We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Derbyshire Derby

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,380: English reviews
Start your review of The Derbyshire Derby
 Click to rate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having a 3 day business stay in the Derbyshire hotel, easy to park, quick check in, easy to navigate the hotel, clean, tidy, professional. The rooms are good, bathrooms clean & everything you need. Beds a bit springy but I suppose it's what you like. The pool, steam room, sauna & jacuzzi are all very good, I never visited the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff were very accommodating and helpful. Kids were very happy and we had a good weekend. Hotel is convenient from the M1. I thought breakfast was a bit dear for what it included. Carpets are a bit tired, could do with replacing. Not dirty, just tired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davereinhardt
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed one night only on a Travelzoo deal and were very impressed. Staff, rooms, restaurant were all excellent and the food first class. We didn't use the leisure facilities. The deal we had included dinner with wine and full cooked breakfast and was exceptional value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Ken H Thank you for taking the time to publish your review. We are so pleased you had a great stay and thank you so much for the kind comments regarding the food and service by our team. Be assured I will be sharing your comments with all the hotel team and sincerely appreciate your feedback. I hope we...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying in and around the area on a contract for a while. Tried the Dakota a few weeks back which was over priced for what, and where, it is. Derbyshire is close to the motorway, with nice bar and restaurant facilities. The room let it down - felt old and tired, carpet worn, scuffs on paint and in corners, shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essjay2730
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear essjay2730 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am pleased to read your comments regarding the friendly team at the hotel. We have had recent refurbishments in our reception, bar and restaurant, thank you for your complimentary feedback regarding these areas. Our maintenance team do have a program of works for painting and this is...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was better this time. Had an excellent meal in the evening. They also do a decent breakfast. Spa available but the treatments are not available in the evening so if you like to sightsee as we do you won't have time. Unfortunately there is no lift and yet again we had to carry our bags downstairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bohojen
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Bohojen I am so pleased you had a enjoyable meal in our Restaurant and also your breakfast. I will ensure these compliments are passed onto Nathan the Head Chef to share with his team. Treatments are available 7 days a week until 6pm daily, our spa is very popular so we would always recommending booking ahead. We have bedrooms...

Lancashire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my second stay, and finally I made it to the end this time. Even though I had only stayed the 1 night last time, It felt so welcoming and I was glad to be back. The staff on reception were very welcoming, my room was clean, and comfortable. I was on a course with my business and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayney13
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Jayney13 Thank you so much for your complimentary review of your stay, it is so lovely to read your comments and welcome back to the hotel again. I will share your review with the team and ensure that all departments are aware of your kind words. I hope we can welcome you again very soon. Kind Regards Anna

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Initially when we visited the hotel between xmas & New Year everything was closed, there was no closed dates on the website or advised by groupon, so we had 1 wasted journey there, however called them & managed to extend our voucher day for another visit. On arrival the lobby area and staff seem lovely , staff in and around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Kerry C Thank you for taking the time to review your spa day, between Christmas and New Year the hotel does close for a period of time. I am sorry if this was not clear on the information provided by group on however any spa days do need to be booked in advance. I am pleased the team extended...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay to have a quiet peaceful break away from the stress of home at present. My partner is in a wheelchair and to get access to the pool area we have to go out of the main reception go the whole length of the car park, whatever the weather. We have to phone for someone to come and unlock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garykovacs
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Garykovacs Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read your comments regarding the excellent staff and the way in which everyone goes out of their way to do as much as possible. I am sorry that access to the lower ground floor leisure facilities and spa can only be accessible via the outside of the building for...

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here a couple of nights ago on a business trip with my wife. The hotel is Ok. Nothing special. Rooms are very small indeed. Gym is ok but pool is poor and small. Staff are nice and welcoming. That's it really. You get what you paid for. No frills. Better rooms in Premier Inn

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonbU3207LE
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear SimonbU3207LE, Thank you for sharing your review of your recent business trip. I am pleased you had a good stay and thank you for commenting on the friendly and welcoming staff. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Anna

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Looking at the brochure on line, hotel appearance looked impressive, especially at night with the exterior lighting. Upon my evening arrival, I was not let down. Very nice, fresh looking hotel entrance , lobby, bar ,restaurant Bar served a very "moorish" stout. Very friendly staff. My bed room was very clean including bathroom Facilities in the room very good, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clifford S
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Clifford S, Thank you for your very kind review of your recent visit to The Derbyshire Hotel. I am so pleased you had a great stay and able to take advantage of the bar and restaurant. Our team work very hard to maintain standards and be assured I will be sharing your review with the team. I sincerely hope...

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
541 reviews
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,251 reviews
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
678 reviews
16.6 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
15.8 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: ₹ 5,027 - ₹ 6,636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, United Kingdom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Walsall, United Kingdom
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Kent

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near the reception was useful. Think most rooms are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles essjay2730, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor if you have difficulty handling luggage”
 of 5 bubbles Bohojen, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If your in a wheelchair and want to use the pool get a coat and umbrella ready!”
 of 5 bubbles garykovacs, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our experience - quiet and restful - room in the 230 area”
 of 5 bubbles 417royw, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 248anthead, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5