We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tepanee Beach Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tepanee Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed at the Tenapee Beach Resort for seven nights late June. The rooms were appropriately spacious, clean, cooled quickly and bug-free. The hot water was sufficient and the soap/shampoo supplied by the resort plentiful. We were in a standalone cottage - very quiet at night. We appreciated the pleasant decor, large bed and more than ample drawers stowage areas.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank waltsam
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear waltsam, thank you very much for your detailed and kind review, which we are confident will help many of our future guests. We hope you will visit us again soon. Thanks and regards. More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Perfect place for some quiet and alone time. We love our room, the amazing view of the Malapascua sunset, and that "just us" feel of the resort. The staff were polite and unobtrusive. We will definitely stay at Tepanee in our next Malapascua visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank Cyndy F
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cyndy, thank you very much for your great review. We wait for you! Best regards. More 

manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, during checked in we were welcome with hot face towels and calamansi juices. We really appreciated it as we travelled for almost 6 hours from Cebu to Malapascua. The receptionist were kind and welcoming. Rooms are typical but the view of room 206 was so Amazing it's paradise 😀😀😀. We love everything about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Iamhunniedpooh
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Iamhunniedpooh, thank you very much. We hope you will visit us again soon. Thanks and regards. More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

There is a very loud and continous construction work going on in this hotel right now. If you are looking for a calm place to chill for your vacation this place is the most terrible choice right now because you can not escape from the construction sound. They do not give you any information about this during check-in either. Super... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank EnginErtopcu
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Engin Ertopcu, thank you very much for your review, ut we are very surprised in what you have written. Your original reservation was for two days, if you had so many problems staying with us, why did you extend it? If your choice has been the most terrible, why didn't you ask in the reception to check-out in... More 

Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Our visit to Tepanee Beach Resort on Malapascua Island (30 minute ferry ride from Maya on the main Cebu island) was perfect in every way. My best friend and I came for 4 days and were wildly impressed with the hotel's concierge/staff friendliness, room cleanliness, luxury private beach, and 2 restaurants (both at the beach and a nicer restaurant above... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Tory S
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Toni, thank you very much for your great comments. All our staff is very pleased to make our guests happy and when we are able to do it we are very proud. We hope you will be back soon. Thanks and regards. More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Asked the hotel staff to arrange airport from / to Cebu airport. It took us around 3 hours to arrive the pier followed by another 45 mins boat transfer to really get to the island. But trust me this is totally worth it! Walked for 10 mins after got off the boat, the boat staff will help you carry the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Gloson
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gloson, thank you very uch for your great comments. We hope you will come soon again here. Thanks and regards. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Tepanee Resort was a fantastic distance away from our dive centre and very convenient. Lovely location with a spectacular view to wake up to. The room is very clean and spacious. Staff were very friendly and accommodated our requests. We were glad to have a pretty room to come back to after a long day of diving and being in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Manju_Manoharan
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Manju_Manoharan, thank you very much for your great comments. We hope you will be back to Tepanee soon. Best regards. More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Always a joy to come back to this beautiful resort to rest after a tiring day of diving with the threshers. Love the surroundings, love the architecture, love it that the owner takes so much pride in making everything good for all his guests.

Helpful?
3 Thank ScubaDy
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear ScubaDy, thank you very much for your great review. We hope you will be back to Tepanee soon. Best regards. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Absolutely suggest this resort!! The booking process was extremely smooth. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed and brought in our room. What can I say, go for the deluxe room if you can! It is SO worth it!!!! Waking up in the morning and seeing the water in front of you from your bed is priceless! We booked... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chiara L
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chiara, thank you very much for your great comments, which will be helpful for our future guests as well as for us to understand if Tepanee and our services are good. We hope you will visit us soon again. Thanks and regards. More 

Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Tepanee is located on a hilly slope thus giving you a birds eye view of the of the sea and surrounding area. They have a private beach. The rooms are above average with air cond and fan. As the water is filtered from the sea, it is a bit salty. You need to buy and drink bottle water. Water is... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelBugMalaysia
TepaneeBeachResort, Direttore at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear TravelBugMalaysia, thanks for your good review. We hope to welcome you again at Tepanee soon. Best regards. More 

668 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (418)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (169)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
169.2 km away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
351 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
350 reviews
115.2 km away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 86 in Cebu City
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
137 reviews
0.7 km away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
84 reviews
230.1 km away
Eden Resort
Eden Resort
#1 of 1 in Oslob
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon Beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito Bar & Restaurant. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan Bar & Restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two stories with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: 6 Deluxe cottages: six independent cottages with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wood furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, wifi. 9 Superior cottages: nine independent cottages with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wood furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, wifi. Some Superior cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some the garden view. 10 Standard rooms: ten rooms together in two different buildings of two stories: five rooms upstairs and three downstairs are double (queen sized bed), two rooms downstairs have two single beds each. All the rooms have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wood furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, wifi, garden view. 4 Budget rooms: four rooms together in two different buildings of two stories: all the rooms are downstairs; three rooms are double (queen sized bed); one room has two single beds and all have private entrance, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, balcony with sofa, daily cleaning, bamboo and wood furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, wifi; no aircon, minibar and hot shower. All the rooms have the garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito at Sunset Beach Bar & Restaurant, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan Bar & Restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 2:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. Silvia is a scuba diving instructor: during your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Address: 6013, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Price Range: ₹ 3,847 - ₹ 5,952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Tepanee Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tepanee Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Tepanee Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay a little extra for a room overlooking the water with views of the water, island, and sunsets.... well worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles DesertDog64, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Garden view rooms are great however ocean view rooms are exceptional!”
 of 5 bubbles V2208NCjohnj, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the small cottage, nice and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles CoxDannyJ, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“closer to the beach shack will get you a stronger wi-fi signal”
 of 5 bubbles slugworth, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for what you want - quiet, view, close to the beach, etc.”
 of 5 bubbles waltsam, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay