We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Nettle and Fern Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Nettle and Fern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 393: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Very well decorated rooms at reasonable prices. Good behavior were shown by the staff. The valley view is very beautiful at day and night. 10 mins walk from the MG Marg. We really loved the ambience. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arkadeep K
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A #1 rating in trip advisor generally leaves you with a lot of expectations, so did in my case for Nettle & Fern. Its a small 3 floored hotel nestled away in a quiet part of the town. The food in the restaurant is good & the staff courteous. I dont mind the lack of an lift either (this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Srikanth80
thenettleandfern, Owner at The Nettle and Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We would also like to thank you for taking time to post us your valuable feedback and review as regards your experience staying with us. We have taken note of the deficiencies mentioned and we shall take steps to improve the same. We are...

Kolkata, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel during my recent stay in Gangtok from 20-25th October 2016. Here is my thoughts on the hotel and its amenities. Service:- The service is good, the rooms are clean and nice. Valley Super Deluxe Rooms have a very good view of the Valley and the mountains. If you are lucky you may get to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arnabp123
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor Millions of reviews to help you get it right This hotel is greatly over-priced in relation to the amenities it offers. It simply does not have wifi to offer to guests.This was a major inconvenience. Sometimes I had water in my bathroom and sometimes not.The breakfast offered is totally veg.You have to ask if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perlaverde
thenettleandfern, Manager at The Nettle and Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ma’am, We are not a 3 star hotel and hopefully not a joke! as you have mentioned. We are a registered bed and breakfast with 2 star facilities and rates. Nowhere in our website, face book page or any other OTA pages, have we mentioned that we are a 3 star hotel. You had booked a 7 night stay...

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is near to Mall Road and therefore, I would recommend it. The Mall Road is a walking distance only. The hotel's rooms very spacious and they had all the amenities one would expect of a hotel in the north part of India. That includes hot water and also for the workaholics, it has Wi-Fi. The hotel is surrounded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Basketballer2003
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel awesome staff and great breakfast. Location is great. Ambience is great. In reception you will get great help regarding wherever you are going. I will definately visit again. Room was very neat and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrinmoy b
Kolkata, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good ambience stayed in room 204. rooms were very clean and comfortable.Good view from room, Only one one complain the bathroom is very small. Resturent is very nice you will get tasty food and the bonus is great view. The staff was very cooperative and helpful What I can say is, it is the best place to stay in Gangtok. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sreelata L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has no working internet. The water heater was not working correctly during my stay. Informed staff however problem was not resolved as the water heaters are old and simply malfunction half of the time. Staff is clueless how to run a hotel and engage with guests. Breakfast took ages to be prepared. Location is quite far from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlo D
thenettleandfern, Manager at The Nettle and Fern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. There is no excuse for a bad wifi experience and we are sorry for the same. Unfortunately at the time of your stay, the technical person who maintains the computer systems and wifi for us was hospitalized and the wifi routers had a problem then. However,...

Noida, India
Reviewed 3 November 2016

I believe i wont get a better option in gangtok with this price. Clean hotel. Breakfast was ok . Hotel is at quiet place. I will surely repeat the place if im coming to gangtok again. Service is little slow , as there are less number of staff. Rest is rocking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rajeev0555
Mumbai, India
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Based on all the reviews, this was the first place we booked on our 9 day Sikkim Tour. It turned out to be a great decision. As we asked for quotes from travel agents for our North and South Sikkim trip (top 5 on Trip Advisor), we realized that for permits, hotels and transport they were charging quite a high...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Payaltalk

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (308)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
View from Room (76)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.0 km away
Summit Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.9 km away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#5 of 104 in Gangtok
269 reviews
0.3 km away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#21 of 104 in Gangtok
250 reviews
0.3 km away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nettle & Fern Hotel is situated in the heart of Gangtok within a kilometer from the central M.G Road. It has 17 modern cozy rooms and the view rooms offer spectacular views of Gangtok, Rumtek Hill and the mountain peaks. It has an in-house restaurant and bar offering modern international, Indian and local cuisine. The Hotel is conveniently located, with a modern convenience/souvenir store and an ATM (State Bank of India) housed in the same building. The area taxi stop/stand is located just a stone's throw away from the Hotel. Walking to the center of the town takes about 10 minutes. We believe in offering good value for money, budget accommodation with modern amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Nettle and Fern Hotel

Address: Jeewan Ting Marg | Development Area, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Price Range: ₹ 2,089 - ₹ 1,55,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nettle and Fern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Nettle and Fern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nettle And Fern Hotel Gangtok, Sikkim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Nettle and Fern Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Nettle and Fern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Valley view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Srikanth80, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Valley View Super Deluxe Room overlooking the valley and the mountains”
  • A view of the valley from a Valley View Super Deluxe Room
 of 5 bubbles Arnabp123, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take rooms on the second floor, larger with better view”
 of 5 bubbles Payaltalk, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“please ask for a valley facing room rather than a road facing room. Try Room 304.”
 of 5 bubbles PrinceAnuraagMishra, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that's facing the mountains! The view is to die for!”
 of 5 bubbles S3657PYrebeccab, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay