We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 497: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The nest is a great value family holiday, and if you enjoy your food, this is the place for you. The nest is well situated in the central berg, and many activities are an easy drive away. We were a family party of 5 with 3 adults and 2 children. We enjoyed our stay, however feel that the management could...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W8505VOjeng
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Management and the Nest team enjoy interacting with and trying to please guests so we were a little surprised at your comment. However we will continue to be vigilant as far as our guests are concerned and to improve on our standards.

Durban
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Room was dirty and we were given keys whilst they cleaned the room, sheets and pillows had stains. we were given a room with beer bottle caps and chips still present on the bedroom floor, only afte rwe kicked up a fuss was the room cleaned , we had no DSTV for the first day and no telephone for the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajesperim
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

I suppose it is always important to look at these Trip Advisor reviews within the context of all the other hugely positive feedback we receive – both on Trip Advisor and our internal guest returns. As you say you were given keys whilst our cleaner was still cleaning the room so it was hardly “only cleaned after Mrs Moodley kicked...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We had a lovely stay. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location in the Drakensberg with lots of daily activities. The food is great. Overall good value for money. Staff service needs to improve a bit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarryns2017
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review, we enjoyed hosting you. We will continue to work on improving our Hotel and our service.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Nest. The food was scrumptious even if the sizes were not big enough. The service from the staff was on par with 5 star hotels. The only issue we had was the roof of the rondavel not being cleaned when we arrived.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onellan
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review and your support! Please do remember next time you visit that as per our Table d'hote menu you are welcome to have more than one portion of any course you particularly enjoyed!

Drakensberg
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We as a family had a most enjoyable stay at the Nest, from the owners, who go the extra mile to make you feel at home, to the food which is excellent, to the location which is perfect you can't ask for much more!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patcI4896YC
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review and support! We look forward to hosting you again in the future in "our"beautiful Valley.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We started off by requesting a change in our mattress as it was like a ironing board. It was changed but still the same. We then asked if it was a secret to get hot water for our shower/ bath but only to be told that we need to let the water run for at least 15 - 20 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RingoPest
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review. Due to the distance between our hotel rooms (Spaced apart for privacy) our hot water does take some time to reach certain rooms. Firmer beds are favoured by most of our guests but I am glad we were able to assist you by moving you to a room with a softer bed. I am surprised...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

You need to know what to expect at The Nest. Slightly run down but a management team that seem to be trying to address it. Three meals served at rigid times daily - home cooked food, nothing fancy and the soup is usually the left over vegetables from the night before. There's nothing wrong with this, but it's not glamorous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review...we hope to host you again in the future. We are happy to inform you that we have a brand new company who will be offering their services in our new Spa!

Drakensberg
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Lovely and peaceful, rooms need updating . Food very good to start but wasn't maintained. Stuart and Shelley really tried hard. Would love the rooms to be air conditioned. Will be back again. Thank you Team Nest

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne I
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review...we enjoyed hosting you again!

South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017

for family and friends to gather, The Nest is a wonderful venue, what a lovely time we had, in general the staff are outstanding, so willing to assist. the food was absolutely delicious served by awesome waiter/esses. Hloni, and Vincent come highly recommended in the diningroom as well as the Manager Tyrone. i would consider returning to The Nest over...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenec500
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review...we enjoyed hosting your fun-filled group and look forward to seeing you back here again!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Whilst the hotel is old it is extremely quaint and charming. Service and cleanliness was of the highest order. Food was excellent and all staff encountered were friendly and professional. Judging by the demeanour of the guests there one would guess that they are return visits or regulars. The place exudes warmth and charm. Great for a relaxing family getaway....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pregap
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review...we think of "The Nest" as a grand old lady and are glad you enjoyed her charm!

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
11.1 km away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
788 reviews
7.7 km away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
798 reviews
6.1 km away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
589 reviews
31.1 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
20.3 km away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exquisite views over the Ukhahlamba Drakensberg World Heritage Site, an area rich in history and adventure, makes The Nest Hotel a unique and much loved destination for so many tourists and families from far flung places. ESCAPE FROM THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE Set in acres of beautiful park-like gardens, our rooms offer a peaceful escape from busy city life. All rooms are neatly appointed and comfy, with bath/shower and toilet en suite, radio, telephone, coffee/tea making facility. HEARTY COUNTRY CUISINE One of the few Resort Hotels offering a sumptuous Table d’Hote included in your tariff. Wholesome six-course traditional dinners, full hearty breakfasts, light country-style lunches and morning and afternoon teas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel

Address: On the R600 road | Champagne Valley, KwaZulu Natal, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Price Range: ₹ 6,867 - ₹ 13,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest - Drakensburg Mountain Hotel Winterton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for newer units if you want more in terms of views and amenities.”
SteveJ05753, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view”
Pam-Fourways-Jhb, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the staff quarters - can get a bit noisy.”
mamakudu, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Phone or e-mail all your questions through booking. You don't ask, you don't get told.”
RingoPest, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wifi is only at the reception, might consider this in choosing rooms :)”
theberntraveler, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5