We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
White Conch Residency Church Road Near Dominos/ Pelling Stand, Gangtok 737101 India
Booking.com
Lol.travel
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)

About

#13 of 286 Specialty lodging in Gangtok
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This is a premium category and boutique kind of hotel. Its the only hotel which is closest to the M.G. Mall Road which has Garden, sit out area and parking facility. The hotel is tastefully built with all the modern facilities and great ambiance. It serves pure vegetarian delicacies which is prepared with details to authenticity and hygiene. We only aim to help create the best of the moments spent with us in this tiny beautiful Himalayan state.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Internet
Restaurant
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
63Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
10Attractionswithin 0.5 km
84Reviews2Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 39
  • 10
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kushal Sen Laskar wrote a review Dec 2021
Bengaluru, India146 contributions42 helpful votes
We have stayed in the hotel for 3N, 23rd to 26th December 2021. I have rated the hotel as average based on my experience on 3N, my review would definitely help you in choosing the right decision to stay or not to stay in this hotel. Advantage of staying in this property are: a. This is close to MG Marg Statue. Approximately 400m, takes around 5-7 mins. But you need to climb stairs . b. The car can be taken very close to the hotel. Only 10-15 staircase to reach the reception. The hotel boy is very helpful and would happily help in help in carrying the luggage in the room. Disadvantage of staying in this property are: a. They don’t have room heater , which is a big cons staying in 5-6 degrees. When asked they have provided which is charged at 250/- per night. The amount is paid in cash unlike food charges, to me it look like the amount goes among the staff without notice of the owner. 2. Food needs to be ordered before 7am for breakfast and 8pm before dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Better to stay if the price per night is in the range of 1200-1400/-
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tushar C wrote a review May 2019
Surat, India92 contributions16 helpful votes
stayed in this hotel from 13th to 16th march , got a very good deal from yatra.com pros. room as well as bathroom was neat and hygienic and had had all the aminities which one need for a comfortable stay no issue in power back up or hot/cold running water sleep quality was good didn't tried their food so no comments manager mr. pranay was very helpful, we booked taxi for south sikkim through him in quite reasonable rate although driver was very rude and careless, he even shout at us 2-3 times, i guess its not mr. pranay's fault but i am mentioning it so that he will not book this driver for other travelers cons. location wise its not the best hotel to stay, yes its situated 500 mts walking diistance from main market but you have to take around 200 steap stairs uphill to go mg marg there was no street light outside the hotel, i almost injured my foot while coming back to the hotel after dinner no wifi in the room its only available in the lobby
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Conch Residency, General Manager at White Conch Residency
Responded 1 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for your appreciations and feedback. Since your visit, now the area is well lit. Also there is a motorable or walkable road which we generally use to avoid the stairs to go to MG marg.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1Hamsafar wrote a review May 2019
Bangalore District, India1 contribution
Stayed in April. Staff is very cordial. Mr. Pranay, manger has nicely arranged our pickup, drop and sight seeing. We felt comfortable during all our stay. Hotel is quite walkable from mall. Veg pakoras restaurant by were very good. Best wishes to Hotel staff and management for their best practices. We wish to visit again some time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Conch Residency, General Manager at White Conch Residency
Responded 1 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for your appreciations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manjunath V wrote a review May 2019
Bengaluru, India1420 contributions101 helpful votes
+1
It is best location as it is at walkable distance from popular MG Marg. It is small but good hotel and has a pure vegetarian restaurant. Food is very good and had very friendly staff. Tasty food was served. Rooms are very spaceous and we'll maintained. Best thing was virw of Kanchenjunga mount from window
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Conch Residency, General Manager at White Conch Residency
Responded 1 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for the appreciations and top ratings!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
70vijay wrote a review Oct 2018
New Delhi, India5 contributions8 helpful votes
I and my wife had a wonderful stay in the White Conch Residency at room no 205 which had a beautiful view of the hills.We enjoyed our stay thanks largely to Mr Pranay, Manager and his staff both at reception and restaurant.Mr Pranay was very helpful in attending to our queries and needs.He helped in planning our itinerary not only in and around Gangtok but also Pelling.Thanx. SVijay Gopal and K Aandal
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Conch Residency, General Manager at White Conch Residency
Responded 1 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for the appreciations and top ratings!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikhil A wrote a review Oct 2018
Mumbai, India154 contributions52 helpful votes
First of all, let me introduce you to the hotel manager - Pranay. He was extremely helpful to us in planning our trip to Sikkim. He was more than flexible in terms of allotting rooms to us on multiple days during our trip which kept changing till the lt minute most of the days. Now the hotel - must say that this is not very easy to locate in the first instance. Located very close to the MG Road market, 150m downhill from the Rumtek taxi stand. This seems to be a relatively new property and hence comes across as a very clean and well maintained boutique setup. Hardly any views from the hotel as it is surrounded by many more of them. Didnt get the opportunity to taste the food here, but the staff was generally nice, quick to respond and extremely helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Lower floor better as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from White Conch Residency, General Manager at White Conch Residency
Responded 1 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for the appreciations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pushkaraj P wrote a review Jun 2018
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed in this hotel in last week of May 2018 with family in a triple occupancy room on first floor. Hotel is located on the inner road which provides good privacy; at the same time it's not too far from the MG Market (10 mins walk). Room provided some view of the valley and was comfortably spacious. Bathroom was good and equipped with geyser for hot water round the clock. Staff is good, courteous and prompt though it is a very small team. Special thanks for the manager Mr Pranay for helping to arrange a vehicle for our journey to North Sikkim. Food was decent and homely to a great extent which is good & safe during travels to distant locations. Just one suggestion to the hotel management - carpet placed in the rooms needs vacuum cleaning at regular intervals to avoid dust accumulation and stingy smell. Overall we are satisfied with our stay at this place which can be described as a small budget hotel with good basic requirements and recommend to families and couples.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: First floor front-right side room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from White Conch Residency, General Manager at White Conch Residency
Responded 1 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for the appreciations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sugandha Saxena wrote a review Jun 2018
Hyderabad, India229 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
I wish we could have had this hotel for the 2 nights that we were staying in Gangtok. The suite that we booked was available for only 1 night. We reached the hotel in the evening. The road going downhill from Domino's takes you to the hotel. It looked a bit deserted from the entrance, but that was a false picture. Our room was on the second floor. It was a triple bed-room, and we had asked for an extra bed. The room doesn't open into a balacony. Instead, there is a small window that offers a slightly obstructed view of the city. The rooms on the other wing all had a balcony and a better view. We were provided with the in-room tea kit, water-bottles, towels, toiletries and extra blankets. I liked the room overall. There was a pretty clock as well, on the wall :D We were asked to place the order for food half an hour in advance. Not used to it, but had to bear just 20 mins or so, for dinner. You can place the order and they'll ring you when it is done. You can choose to have it in the dining area, or your room. There is geyser in the room, for hot water supply. What amazed us was the courteous staff and their service. They let us keep our bags for the next day, till we could collect them and move to another hotel in the evening. The receptionist was very helpful with deciding where to go, and what all to see. Loved the warmth of welcome! They have a little garden, with small tables scattered across. You can have your breakfast here with a view. Our stay for the night for four of us cost around 4.8k. Highly recommended! P.S: This is a vegetarian place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony/view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from White Conch Residency, General Manager at White Conch Residency
Responded 1 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for the appreciations and observing small little things for which we are highly grateful for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny R wrote a review Mar 2018
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands13 contributions6 helpful votes
The White Conch Residency was a good choice. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Our room was big with beautifull furniture. The room and bathroom were clean. The whole day we had the sun shining in the room. That's why it was nice and warm. For the evening they gave us a heater. They also gave us the opportunity to change the room into a room with a balcony but we liked our room best. The hotel also had a beautiful garden where you could sit and relax. They served a good breakfast and dinner in the diningroom. The location was OK. Only a few minutes walk to the centre. We had a wonderfull stay here and can certainly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency
Responded 5 Mar 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review and appreciations. It was our great joy serving you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Archna S wrote a review Feb 2018
Mumbai, India57 contributions5 helpful votes
Nice cozy hotel, setup on a hill among lush greens. The staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. Breakfast was made on the spot at order and had excellent taste. In all good value for money. It's a little off the main road but that gives you a chance to discover the charms of the local life.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from bikashag, Owner at White Conch Residency
Responded 5 Mar 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for amazing review and appreciating the Hotel, its location, garden, staff service, food quality and the rooms. We would be glad to serve you whenever you visit this beautiful Capital.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$15 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaSikkimEast SikkimGangtok
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about White Conch Residency
Which popular attractions are close to White Conch Residency?
Nearby attractions include Tsomgo Lake (0.5 km), MG Marg (0.2 km), and Ganesh Tok View Point (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at White Conch Residency?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at White Conch Residency?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at White Conch Residency?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Conch Residency?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Live & Loud, Roll House, and Baker's Cafe.
Is White Conch Residency located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Gangtok.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at White Conch Residency?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to White Conch Residency?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kabi Lungchok (7.4 km).