We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

L'Escale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a day with Family. The rooms are tastefully done and the place is located on a pretty french street right across the promenade. However, it is by no means a full fledged hotel/resort. No inverter during power cuts (went during heavy rains and hence no power), breakfast ain't complementary and wasn't particularly happy with the bathrooms.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sapna P
lescale, Owner at L'Escale, responded to this review

Hello Sapna and Family Yes we are not a Fully fledged hotel resort .We are a 7 bedroom Bed & Breakfast with french continental flavors,If you are looking for a hotel resort L escale is not the place . We have many Nationals/ Foreigners coming to l esclae as Familys who enjoy the experiences at l escale and we do... More 

Chennai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

First thing (MOST IMPORTANT) never book through agoda website or other online site for this place. Call them directly and u get the best price and avoids a lot of confusion. We spent a weekend there and took two rooms (one deluxe and one budget room). The budget room bathroom had no door (They claim it is french style) but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Navin-travelog
lescale, Owner at L'Escale, responded to this review

Hello to you all Yes i do agree booking direct with us is a better option and i am sorry you had paid more than what you should have as you booked with agoda but i realy did try and arrange your bill the best i could but this is irritating i know WE do have rooms that have a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place was so peaceful, very simple and homely. Being only a 10 minute walk from the closest beach, it was convenient too. The terrace was perfect for sunrise photography with an open view of the eastward facing beach. The charges for the room were really affordable too but food was on the higher side (the only reason this didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank marcus r
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

sweet little bed and breakfast, centrally located near the sea and walking distance to good restaurants. Some rooms are bigger but there is construction going on that I think might block view and light of the bedrooms on the sea side. The bedrooms on the street side are a little smaller but have a balcony. We had 2 rooms on... More 

Helpful?
Thank martha321
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When inquired, we were told by the staff that our bathroom (1st floor room) had no door since it is French styled! Whom are you fooling Sir? I have stayed in Paris and Nice and did not find any such features. We have NOT been informed about this, otherwise we won't have booked. However, we did not want to ruin... More 

Helpful?
Thank Avik B
nicholas7777, Owner at L'Escale, responded to this review

Hello Avick First of all i am sorry if your stay at l escale was not what you where expecting As the owner of l esclae is it important for me that guests have a good holiday and it makes me sad when they are not happy I agree staff saying this is a French style seems a bit strange... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Its a very small hotel but very conveniently located near the bay area and lots of good dining places. this place only serves breakfast which is sumptuous and the marmalade and jams are homemade and they are to die for. They serve this local blend of coffee which is just perfect for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank amit k
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2016

After reading many reviews on TRIP ADVISOR , we finally decided to have our visit at L'Escale which is being taken care by UK CITIZEN and is very well maintained. Rooms are decent with attached washrooms. Guest house is in the heart of PONDICHERRY, White town, french colony all in walking distance. Terrace restaurant is what attracts many tourists here.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aayush S
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Oh this place is perfect budget hotel! Its clean, pretty and the best thing is each too has its own unique decor. We did not eat at the hotel I think BF was available but we had opted out... A perfect place wit a hint of Frenchness to it

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia_Upadhyaya
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Stayed here for a night. The rooms are huge and well kept. What I really loved about the place was the rooftop that they have. You sit their at night, it's windy, you see a bit of the sea. It has a tiny kitchenette that you can use to make Maggi or likes and spend a nice time with family... More 

Helpful?
Thank NainaT
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This was our second trip to Pondicherry and we decided to stay again at L'Escale because it's a great location. The rooms are reasonably sized and well maintained. The biggest advantage of the place is the rooftop from where watching the promenade is worth all the money. We spent our early mornings and late nights on the rooftop just for... More 

Helpful?
Thank nishitd

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.9 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#10 of 72 in Pondicherry
994 reviews
1.5 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
0.3 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 72 in Pondicherry
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#4 of 72 in Pondicherry
530 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#11 of 72 in Pondicherry
411 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#18 of 72 in Pondicherry
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
L'Escale boutique hotel / guest house is a refurbished building situated in the heart of the colonial French quarters. Stepping outside the L'Escale boutique hotel / guest house, you will be less than 100 m away from the beach promenade, making it ideal for a walk along the beach road during the evening. L'Escale boutique hotel / guest house compromises of 7 bedrooms with attached bathrooms and air conditioning. The guest house also comes with a terrace which has a magnificent view of the ocean and Pondicherry town. Breakfast is served in the terrace and the guests are welcome to utilize the terrace at any time during their stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'Escale

Address: 31 Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Price Range: ₹ 2,386 - ₹ 2,18,942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Escale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from L'Escale staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Penang Island, Malaysia
Chennai, India
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from L'Escale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevators in this hotel and only one room at ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Balcony rooms still better”
 of 5 bubbles 248aayushs, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the first & second floors.”
 of 5 bubbles Anusha_Singh, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The room on the top floor is excellent :) as it opens out into the breakfast area and the lounge above it.We loved the rooms with balcony”
  • View from breakfast area
  • The Lounge on the terrace has a lovely view
  • The room on the top floor
 of 5 bubbles mihikachaudhuri, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“None of the rooms give a view. No lift. But the terrace above the 3rd floor has a view to die for.”
 of 5 bubbles 361tejvirs, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay