Summit Norling Resort & Spa

Resort Enterance
Traveller (832)
This was our room with an attached balcony.
Room & Suite (195)
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#17 of 246 hotels in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Spread over 3 acres of an expansive area, you will find beautiful waterfall overflowing besides a pond filled with colorful fishes greeting you as you enter the premise of Summit Norling Resort & Spa. Enjoy refreshments served in the evening or light a bonfire to warm up in the chill climate at lush green lawns and gardens laced with bamboo trees. There are a total of 27 rooms at our resort in Gangtok, covering Deluxe Rooms, Premium Rooms, Family Rooms and generously sized Chalets that come with a private balcony offering spectacular panoramic views of the Himalayas. The dImmerse on the scenic lush green mountains amidst bird’s chirpings and pleasant weather. Relax your stay in cozy stylish rooms with modern amenities. • A proper Resort with all outdoor facilities like Children's Area, Spacious Lawn, Nature Walk to relax and enjoy with your dear ones. • Burn your calories even in your holidays and kick those endorphin at hotel’s fitness center. • Try Sikkimese delicacies and even international cuisine and beverages at the on-site restaurant, Tsomgo Restaurant and Bar. • Spend a memorable time play indoor games in games room or rejuvenate your mind and body at on-site spa facilities. écors of these Gangtok hotel rooms are simple and sophisticated, giving you an innate sense of superior comfort and luxury.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Car park
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Karaoke
Taxi service
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Nepali
Hotel links
Special Offer:HONEYMOON OFFER
1,111Review30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 652
  • 300
  • 89
  • 35
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shyam S Rath wrote a review Nov 2023
Kolkata (Calcutta), India5 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I visited Gangtok earlier this week and decided to stay at Summit Norling Spa Resort. We were little disappointed when we arrived at the property as it is far from the heat of the city I was almost doubting my decision. But to our surprise all our disappointment went right away when we entered the Resort and welcomed by the most courteous staff I have ever experienced.
The room was really good and the service was excellent. I would like to give a huge shoutout to the restaurant/room service executives Ms Sumitra, Ms Pema and Ms Gracee and front office executive Ms Simran. They were always ready to go the extra mile to serve to our needs and help us having a great stay. They were specially very nice and took great care of our daughter.
I would also like to mention the staff to help us feel like at home during Diwali, with all the lighting and sweets.
I would like to highly recommend Summit Norling to anyone who likes a calm and peaceful stay amidst the flora and fauna of Gangtok still far from all the noise of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General M, Manager at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Thank you for your kind words about Summit Norling Spa Resort. We are delighted to hear that your family had such a wonderful experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that our staff went the extra mile to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It is wonderful to know that our staff made your daughter feel special and taken care of. It is heartening to hear that the restaurant/room service staff and the front office executive were so helpful. We are also glad that we could help make your Diwali special with all the lighting and sweets. We are grateful for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon. Warm Ragards, Team Norling
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anish0510 wrote a review Feb 2020
Bengaluru, India4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very Nice property . We have booked premium room
Rooms and bathroom was neat and clean .
Staff was very nice and friendly .
In room they can provide heating pad for bed or Heater.
I have given feedback with Mr Nikhil at front desk and he has sincerely noted the same which is well appreciated.

Little far room city it take around Rs 300/- to reach to city by cab

Spa is ok there was slight confusion over complimentary spa (booked via makemytrip) It is just for one person and for 30 min
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sumit Mitruka, Owner at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Dear Sir, Namaste! Thank you for giving your precious time to drop a feedback we are very thankful for your positive review .It was a pleasure having you stay with us and would again look forward to welcome you to our resort in future. Best Regards, Unit Manager Summit Norling Resort and Spa,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anonymous wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We reached in the evening at the hotel person bat the reception was very humble. They explained about our hotel plan other details about our package. He also informed about how we can do the sight seeing. Resort is very beautiful. It is not in the city centre but not very far. They have heated beds and even blower to overcome cold as it was very chilly. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it has good menu. At our check out they took our photo at the reception by 'Yatrika'. She is very soft spoken and we took few photos their and the left.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sumit Mitruka, Owner at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Dear Guest, Namaste!! Thank you for your five star comments ,the team has already seen your review and is very grateful for your positive review.we are happy to know that you were satisfied with the facilities of our resort and also that we were able to make you feel cordial. we even look forward to welcome you once again to our resort. Best Regards Unit Manager Summit Norling Resort and Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TanazL wrote a review Jan 2021
Mumbai, India13 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is an average property, no great views from any of the rooms. Deluxe rooms are opposite their own building hence the views are obstructed, especially if they give you the rooms adjacent to the reception. They refuse to give electric matresses with electric heaters and the electric heaters cannot heat the whole room sufficiently. Food is ok, decent, not a great variety. Ea your breakfast as soon as they set it up, cos once cold, you may hv to eat the same cold food. ALL SUMMIT HOTELS, including this one is Extremely sad at replying to mails once you book. They will not reply to your messages/emails and then deny when you reach the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose the premium rooms. Avoid deluxe rooms on the ground floor at all costs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 14 Jan 2021
Dear Ms, Lakdawala, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to stay with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for keeping your valuable time aside in putting up a review for us in this forum. Your feedback is important for us to know where we stand in terms of our standard and services through your perspective, we try and leave no stone unturned in providing our guest exceptional services, we deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you, We have made a careful note on the points mentioned by you and are determined to work on it. We wish to host you again in assurance of improved services. Regards, Unit Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
soumyasanj wrote a review Feb 2020
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India25 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spacious rooms and good service provided by staff. Only thing to get better at is providing better heater in bigger rooms and a better Spa therapist.

We had to check out early and still the team had helped us by giving us breakfast in pack at such early time around 4 a.m.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUMMITHOTELS-SPA, Guest Relations Manager at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 30 Jun 2020
Dear Guest, Namaste ! Thank you for your kind recommendation. We are grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our Hospitality services. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavour to give our best and go the extra mile for our patrons. We would love to host you again. Hope to see you again at Summit Hotels & Resorts!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hangsing wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the hotel is 5 kms from the city.
The staff we’re helpful, the surrounding of the hotel was exquisite, the food even better.
However, I’d say their house keeping wasn’t up to our expectation. And since the location of the hotel is a bit far, mobile networks are really crappy, their wifi connections weren’t much of help either.
Other than that, no problem what-so-ever.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUMMITHOTELS-SPA, Guest Relations Manager at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 30 Jun 2020
Dear Guest, Namaste ! We are glad to know that you liked the food at our hotel. Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is only your valuable comments and suggestions that motivate us to keep chasing excellence and keep delighting you with sumptuous food. We would like to visit us again and give us a chance to serve you better.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Priyanka A wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Before we start with the cons, let me say it’s very far from the main market. So all your dependencies are limited to this place. Being an isolated property, the other services need to be super. However we were highly disappointed.
Now, let’s list them:
1. The rooms charged are for premium rooms, but are very tiny.
2. The toiletries are scarce. You will have to call the house keeping plenty of times to even get a soap.
3. The food is far too over-priced. Even higher than what it costs in a Marriott or a Hyatt, for that matter. And the quality is so poor. No quality test of food is made.
They even charged us extra for a glass of milk, which was never ordered.
4. Even the cheapest of hotels now have proper TV in their rooms. But these people have CRTs (in a room that they charged us 4900₹ per night) and you’ll have to call housekeeping plenty of times to get the TATA SKY recharged.
5. Very poor management. Housekeeping, room service and reception are all disconnected.
6. WiFi doesn’t work at all.

During checkout, We clearly said this was our last stay with them. They didn’t really feel sorry.
And they’ll comment on this post saying we our sorry for the inconvenience.. hilariously pathetic.
Not sure, who gives them a good rating and how and why.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 26 Nov 2021
Dear guest, Namaste! Thank you for choosing to stay with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for reviewing us in this forum. On the outset we would like to share our sincere apologies to you for all the hassle you had to face while your stay with us, your feedback is really important to us, we have carefully noted down the shortcomings mentioned by you and we assure that it will be worked upon in an effective manner. However, we wish nothing but to be given another chance in hosting you better in the near future again with the improved established services. Regards, Unit Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pranzell wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a great experience staying at this place, little far from hustle bustle but you will get shared taxi in morning for 40 Rs. In the eveneing, it is little difficult to get shared. taxi, and you would have to pay around 200-400 bucks.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Namaste !! At the outset, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience at Summit Norling Resort & Spa We are indeed delighted to know that the rooms,food and services offered were up to your expectations. It is rating & comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our “Quest for Quality”. Your appreciation has been conveyed to the team and I am sure that your recommendation will go a long way in encouraging them. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at Summit Hotels & Resorts. Regards, UnitManager. Summit Norling Resort And Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nitish Kumar wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had booked premium room to have a beautiful view outside as it was showing on the company portal. To avoid any misunderstanding and confusion I booked through the mail directly by contacting the company. I have paid extra money for room decoration and even though the tariff was higher I preferred booked directly. But from the time I checked in till the time of check-out, I didn't realised that service offered was upto the standard. They had no idea about my advance payment and they were more than 1 hour discussion over the same. Afterwards the room alloted was also not as promised. In the name of view I just got trees just outside my balcony. I regret that I preferred this chain of hotel and won't recommend anyone as they show something but they don't deliver the same.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Could have more neat and clean. However room was good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SUMMITHOTELS-SPA, Guest Relations Manager at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 30 Jun 2020
Dear Guest, Namaste ! Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay with us. Be assured your feedback has been taken seriously and has been shared to the respective department to ensure the right measures. We are looking for an opportunity to welcome you back and serve you the right.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveljournalss wrote a review Dec 2021
New Delhi, India9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This property offers an amazing view of the mountains. Book the chalet room and sit in the balcony for your morning/evening cuppas or wine sessions. The food including the Thukpa and Chinese are among the most exotic recipes and are rare to find. The rooms are very spacious,and clean. The staff is warm, friendly and courteous, which made our stay totally worth it. You can easily stand at the resort gate and book a shared taxi to MG marg at just rupees 50/person. The manager, Mr Sanjeev Rai, the staff at the reception including Amy and Namrata will personally attend to you and help you out with any queries about and beyond the resort. Our christmas became totally amazing experience with the karoeke night organised by the resort. It makes me smile looking back at those memories.I would totally recommend this place for couples, family and specially if you are traveling with children.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Responded 2 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Namaste! Thank You for staying with Summit Hotels and Resorts and for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us it was a pleasure to be at your service. It was really heartening to know that we were able to meet your expectation in providing exceptional services and hospitality. As guest comfort and satisfaction are the two main motives behind running our business, I believe that your appreciation will definitely motivate us in bringing the best of everything and achieving new heights in the fields of hospitality and management. Well it was a pleasure to have you here and we will be looking forward to your next stay with Summit properties. Yours in Hospitality, Unit Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from saumyavaishya
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India10 contributions4 helpful votes
6 days all total
neezam udden asked a question Aug 2019
Dhaka City, Bangladesh73 contributions12 helpful votes
Can i get hotel mobile number?
Answer from Amit Singh
Lucknow, India40 contributions62 helpful votes
The numbers are on the website . We booked thru them .
snehasis s asked a question Jan 2019
Kolkata (Calcutta), India36 contributions1 helpful vote
What is the distance of M G marg from this hotel? And what is the way of common transport available ?
Answer from Ankur A
New Delhi, India14 contributions2 helpful votes
No common transport is not available, its bit far off from MG Road
Varun K asked a question Oct 2018
Nanded, India2 contributions
Can i get snow near gangtok/nathula pass in late November
Siliguri, India95 contributions9 helpful votes
Namaste! Thank you for your query. Gangtok does not get snow however, at Nathula you might get lucky and find snow depending on weather conditions. Usually, it starts snowing at Nathula in the end of November. Regards, Deepshikha Sherpa Guest Relations Manager Summit Hotels & Resorts Reservations: +91 8388877888 info@summithotels.in
Siliguri, India95 contributions9 helpful votes
Namaste! Thank you for your query. You can certainly enjoy the valley views from the resort and its rooms but snow capped mountain view is not visible from our resort. Regards, Deepshikha Sherpa Guest Relations Manager Summit Hotels & Resorts Reservations: +91 8388877888 info@summithotels.in
Culture20800094128 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look for better hotels ,this hotel is not value for money."
Read full review
Stay21740083060 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No"
Read full review
Navjot S wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You should to come here once in your life"
Read full review
User wrote a tip Feb 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just a little far from main market"
Read full review
Departure24563165163 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No all good. Thank you."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gangtok area.
PRICE RANGE
₹4,004 - ₹6,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaSikkimEast SikkimGangtok
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUMMIT NORLING RESORT & SPA (Gangtok, Sikkim) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Black Cat Museum (4.5 km), Tsomgo Lake (2.6 km), and Ranka Monastery (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lhasa Newar, Shuffle Momos, and Roll House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to Summit Norling Resort & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kabi Lungchok (6.8 km).
Does Summit Norling Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Gangtok HotelsGangtok Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GangtokHotels near Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire