We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hemingways Watamu

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hemingways Watamu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hemingways Watamu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

I had a great time at Hemingways. The staff were all very friendly and the food was great! The beach is very nice and whales could be seen jumping up and down on the horizon. The hotel itself was also very nice as far as the layout was concerned. I would recommend Hemingways to anyone, especially those who are looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

I visited the resorts in March and had an absolutely relaxing weekend. The property is very well maintained quiet for a relaxing and laid back weekend. The staff are very friendly and food is excellent. I plan to visit the resort annually. One area they can improve is on the Spa I found it very basic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prudence M
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

I have been to Hemingways Watamu twice and each time was superb!!! Excellent views of the sea from each room I stayed in. I love that the beach is so close and is spectacular. Excellent food (I put on a few kilos). Exceptional service that makes everyone feel like royalty. I totally understand how most of the UK guests I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank raziak254
WatamuMel, Manager at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and we are truly sorry that we cannot be your host this August. We very much look forward to having you here again when we reopen and in the meantime wish you a lovely holiday in August. Best regards, Melinda

Kaltenkirchen, Germany
Reviewed 14 May 2015

We arrived...and nobody was there to help us with our cases.....thanks...than the question at the reception...did you booked a room ......yes....can I have your name....I said my name...and she was starring at me.....ok, after this check in....we went to the room......but...no hot water, now water pressure.....also not after three days.....thanks for the good service.....the breakfast was very poor this time...not...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Tatjana0409
Nairobi
Reviewed 30 April 2015

We stayed here for the Easter weekend. From the airport pick up to the hotel check in the service was just top notch.The rooms were tastefully furnished with swahili designs and i loved their daily fresh cut roses bundled with small notes with random quotes. The staff were just the best, very friendly and knowledgeable especially Baraka who gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peris W
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 22 April 2015

The Kenyan coast is one of the most beautiful coastal areas I have every been to. The water is warm, snorkeling is easy and you can see lots of different fish. The sand is soft (although sometimes very hot!) and there are all kinds of shoals to explore. At Hemingways the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TooPink
Reviewed 19 April 2015

From the airport pickup to the hotel, the service was impeccable. Very friendly and made us feel most welcome, it was like a home away from home. From the driver to the front desk staff and management, all very welcoming. The room sizes were very spacious with big king size beds. The views are breathtaking and gorgeous. It is indeed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Safari-zuri
london
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Amazing few nights stay at Hemingways. The staff went out of their way to look after us. The quality of the rooms was amazing. You wake up to an amazing sunset everyday. Pool and nearby areas were clean. Food very good too. Definitely coming back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pareet
Spicewood, Texas
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed the nights of April 12th and 13th. Excellent and easy check in by very friendly staff. Rooms are very clean and well appointed. Our morning view was spectacular. Sunrise over the ocean and fleet of fishing boats. Big game fishing on April 13 with Captain Mohammed was really good. Resulting in sore arms and backs from all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerry G
WatamuMel, General Manager at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this review

Dear Jerry, Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would also like to thank you for catching such a great supply of fish on your day out! Our chefs very much appreciated it as did our other guests. We look forward to having you back with us...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Just fro m the reception with the awesome view you are so deligthful.but once you step in the restaurant and have the food ...complete disappointment...at some point the Thai soup was replaced by tomato soup ....got gastro after every food I had there...wanted to share a table with friends but was told have to sit at the table allocated at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fiaferana C
WatamuMel, Manager at Hemingways Watamu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review; we do very much appreciate hearing from our guests so that we know where and how we can improve our services for you. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy our buffets over this Easter weekend. We received very good comments on our food from the majority of our guests and...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
5.1 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
4.4 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
253 reviews
2.6 km away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
186 reviews
1.4 km away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
105 reviews
0.4 km away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hemingways is nestled on one of the world's top ten beaches and few places can compare for relaxation. Every one of our 74 rooms offers an views of the ocean and the endless white sands of of the Watamu Marine Park. Gentle sea breezes tame the hot equatorial sun keeping the tropical landscape surrounding the gardens, pools and terraces cool and comfortable. Simple yet luxurious this very personal hotel has tradtional thatched roofs, white washed walls and uses bright local materials for decor and furnishings. Friendly helpful service in a relaxed and elegant setting where mobile phones are silent and stress has no place. Our chefs make the best possible use of the abundant offerings of the Indian Ocean, the delicious organic meats and an abundance of home grown fruits and vegetables from our farms. Special diets are happily catered for; let us know what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Hemingways Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hemingways Watamu staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hemingways Watamu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure to have an appropriate charger!”
 of 5 bubbles roselineg119, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles kennypietro, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ask for a room away from the pools and higher up to get a better sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles ladyswashbuckler, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms have fabulous views and I find all are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lizziej2016, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Superior room on the top floor, have more privacy than on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Karimilovestotravel, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5