We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
22A, Pillayar Koil St Near Muthalamman Temple, Vaithikuppam, Pondicherry 605003 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#20 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Kariappa House is a lovingly restored and renovated family home, a cluster of interconnected houses, interspersed with tropical gardens and courtyards and a covered swimming pool. Two of these are restored Tamil Houses, the main house is re-created in a typical Franco-tamil style and the more contemporary 1970s addition has been modified into a bungalow which is called MANTRA. It is residential.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Spa
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
35Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Meenakshi S wrote a review 19 Sep
Coimbatore, India89 contributions13 helpful votes
Beautiful property ! But service disappoints !! People have been raving about Kariappa house with its very Instagramable pool and all , I decided to go ahead and book it . Didn’t really read up too much on the website , just skimmed through and everything looked picture perfect . No doubt everything is picture perfect , but only when you enter the property . I was driving and found myself in tiny lanes and by the time we made it to the property my heart sank . My friend’s face was white !! The parking is opposite the property and we were asked to park there . The location sucks . After the drive , we weren’t sure so we asked to check the rooms before we checked in . The rooms are old world , pretty , well appointed bathrooms, really gorgeous , but the overpowering smell of lemongrass gave me an instant headache !! The manager Mr Dileep checked us in very unceremoniously and as we were being led to our room, we were asked to take off our footwear and wear slippers that belonged to the hotel . Slippers that have been used by god knows a thousand other guests . Dileep said it’s the “ RULE “ of the property and we aren’t allowed to wear our footwear that we use outside . I thought it was a covid thingy and asked him if it was and he said no it’s always been the rule and we have to oblige !! I told him that I refuse to wear footwear that’s been worn by so many people ( and worn out and unsize ) and that I would wear my house slippers that I have in my bags .. apparently it’s on their website , but like I said I hadn’t read it thoroughly, my bad !! The food is very good , home style ,served by the ladies . Sweet and courteous .. the setting is amazing . Could be any tropical place anywhere in the world . Beautiful pool . It’s a lap pool, so one will have to book a slot to use it . Next day my friend and I had booked for Watsu sessions at Auroville . So we packed our things , I did not have a towel and therefore I took my used towel from the hotel room . My friend had a towel with her so she didn’t take the one from the room ! I was holding the towel was in plain sight and as we were heading out , one of the ladies gestured to the manager and just as were exiting to the road he stopped us and he said we can’t take the towel . I explained the situation to him that we were going for our water treatment and I don’t have a towel , so therefore I’d like to take it and bring it back . He refused and used the “ Rule “ word again . I told him I ll leave a 500 rs deposit with him for the towel or even 1000 rs , but he didn’t budge at all . He asked me to leave the towel and go . I then told him , if I had wanted to smuggle the towel ( which is old and tattered btw ) out I could have without anyone noticing and I didn’t want do that . I had to go looking to buy a towel in those narrow streets and ended up buying one which barely soaked up any water because it was brand new !!! I am also in the Hospitality Business. I run a similar Guesthouse near Dindigul . If my staff were to come across a situation like this , they would have very nicely told the guest to go ahead and take the towel but bring it back without fail . We have a lake and waterfall by our resort and guests frequently take towels and bring them back . It’s basic courtesy that the hotel must allow . I am really miffed with the Managers attitude at KARAIPPA House . He’s unsmiling , rude and not pleasant at all !! The whole vibe of the place is lost because of this person . 10 points to the property . If I could give negative points for the service of the manager then I would . I hope the management takes necessary steps and makes sure their staff are polite and smiling to say the least !!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kakoli B, Owner at Kariappa House
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for writing this review because it gave me a reason to investigate and get to the bottom of your complaints and realised that in this case, there is not much I, as an owner, can do when a guest arrives with a negative attitude, determined to find faults with everything. For those reading this review and response, PLEASE GO THOUGH THE KARIAPPAHOUSE (dot) com website in detail. There is a full page on the LOCATION because we are aware that entitled Indian travellers may find the urban fishing village of Vaithikuppam not upmarket enough, even though we are within walking distance of the French Quarters. Please also read the HOUSE GUIDELINES on our site which says we request guests to take off outdoor footwear and use indoor footwear for inside the house. This is NOT a hotel. It is our HOME and we reserve the right to ask guests to follow certain norms. We provide sanitised footwear for use but if you carry yours, you are welcome to use them. As for taking our Room towels outside to other Spa for use, it would be simpler to ask the staff to provide you with towels which you could take outside. Needless to say, if you bring back stained towels, we would charge you for it. Agreed that Dileep could have conveyed the same message with a smile but when a guest starts complaining from the moment they check in, the staff become wary and cautious and are on an edge. Being a host yourself, you should know how difficult it is to deal with guests who arrive with a negative attitude. Our staff are the sweetest and most pleasant people to deal with and there have been MANY reviews to vouch for that. So one person who finds Dileep ‘unfriendly’ should not affect his reputation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GS55 wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Tucked away in one of the many small streets of Pondicherry, Kariappa House is a beautiful island of quiet and calm. The place is beautifully designed and meticulously maintained, and one can spend an entire holiday here without feeling the need to step out at all. It’s perfect for regular holidays as well as those seeking a small retreat to focus on art of writing. We spent a lot of time talking to Kakoli and learning about her vision for the place and how she created this lovely place. The staff are polite and very helpful whether it is arranging for an auto or making suggestions for lunch and dinner. Specifically, Lasarras made sure that our stay was easy and he helped us out at every turn. Speaking of food, the simple and homely food prepared by chef Vanaja is delicious and wholesome. There are quite a few reading nooks and rooms around the place and it’s nice to simply walk around and explore. I was there with my parents and entire family and I can honestly say that I have never been to a place that felt so much like home. My mother has already asked her sister to come to Pondicherry with her to stay at Kariappa House. Needless to say, we will be coming back again. And we are waiting for our next break to call Kakoli and ask to come back to this little slice of home away from home.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Seema S wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
We loved our stay at Kariappa House. It is calm, beautiful and peaceful. Each person played a big part in ensuring our stay was what we hoped it would be! The sparkling pool was excellent! We thank you for your warm hospitality. We will return!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AshishKhandelia wrote a review Apr 2022
Mumbai, India18 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here in a studio apartment. Once you are inside the home compound, its a different place, serene with an old world charm. If you are looking for place to wind-down and enjoy Pondicherry at leisurely pace, Kariappa house is perfect. We just enjoyed sitting around in the coutyard and the 2-side opening dining area. Breakfast is simple but very nice. Our host kakoli, made some good recommendations and helped organized a very interesting sailing experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shruti Tyagi wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
+1
I can only try to describe it in proper words. But to be exact: it felt like..no it IS home, a beautiful home where you wake up to such peaceful mornings trying to find what bird is making that beautiful sound….and start your day in the best possible mood with delicious breakfast (thanks Vaneja amma!). And it’s the home you come back to after whatever it is in Pondicherry you are out to do. Each night, you return to this home that feels safe, where someone is always there if you need something (thanks Ramji!) and, you simply take a nice shower before falling into a deep, calm slumber each night of your stay :) Special thanks to Kakoli for setting up this amazing property for travellers like me- that seek the core, local experience without superficial luxury. I seek luxury in authentic, homely experiences and Kariappa is just that place: built thoughtfully, planned logically and decorated beautifully (confirming this as an architect 😉) . Oh and you make some truly special friends, this place has a certain energy that connects people like no other place can! Also, thanks to Lassarus, the manager who helped me so much even before I arrived and until the day I left. All staff deserves a thank you from me as I really was treated like a family member! On the practical side, I had zero issues. My room was perfect in every way and the tea room next to it was very helpful too 🙂. The pool is superb and perfect size. Booking system was in place as a corona measure but if you ask me- I got my own private pool for an hour- how is that not awesome!? I can ramble on and on….but yes- for all my future Pondicherry trips, I can never think of any other place than Kariappa house- my home away from home ❤️.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you’re a fussy person, make sure you do your research and read about Kariappa house well in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dave & Jay wrote a review Mar 2022
Prague, Czech Republic21 contributions18 helpful votes
There are no words who can explain the true uniqueness and awesomeness of Kariappa house at every level. 1. The house. It’s unique. It wraps itself around you and if you are of the right type for the house the house looks after you. 2. The house and the staff treats you as family. You are at home from the first minute. 3. The location - it’s real. It’s genuine. It shows how Pondicherry works. A blend of all backgrounds working in harmony. Whilst the French town is more “European”, the genuineness of the people surrounding Kariappa makes it what it needs. 4. The staff. One work. Beautiful. In every way. They looked after us from minute one of day one. If you are looking for a hotel experience it may not work for you. If you are looking for a genuine home stay with genuine people and a genuine experience this is for you. Kariappa - we love you. Pondicherry - we love you. And we will be back. For much longer. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Underoursole wrote a review Mar 2022
New Delhi, India43 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
If you like a place away from the hustle and bustle of White Town but not too far from it, this is the perfect place. It is not your typical hotel or Airbnb. You can spend an hour privately in their beautiful pool. The staff is warm and helpful. Breakfast is fresh and delicious. They could add a few more options for in-house meal options.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Travel Bug wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Kariappa House is amongst the most beautiful restored homes in Pondicherry. The courtyard in an amazing place to walk around or have your evening tea (which is available 24*7 in the tea room). The rooms are spacious and clean, with traditional furniture. The best part of the property is their pool— it’s a full length lap pool surrounded by greenery— so be sure to book a slot in advance since they’re extremely careful about COVID guidelines. The staff will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. Everyone will always greet you with a smile and respond to your request at the earliest. The breakfast prepared by them is simple but hearty, and you could order off a limited menu (in advance), if you’d like to eat other meals from their kitchen. Zomato also delivers to the property and there is no restriction on ordering in. The people in Kariappa House were extremely hospitable and we’re grateful to them for making our stay so memorable! There are also several long stay guests at the property who are extremely friendly and have great stories and experiences to share! Overall, one of the best experiences we’ve had in a while. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great option in Pondicherry.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
paridarshika wrote a review Jan 2022
New Delhi, India8 contributions2 helpful votes
I have been staying at Kariappa House for more than a month now and I did not want to write a review because I did not want to share this place. However, the last review broke my heart because I was here when it happened and I can only say PLEASE DO NOT BELIEVE WHAT THIS VERY UNPLEASANT REVIEWER had to say. The team had been struggling with various room changes as a guest had tested positive and some others had to be moved. I was also requested to move to GRATITUDE for a couple of days and did so willingly. Kariappa House follows strict covid protocols and they take all precaution but often guests do not understand the difficulties they face and selfishly demand the best only for themselves. I have great respect for Ramji and Kakoli who handled them with patience. It is undignified and totally wrong to call them frauds and liars. This is NOT ACCEPTABLE. As for my experience, Kariappa House is now my second home. It is spotlessly clean & peaceful and the staff Ramji and Jan look after us like family and Vanaja, the cook, is the sweetest person The location is within walking distance of the French Precinct and I love my daily walk along the sea to the Promenade. The Rooms are lovely and charming. The garden is a great bonus and so is the swimming pool where one gets private swimming time. And finally I must mention DD, the cat who will always have a special place in my heart. Keep up the good work team Kariappa House and do NOT get discouraged by people who are insensitive.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kakoli Banerjee, Owner at Kariappa House
Responded 25 Jan 2022
Thank you. We really appreciate your response to the previous review which indeed made us very sad. Thank you for being a loyal guest and it is for people like you that all our efforts seem to be worthwhile. We hope to see you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
swapnilvasutrehan wrote a review Jan 2022
Chandigarh, India5 contributions2 helpful votes
I was traveling with my husband and 2 kids and their nanny for a week to pondicherry and booked my stay (2 rooms) with kariappa house from 6th to 9th jan,2022. i had paid full in advance more than a month ago, anyhow, 2 days before my stay at kariappa the owner 'kakoli' e mailed me that one of the rooms reserved for me was under sanitisation as the person staying had fever. her manager told me that their standards were so high even though report was negative they will still lock the room for 48 hours, and they gave me a dingy studio apartment insted. i agreed as it made sense. when i reached there , the maid by mistake mentioned that the room was occupied, i chkd with manager again and he again said no its under sanitisation. In evening around 8 i saw a family going inside that room and i checked with them they had been staying their for 3 days. when i questioned, the manager had nothing to say on phone , the gate keeper tried to bully us, then the owner came and said the room was with covid positive patient , so we had to sanitize, but this group came and insisted on the room so we gave it to them. anyhow their story was long and barely made any sense. what i could gather was that they wanted to take the group booking and tried to fool us with the studio apartment. also they themselves were telling that they gave the room of a covid positive patient to a family with kids. basically, the crux remains that all the wonderful things they try to portray on the website, are BARELY TRUE. they are just as commercial as anyone from outside trying to run a business in some other city. the gate keeper is a gunda kind of person., the owner boasted that he is her guy and will try to protect her. it was absolutely undignified. we moved from there by 9 to some other hotel, anyhow they did give back refund because i would have reported to the police probably. very bad experience with kids. also pls note the location is terrible , in middle of low income housing , no fun walking around, u will have to come to white town in an auto for a good meal or even a coffee. the rooms are shabby. paint coming off, and smelling moist. you will get much much better places in white town, closer to ashram, to restaurants , everything at same price. choose wisely. SWAPNIL SHARMA chandigarh
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Siddarth S, Owner at Kariappa House
Responded 23 Jan 2022
These are the kind of guests we DO NOT WANT TO HAVE EVER AT KARIAPPA HOUSE. We clearly explained the situation to them and yet they created an ugly scene despite the fact that we refunded in full. Due to COVID we had several rooms to sanitise and re allocate and the least one expects is decent behaviour in difficult times. It is unfortunate but in our line of business we do encounter some such people. Our so called “gatekeeper” is our trusted family caretaker who has been with us for 30years and he is extremely nice to good people but can be protective of us when challenged by bad behaviour. Please do not book to stay with us if you do not have compassion and empathy for difficult situations. Also, people should realise that one biased review is not going to change all the good ones that we already have viz the location and quality of our rooms.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaUnion Territory of PondicherryPondicherry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kariappa House
Which popular attractions are close to Kariappa House?
Nearby attractions include Ma Pondy Cherie (1.0 km), Sri Aurobindo Ashram (1.1 km), and Kriti Eco Boutique (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kariappa House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Kariappa House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kariappa House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kariappa House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shyama's Kitchen, Maison Perumal Restaurant, and The Smoothie Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kariappa House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Kariappa House have airport transportation?
Yes, Kariappa House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Kariappa House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vedapureeswarar Temple, Puducherry (2.3 km), Arikamedu Archaeological Site (5.3 km), and Church Of Our Lady Of Good Health (3.9 km).
Is Kariappa House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.