We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Travellers' Choice award winner
#2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

794 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Ashford Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 786: English reviews
Roswell, Georgia
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Recently my husband and another couple had the delightful experience of staying at the Lodge. At first, we were very disappointed that there were no rooms available in Ashford Castle. However, once we arrived at the Lodge, all disappointment was gone. The Lodge is on the grounds of the Castle and you have availability of the amenities there. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3508Nana
Colin B, Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. I am delighted we made up from your initial disappointment of no availability at Ashford Castle. I am glad you were able to avail of the services common to both properties like the grounds and activities. We are very lucky to...

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here at the weekend with our little puppy. They made him and us feel so welcome. You have to pay €500 deposit for the room encase your dog messes it which is totally refunded once house keeping checks the room. We only got charged €10 for our puppy for the night. All the staff were so friendly to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nightsawayinhotels
Colin B, Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that your lovely puppy was well looked after during your stay. I am so grateful you enjoyed the location, scenery and the gardens of our estate. We are located in...

Reviewed 11 November 2015

We have choose this place based on location and the pictures of the room. When we arrived we found one more reason, the service! Great experience at the welcome and thoroughly thought through selection of the right room for our stay. Zoltan Toth is excellent and does everything that you feel in a luxury hotel as they certainly are. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilhelm S
Colin B, Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your review is so nice to read. I welcome your lovely feedback about your stay. We focus on creating a relaxing environment for all our guests. All of our rooms...

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I was invited to a wedding at this location, and honestly can not fault the place at all. (except for the fire alarm going off at 6;20 in the morning... which is no ones fault really!!!) The location of this hotel is second to none. Located on the grounds of the spectacular Ashford castle, plenty parking space out of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eire72
Colin B, Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely review is amazing to read. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We try to make each guests stay as relaxed and welcoming as possible. Our staff...

Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

We had lunch at The Lodge walking from Ashford Castle where we stayed. Old Manor House look about this place. Inside seems to be split in two. One side reception other an old dining/sitting room behind this room is a bar. Sitting room is shabby chic being kind!!!! Worn rugs sofa ripped but as I said shabby chic. Had lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wentaway
Colin B, Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Lodge at Ashford Castle and that we impressed your husband with our outside décor. I welcome your lovely feedback about bar menu. We focus on creating a relaxing environment for all our...

Sligo, Ireland
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Visited The Lodge for afternoon tea for a ladies day out. All I can say is AMAZING - the staff, surroundings and food. Alison & Nicki looked after us during out afternoon tea and went over and above to make it a memorable experience. Alison even doubled up as our photographer for the afternoon. The food itself was not your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravel979
Colin B, Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and what a review to read. Thank you for your kind words about our staff with special mention to Alison and Nicky. We try to make each guests stay as relaxed...

Redlands, California
Reviewed 7 November 2015

We pulled into the side parking lot to check in so didn't get the full effect of the beautiful setting from the front of the Lodge. The front of the Lodge gives you the gracious "old world " impression but the layout of the rooms is open and modern. It is all centered around an open courtyard area..with two rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jotoes1
Colin B, Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback is sincerely appreciated. Thank you for your lovely words about our staff with special mention to our front office and food & beverage team, we try to make each...

Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Touring Western Ireland we called in to Ashford Castle for afternoon tea but were turned away. Our local Irish hosts were appalled by this treatment and made their views clear to the doorman. Who did act a little superior. However our experience at the nearby Lodge was good. We had our afternoon tea and a bottle of champagne in elegant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DennisClar
Colin B, Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. I apologise about the lack of hospitality you received on arrival to Ashford Castle, but I am thrilled that you had an excellent experience dining at our Afternoon Tea. I welcome...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Great stay here for a night of relaxation. The staff were amazing from start to finish; welcoming and helpful. The room was very comfy - great bed and shower. The walls and carpets are a little shabby but really that's a minor comment and I understand that they are planning to update these soon. Dinner was lovely, breakfast amazing and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClairePrice
Colin B, General Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us. I am so happy that you found our location, food and staff to be amazing. Your kind words are lovely to hear and I know out staff here will be delighted with...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Myself, my husband and our dog Mia are just back from one of the most enjoyable weekends away in Ireland. Everything was perfect. The staff were super friendly and made all of us feel very much at home at The Lodge. The food was amazing, a unique experience with some of the most creative culinary offerings. Their menu is extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzie K
Colin B, General Manager at The Lodge at Ashford Castle, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Ashford Castle. We are so happy to hear that you both and Mia of course enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. It is so important to every staff member here in The Lodge to create...

701 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (145)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (338)
Viewed
102 (59)
Viewed
108 (58)
Viewed
109 (38)
Viewed
141 (43)
Viewed
149 (39)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.7 km away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,460 reviews
28.6 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,071 reviews
32.7 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,604 reviews
33.2 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
2,813 reviews
9.3 km away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Price Range: ₹ 10,350 - ₹ 26,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lodge at Ashford Castle staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge at Ashford Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The duplex or deluxe rooms are more spacious”
 of 5 bubbles tonys1232, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in main house a syou have to walk outside to gain access to courtyard rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles ClaudiaRose, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The two level suites are perfect for anyone traveling with their dogs.”
 of 5 bubbles 155kathrynf, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The hotel has a limited number of rooms in the lodge itself with the greater proportion of the rooms in an exterior annex.”
 of 5 bubbles kennethf145, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are a lot of weddings so unless you are a guest at one of them, make sure you are not staying near the party.”
 of 5 bubbles Jenniebert, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5