that the hotel seemed to be overrun with family and friends of the hotel owners - they were sitting and eating together; there didn’t seem to be other guests. When we asked the management if it was normal to have the restaurant be completely empty (it was Friday night), they said it was on account of a festival happening down the road. After eating dinner in the empty restaurant (just us, no one else) we walked to check out the festival. It was a local thing that never would have attracted vacationers (in my opinion), so to say that that was the reason the hotel was empty just didn’t make sense. We were then told ‘don’t worry, tomorrow the hotel will be very crowded’. I found this comment to be rather odd, so, later that night we did a little research and learned that on the weekends, the hotel opens its pool up to the public for €3 per person. As it is the only hotel with a pool, and maybe one of the few pools in Vatera... well, you can imagine. It became clear that the money-maker for the hotel was the pool and the very well stocked bar that serviced the pool - locals come for the day and spend money at the bar. One other thing - they offer ‘spa’ amenities: sauna, hot tub, etc. But these are all pay by the hour, which made more sense when we realized their ‘open to the public’ scheme on weekends. The next morning we informed the hotel that we were leaving. We mentioned that the room accommodation for the in-laws was unacceptable, and while you cannot break a reservation (and expect money back) for a place ‘feeling depressing and empty’, I believe we had grounds for some sort of refund (even partial) for the fact that the pool is not reserved for hotel guests - that it is a public pool on weekends. Their response was that it is ‘family run’ and that they never considered themselves to be a ‘private’ hotel. What they fail to realize is that by calling yourself a hotel implies that the grounds are for paying guests - the people actually sleeping in the rooms at night. And I’m not sure what ‘family run’ has anything to do with anything; everywhere we have stayed in Greece (this was trip #4 for us) has been family run; that is the Greek way. Finally, I would like to say that the female manager that we spoke with was absolutely atrocious; she actually mimicked my words (yes, like a 6 year old) as we were voicing our complaints. Her lack of professionalism was astounding. Never have we experienced such a childish moron, especially in the hospitality industry. It was especially shocking encountering this in Greece, which is a country known for its hospitality. She told me that my problem was a ‘bad attitude’ and that I was ‘determined to not enjoy myself’. Why anyone would go to the lengths of planning a family reunion in a special place like Greece (especially when people are coming as far away as the US)... it’s just ridiculous to even say that to someone as a response to legitimate complaints. And, while the reader of this review can’t attest to this... to say these things to a person like me (often described as fun-loving, easygoing)... it’s just laughable. To be fair, I must state that one of the male managers did comp our food bill, which consisted of 1 lunch for 4 adults and 2 kids and 1 dinner (though only 2 adults ate at dinner). He did this when we voiced our complaints. In the end, there was no refund. While it is unacceptable for a hotel to fail to mention that their facilities are completely open to the public on the weekends, I understand why they are doing it - they need the money. And I’m sorry for that. Fellow traveler... please take my advice... it will save you from disaster and disappointment - DO NOT STAY HERE.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LESVOS12, General Manager at Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Responded 21 Oct 2019
Dear Guest, After reading your review many times, we still can’t truly understand what your real problem was concerning our hotel, nor why your review is so slanderous and nasty towards all our family, nor why you would stoop so low as to lie! First lie: Your write that you arrived at our hotel after leaving from another place on the island, Molyvos. That afternoon you had rented a car from the airport [ through e-mail we suggested that you do so] and your first place of destination on the island was our hotel and not Molyvos. Why lie?? Second lie: You mention that when you sat for dinner at the hotel, there wasn`t a large selection of items on the menu to choose from. Perhaps you were hasty, but if you had really taken a good look at our menu, you would have obviously seen that there are over 100 different items to choose from. Just about everything is always available, except from the selection of daily, traditional, Greek specials. By 10pm [ which is when you sat down to eat your dinner], we would hope and expect that the specials have finished as fresh specials are cooked up each day. AS you mentioned our waiter was informed about what was available in the daily Greeks specials. But why would you complain about that and lie that nothing else was available?? Third lie: You complained that on the children`s menu that the cost of the hamburger was expensive. You wrote that you paid 8 Euros for it. But that is a lie as on our menu it is priced at 7 Euros. You also forgot to mention that for 7 Euros a soft drink and an ice cream was also included. Why lie? Why leave out the details of the included drink and ice cream when you seem to be complaining in detail about so many other things in our hotel? Fourth Lie: You wrote that you had no choice but to eat at our restaurant as all the other restaurants/taverns were not in walking distance and you needed a car to get to them. The tavern closest to our hotel is 150 meters away! The following restaurants/ taverns are 200 meters from us, and so on down the road. As you mentioned in your review, you yourselves took a walk down Vatera that night. Did you not see the taverns and that some of them were busy on account of the festival? They were all in walking distance? Why go to all this length and keep lying?? Fifth lie: In regards to the room of your in-laws, you mention that there is no window. But there is a window by the kitchenette and a window in the bathroom. You never mentioned at all in your review that we during the winter had exchanged many e-mails. In our e-mails I had explained in detail what the room was like and the inside and that it was by a garden on the ground floor [which is was you were looking for because of your father-in –laws disability]. I also mentioned in our e-mail that you could always cancel your booking if you changed your mind before your arrival. Why lie? Why didn`t you mention in your review that we were texting months before and that you had a very clear idea of what the room would be like before you arrived, what the hotel was like and what the area was like? Why hide this fact and lie??? Vatera is a very off the beat area. It has not fallen on hard times! Actually, it had hardly changed over the years. For those who love a peaceful holiday , the really greek hospitality and are in the `sea, sun, sand experience` this truly is the place to be! I`m assuming that is not what you were looking for and that you did not like the area at all. This is probably why everything bothered you!!! We have a high percentage of guests, from all over the world, that keep coming back year after year and are extremely happy with our hotel and hospitality. Unfortunately you decided not to stay, but to leave. And leave you did in less than 24 hours. You said it was gutsy, but I wouldn`t say stuffing 6 people ( included two children and two old people disability) into a very small car rental, including all your luggage, that was very dangerous made for 5 people gutsy, as you put the safety of your entire family at risk! The hotel guests and staff that were down for breakfast were shocked! Anyways, overall, we honestly cannot understand why you would go to such lengths to lie about what really happened. Despite this, we do hope that you had a good holiday no matter where you stayed on the island. We also hope that for those reading this review, that what these guests wrote were not based on fact. For whatever reason, they went to great lengths to twist and hide the truth! The manager Yiannis Hahathakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jenya098 wrote a review Jul 2019
Istanbul, Türkiye25 contributions5 helpful votes
it was a wonderful holiday in this family managed hotel. I just wake up early morning , went to swimming ,sea is maximum 35-40 meters from my room ( counted as per foot ). Wonderful breakfast as a Turkish person, breakfast is very important for us. There is all kind of drinks ; tea, filter coffee, nesquil, cacao, lots of juices , milk...do not think about what to drink, they have all. ( added breakfast photos ) Rooms are clean and tidy...they clean the rooms everyday and change the towels. You have hot and cold water always and most important with good pressure. For the beach , no need to say anything, it is just a paradise...umbrella, beds, playing area for children..restaurant in front of the beach...have your pizza with a beer while your children play in front of you... They have all kind of food and if they do not have, just explain what you need, they will do. The family managing the hotel is very friendly, they give all informations, if you doubt anything , just ask them, they try to help you . We took a very good advices before going around the island from the George and it helped us very much. George, his brother John they both are so friendly. Hotel is perfect for couples and families, they have rooms for all. In my opion , this hotel is perfect for honeymoon. wish to go there as soon as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hahathakis Yiannis, Owner at Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Jeny We really thank you very muvh for your nice review about our Hotel The owner Yiannis Hahathakis
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dawn S wrote a review Jul 2019
Brooklyn, New York29 contributions40 helpful votes
Aphrodite Beach Hotel is a family run hotel on the most beautiful beach on Lesvos, and quite possibly all of Greece! From the moment of arrival, I was treated as family. The studio was in the back in a newer addition. The back looked out onto a beautiful field and there were goats! The a/c worked great (there was a heat wave while I was there with temps topping 35!). The rooms were clean and maid service was daily. The bath is very small, as is the case so many places in Europe. The food was outstanding. Their motto is we catch it, kill it or grow it. So the menu changes daily depending on what is fresh that day! Food is available from 6 a.m. until somewhere around midnight. And it is all delicious! The staff is wonderful, everyone is so friendly. Most are family, the owners being two brothers and their wives, so the grown children are part of the staff as well. They offer a gym, jacuzzi, steam room, massage, bikes, tons of tourist info and a pool. You can eat at the pool, on the veranda or beachside. There is a playground for children with two trampolines and ample sun chairs with umbrellas. They even have a wonderful family dog, Bella, who is so sweet and gentle, you truly feel like you’re at home! Whatever you require, just ask and you will be accommodated! I will be back again and again. I feel like family!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The upstairs units have the best views!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
alexandraw52947 wrote a review Jul 2019
Miami Shores, Florida6 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a family owned property located across the street from the beautiful beach of Vatera. They have everything from delicious Greek food at their seaside taverna for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a great family friendly pool with a slide for young children and convenient poolside bar offering great coffee drinks and ice cream throughout the day to an outdoor fitness area, hot tub and massage room. The offerings are endless and there is also a play area for kids and trampoline on the beach. The rooms are modest and all have small balconies. We stayed in a two bedroom connecting room overlooking the pool area. My kids love Vatera because of the long beach and bounce house on the water. Aphrodite is a lovely, low-key hotel perfect for families.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
wobblyw13 wrote a review Jun 2018
36 contributions48 helpful votes
We are regular visitors to this area as family live here and have visited this hotel before but this will be the last. Whilst the location is beautiful the management are rude. A gang of lads who seemed to know the owner made the place intolerable purposely shouting splashing kicking balls at my family and two Greek couples nearby. One Greek lady asked them to stop but they carried on. We asked several times to the staff but they did nothing so we had to leave.The manager just smirked when we complained. Obviously don't need the custom. rude and unpleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from VATERA, Owner at Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2018
Dear Sir/Madame, In response to your comments, I would like to clarify a few points. First of all, I would like to say that this site is a review for Aphrodite Beach Hotel guests who have actually stayed at the hotel and have gotten an overall picture and experience of our hospitality. As you know , you were an outside customer who came to use the pool and in a matter of minutes got a very wrong impression of our hotel. It was unfortunate that this event occurred; however, you are mistaken as to what really happened. As the owner of the Aphrodite Hotel, obviously you mistook my smile for a smirk. I responded very politely to your complaints, but you refused to listen to what I was trying to tell you. I DID talk to the teenage boys, but you got so upset that you never heard what I was trying to explain to you. Also, there were exactly three young teenagers , not a gang as you exaggerated. I told the youths to settle down. If you hadn’t abruptly overreacted and had been patient, then you would have seen for yourselves that the lads eventually calmed down. The two Greek couples you mentioned in your text and all the guests in that area, can verify to a beautiful, remaining day around the pool. Yes, the boys were initially annoying and were sort of familiar with us as they were staying at our hotel with their families. Obviously, they ‘felt like they were at home’ and perhaps that why they got carried away. We are a family oriented hotel and it is our aim to make all our guests ‘feel like they are at home’. I believe your abrupt anger, overrode your good sense and your patience. This was especially evident when you departed from the pool area. Upon leaving, you threw the menu over the counter, at the waitress and left. To be honest, this sort of explosive behavior has never happened to us before from any of our guests/costumers. Our hotel is very family oriented and we especially cater to children of all ages. Perhaps, the family hotel atmosphere is not to your liking. I can respect that and despite the unfortunate occurrence , we wish you well and a good remaining summer. Sincerely. John Hahathakis Owner of Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fivehousecats wrote a review Jun 2018
Sheboygan, Wisconsin136 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
I almost titled this review "Cried Going There, Cried Leaving." Having stayed the previous week in the Athens area, my car rental company there warned me about not having an international driver's permit but rented to me anyway. I figured this would be no issue at all on Lesbos. I had reserved a car at the Mytiline airport months in advance, but on our arrival they wouldn't budge. No renting cars without an IDP. It took an $80 taxi ride to get to Aphrodite Beach on the other side of the island. I cried the whole way believing that our trip was now ruined, having put nearly a year of planning into it, as it's nearly impossible doing anything on Lesbos without a car. I knew Ionnis at Aphrodite Beach rented vehicles, but I assumed it would be the same story, no rental without an IDP. Seeing our plight and citing mysterious different rules for different agencies, Ionnis rented a vehicle to us. We paid a fair amount more for it than we would have at the airport, but it was worth saving our trip. Our time on Lesbos was magnificent. Tourism, especially from Americans, has taken a dive here likely due to adverse publicity regarding the plight of refugees on the island. Time and time again we visited with business owners on the island lamenting the situation. We experienced no difficulties with danger or problems with refugees whatsoever and can heartily recommend a stay on this wonderful island. At the end of our week, pulling away from the property to deliver our rental car near the airport, and Ionnis on the veranda waving good-bye to us, I cried in sorrow over having to leave this wonderful place. There are several things the reader of this review should keep in mind. We were here on a spiritual pilgrimage, which meant travel all over the island to the many wonderful Orthodox sites. As such, this property perhaps wasn't the best match for us on paper as the attraction of Aphrodite Beach is more enjoyment on the property. We were gone mid morning to later in the evening. There were two considerations for staying here. My wife would, under no circumstances, accept a location that was cold. The north winds on the island can significantly cool the northern regions of the island. We found this to be true in late May when we were here. The weather was fantastic on the southern beach where Aphrodite Beach is located. Certainly we did take advantage of the beach on several occasions (I even swam in the cool but surprisingly crystal clear Aegean Sea), but this wasn't our reason for staying here. In addition, we trusted seasoned Greece travel blogger Matt Barrett who calls Aphrodite Beach the best stay on the island. The other is that, incredibly, we were the only guests in this very large and sprawling complex for most of the week until the holiday weekend arrived. Even then the crowd was rather sparse. As such we got star treatment with the best room on the complex, "lucky" room number 13, on the front of the property, facing out to the sea with a "private" balcony. We spent considerable time on this balcony soaking up the wonder of this place. The included breakfast also meant we would get star, individual treatment being the only guests. Those into the current "all natural", farm to table food movement will love it here. The food is terrific. But we were on the road most of the day and evening and only ate a modest later evening meal here, still home cooking and terrific. Local fish is whatever the fishermen that day could catch and bring by. The menu, naturally was limited with us being the only guests, but still plenty good enough. On the weekend, when more guests arrived, there was a terrific buffet with added items. For Lesbos I'd give this a five circles. But I'm concerned about new American travelers coming to Greece and being horrified by the tiny rooms and much tinier bathrooms in addition to not throwing toilet paper in the commode. The toilet is designed only for a 5'0" 105lb individual as is the shower. If one is larger than that, it's a feat to get one's self on the toilet. But this is typical for not only Greece but much of Europe as well. There are two twin beds put together and mattresses tend to be on the firm side. None the less, we slept reasonably well. In addition, there isn't any way to completely pull the balcony door shut while on the balcony. This resulted in us having to hunt down mosquitoes in the room later. There are three sections to this property with newer appearing units at the far back end of the property, designed in such a way for each room to have a balcony looking out to the sea. The pictures in the property brochure seem to portray more modern and spacious rooms. I wish I would have asked to see several of them. Also wished I would have asked to help in the kitchen as I love to cook. There are three areas of eating, on the veranda just off the lobby, a wonderful location for breakfast, in the pool area (a terrific pool meant to draw families with kids), and on the beach where we would eat our later evening meal. We couldn't have been more delighted with the personal treatment from Ionnis, his mother, brother and his wife who came for the weekend. We are personable people and loved our interactions with him and his family and their dog, Bella. Ionnis loves music and has his own "studio" right in the motel lobby. One evening he and friends cracked out some karaoke. My wife heard it from our room and we regret not getting up and going down to join in the festivities. Despite the somewhat mismatch we'd stay here in a heartbeat again. Note in my answers below, Greece is a smoking country. There was no hint whatsoever of smoking in our room. Of course it was quiet here as we were the only guests. It could be different in high season as Greeks celebrate (and eat) late into the night. This property tends to draw families from Mytiline for weekend getaways for the kids and the pool. Ionnis and his wife speak perfect English and Ionnis was invaluable as a concierge, helping to plan our daily excursions across the island. For a one week's stay we received one night free.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: "Lucky" room number 13 as discussed above.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from VATERA, Owner at Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2018
Dear Michael Thank-you for your beautiful review. It truly was a pleasure and an honor to have you stay at our hotel. We wish you well always and a wonderful summer. You are always very welcome here and we hope to see you again one day. Many Greetings, Yiannis & Yiorgos Hahathakis and Family Aphrodite Beach Hotel Vatera - Lesvos island Greece
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$63 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aphrodite hotel vatera
LOCATION
GreeceNortheast Aegean IslandsLesbosVatera
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APHRODITE BEACH HOTEL (Vatera) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aphrodite Beach Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Aphrodite Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Aphrodite Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Aphrodite Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Aphrodite Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aphrodite Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zouros, Thalassa Restaurant & Beach Bar, and Karaiskos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aphrodite Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Aphrodite Beach Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aphrodite Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Greek, and Romanian.
Is Aphrodite Beach Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.