We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 497: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Happy memories of a relaxed, happy and peaceful stay. Our room was comfortable, private and met all our needs ( mosquito netting on the windows would help!! and something to put clothes on in bathroom). We had a lovely mountain view from our patio, so lovely to see the sun go down. Lovely river walks on the property. The meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam-Fourways-Jhb
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your valued review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back in the future!

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The stay was perfect... Its just that the condition of the chalets can be improved... The towels are sort of old... Bath tubs not good at all... It would be easier to have showers than bath tubs... There were no laundry bags in the rooms, had to ask

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephyamikanik
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We enjoyed hosting you and thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of upgrading many aspects of the Hotel including introducing more walk-in showers. We look forward to welcoming you back to see the changes!

Drakensberg
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Great location and service was excellent. Lack of undercover parking was an issue during a hailstorm(which if resolved would skyrocket my review) Fantastic meals and ambiance , and watrons were well trained I stayed an extra day , as it was very enjoyable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 990jeaninem
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review...we enjoyed hosting you!

Drakensberg
Reviewed 24 January 2017

My wife and I have visited The Nest (out of season) in both the cold of winter and the heat of summer, and have only good memories of both our stays. This family hotel is a peaceful destination at which both staff and owners go out of their way to make one feel welcome and at home. I have no...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbT6690UK
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for your great review! We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa and especially to this beautiful part of the Drakensberg.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 January 2017

This is what I call a quirky hotel. It's not perfect, but if you want a comfortable getaway with good grub, then it's excellent. It's one of the old style family hotels, which are so rare these days. We went for a 4 days break in the New Year. The place was packed with guests - obviously for this time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamakudu
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review! We continuously strive to improve our guests' experience and look forward to welcoming you back to The Nest! Our apologies for the motorbikes which belonged to visitors of our neighbours.

Drakensberg
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Very nice place to stay. Very good food, and very nice presentation Food served in a smoke and CELLPHONE free restaurant cellphone free makes people more social then any social media congratulations for this idea, spread the word

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamwG657QU
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, we love that our guests chat and interact in person!

Reviewed 16 January 2017

My first visit was about thirty years ago when I was five years old. The comfortable room and swimming pool was what I remembered the most and now, years later The Nest was a clear choice to stay at while visiting with my husband from Wales. Main thing you need to know is that the food is exceptional. For dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

We sincerely hope you won't wait another 30 years before returning to The Nest! Thank-you for your positive comments which always motivate our staff!

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Unfortunately we all had either rashes or flea bites after our stay at the Nest. What a beautiful place but the staff is not managed well at all. The Restaurant staff is slow and unfriendly and the only person who is actually getting things organized to keep guests happy is the manager (he tried really hard). Our entire block didnt...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSI333
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. I am a little confused at some of the issues you raise. We had a bad electric storm one evening resulting in power problems but we had a security guard flipping the switch back on throughout the night and the problem was repaired the following morning. We have not had a...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We visited the Nest with our family and our Japanese daughter in law pronounced this the best part of our family holiday. The facilities are geared towards family time, relaxation and soaking up the splendour of the mountain views. The meals are standard plain fare, the most welcome part not having to plan around feeding the family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renewalsh
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review...we truly enjoyed hosting your fun-filled group!

Drakensberg
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Value for money. Relaxed atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff. Aircon in rooms is recommended but evenings are cooler. Bed was comfortable. Gardens and surrounds kept neat and tidy. Staff pleasant and helpful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review...we hope to see you back in the mountains soon !

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
11.1 km away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
788 reviews
7.7 km away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
802 reviews
6.1 km away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
589 reviews
31.1 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
20.3 km away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exquisite views over the Ukhahlamba Drakensberg World Heritage Site, an area rich in history and adventure, makes The Nest Hotel a unique and much loved destination for so many tourists and families from far flung places. ESCAPE FROM THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE Set in acres of beautiful park-like gardens, our rooms offer a peaceful escape from busy city life. All rooms are neatly appointed and comfy, with bath/shower and toilet en suite, radio, telephone, coffee/tea making facility. HEARTY COUNTRY CUISINE One of the few Resort Hotels offering a sumptuous Table d’Hote included in your tariff. Wholesome six-course traditional dinners, full hearty breakfasts, light country-style lunches and morning and afternoon teas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel

Address: On the R600 road | Champagne Valley, KwaZulu Natal, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Price Range: ₹ 6,808 - ₹ 13,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest - Drakensburg Mountain Hotel Winterton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for newer units if you want more in terms of views and amenities.”
SteveJ05753, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view”
Pam-Fourways-Jhb, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the staff quarters - can get a bit noisy.”
mamakudu, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Phone or e-mail all your questions through booking. You don't ask, you don't get told.”
RingoPest, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wifi is only at the reception, might consider this in choosing rooms :)”
theberntraveler, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5