We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Traveller (266)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (20)
Overview
Tarporley Road, Whitchurch SY13 4JH England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (1,586)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveller rating
536
500
295
167
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
536
500
295
167
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews relaxation room macdonald hill valley pro shop set menu patio doors afternoon tea sauna and steam room changing rooms two courses black pudding cooked breakfast restaurant staff birthday treat lovely setting relaxing break full english emerald
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went out to play the Emerald course today. Unfortunately the weather was very cold and increasingly wet. Came off after nine holes because of the weather and called in the pro shop. Karen and Rob were fantastic got me a hot drink and turned the...More

Thank otaio7
Response from JamieM4280, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & SpaResponded 1 week ago

Dear otaio7 Thank you for your review. Sorry to read about the weather but glad you managed to brave 9 holes. Hopefully the weather will be better when you return so you can enjoy the full 18 holes. Kind regards Jamie McDonald General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a great value weekend at Hill Valley hotel. We were a family group getting together to celebrate 3 significant birthdays and this was the perfect setting for an enjoyable, relaxing gathering. All the staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. The food and facilities...More

Thank Clareandbetty
Response from JamieM4280, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & SpaResponded 1 week ago

Dear Clareandbetty It was lovely to host you at Hill Valley for your family gathering and lovely to read your comments. Happy birthday to all those who had birthdays from us all here at Macdonald Hill Valley. Kind regards Jamie McDonald General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Played the course today in very good order for the time of year no temporary green and even playing of the main tee beds the staff in the pro shop are great Rob the clubs pro and Karen both are a great asset to the...More

2  Thank johnwhite18
Response from JamieM4280, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & SpaResponded 1 week ago

Dear johnwhite18 Thank you for your wonderful comments about our team and golf course. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Jamie McDonald General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a two night autumn break, we had a great couple of days, The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, food was lovely and staff were all very friendly , our waitress for breakfast each day was Judy who made us feel very welcome with...More

Thank _janejackson100
Response from JamieM4280, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & SpaResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear _janejackson100 It is great to read your kind review. I will ensure I pass this review on to Judy who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Jamie McDonald General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited the hotel on 17th we stayed on 17th nov on a last minute one night break. As we had booked late the spa treatments were fully booked. We did still use the leisure facilities which we found to be clean....More

Thank travellers-UK1
Response from JamieM4280, General Manager at Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & SpaResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear travellers-UK1 Thank you for your review. We are today going to sit down and discuss your review in regards to breakfast to ensure this is resolved. I am sorry that the pool was cold, this was due to a boiler error which has now...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Wheelchair Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Golf Course
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 84 - US$ 152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 84 - US$ 152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Photos
Traveller (266)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (20)
Pool & Beach (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Frogg Manor Hotel & Restaurant
117 reviews
12.34 km away
Carden Park Hotel
4,844 reviews
13.34 km away
Aston Lodge
48 reviews
13.99 km away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
470 reviews
14.03 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 63 nearby restaurants
Etzio
537 reviews
1.21 km away
Benjamin's
179 reviews
1.39 km away
The Black Bear Public House
393 reviews
1.20 km away
White Bear
217 reviews
1.36 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 22 nearby attractions
Whitchurch Heritage Centre
22 reviews
1.25 km away
St Alkmunds Church
15 reviews
1.20 km away
Macdonald Hill Valley Spa
71 reviews
.04 km away
Macdonald Hill Golf Course
14 reviews
.97 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
laurenmt113
31 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 448PaulH | Reviewed this property |
Yeah pool, steam room, sauna, towels are all included in your room price, enjoy your break.
3
Votes
Room Tips
"Great views over the Golf Course"
moviesoprano
3 weeks ago
Read review
"Probably all good with views over the course"
ReadingDavid
29 Oct 2018
Read review
"All rooms seem good, some overlook the golf course, some the car park."
Meander524139
26 Sep 2018
Read review
"Would never stay here again"
981lynnj
21 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing