We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The New Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The New Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 192: English reviews
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dined with friends from Reading. Lovely meal. Service good but serving staff not in your face. A very pleasant evening. We had time to chat. We're not rushed and neither were we neglected. Parking was ample too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I wanted to escape somewhere away from the city for the weekend, after booking (and abruptly cancelling) a different hotel we stumbled across this gem on Late Rooms. Our whole experience was delightful, the rooms were spacious and warm (bathroom slightly dated but still lovely) Dinner was gorgeous, staff accommodating and sat us right next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie H
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had our second anniversary night in this hotel as it was close to work and home. We checked in to a room with no hot water and no electricity (all rectified quickly) and apart from the shower curtain being mounted 350 mm from the wall and making the shower a tad narrow the room was clean and tidy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewan29
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Visiting the New Inn to check out the restaurant for a group visit later on. The menu looked good and not too expensive and the staff were helpful and charming. Pub gardens very pretty at the front. Bringing a group of 30 - 40 here and will write further after visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindypindydbwoods
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.See you soon at your group booking.

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel room very old ran down and smelt of damp, most the light switches didn't work including the main bathroom. The lock on the door wasn't great and difficult to open. We booked a table in the restaurant but was more like being sat in the bar. The table wasn't set correctly. The staff didn't know the menu and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob S
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Yes you did stay a few weeks ago, and checked out and everything was fine-nothing mentioned. You returned 3 weeks later to have a meal. At the New Inn the same food is served right throughout, there is no separate restaurant, all three areas are the same and were you were sitting is a very popular table.That is the way...

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my new husband on our wedding night after reception at Rotherwick Village hall. I had good communication with the new inn staff before we stayed to make sure everything run as smoothly as possible. We stayed in the 4-poster bedroom which was lovely. Why only 3 stars? There is obviously a big damp issure as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammytms
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Tammy-Yes the hallway was damp as on the previous Thursday we had a months rain in one night, I am surprised you didn't see it on the news regarding the storm that had swept across the country-we actually got away lightly.!! The skylight hadn't coped with the extreme rainfall, therefore Yes we did have a dehumidifier in the hallway and...

Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed in the New Inn as guests of a wedding in neighboring Rotherwick and dined on the Friday evening with a couple of other guests. The restaurant was very busy but despite this, service very efficient. Tanglefoot ale was nicely conditioned, as was the Sussex ale and all enjoyed the standard but well cooked "pub grub" style food. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

John-Thank you for your review.Just a couple of points.The Treatment plant is new and has experiencing some teething problems which have now been resolved. If you had of mentioned it we would have gladly explained it to you-it didn't need emptying. There was no problem with the internet.As you said you were at a wedding the day before and you...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The new inn has lovely food a wide variety to choose from, very cosy environment. Service was quick even though it was busy. 5* food hygiene rating and polite staff. I will recommend to friends and family and will definitely be coming back soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren O
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to having you back at The New Inn very soon.

Hatfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Stayed at The New Inn for 1 night, staff very friendly, room clean, bed comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities. We ate in the restaurant that night and could not fault the food,service very good and breakfast next morning again plenty to choose from : fruit juices, cereals and full english. Would highly recommend and would stay again. If you use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra p
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and also the directions re Sat Nav, i have seen programmes were the sat nav take people of track and Yes just carry straight on the B3349 and we are on the left.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The New Inn as a couple for three nights in August 2016. Location The Inn is located on the B3349 which is approx 15 mins from M4 Jct 11. Reading and Basingstoke are both approx 20 mins away. The Inn is in located in the country although the B3349 can have a lot of traffic at times....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adm1adm2_13
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
0.2 km away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
312 reviews
2.7 km away
The Wellington Arms
The Wellington Arms
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Turgis
257 reviews
6.2 km away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
The Casa Hotel
The Casa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yateley
578 reviews
5.1 km away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
620 reviews
7.3 km away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Odiham Rd, Heckfield RG27 0LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Price Range: ₹ 6,115 - ₹ 7,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Heckfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No idea about rooms. We just had dinner there!”
 of 5 bubbles 204janetf, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Ewan29, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Its likely that all rooms are pretty quiet. The pub is hardly used so no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles JonahSwashbuckler, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Sorry did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles tiggeregham, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We had Room 11 which was a good size. En suite had both bath and shower.”
 of 5 bubbles moirah616, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay