We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Carmel By The Sea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carmel By The Sea
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carmel By The Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Four of us stayed at Carmel By The Sea for three nights. We had booked a 3 bedroom apartment. On arrival we discovered we had been upgraded to a 3 bedroom sub-penthouse and the views and space were just incredible, with only two apartments on the entire floor. We had two living spaces, massive kitchen and an unbelievable amount of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chowlett2016
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Carmel by the Sea. I'm pleased you enjoyed the upgrade to the sub-penthouse apartment. They are a unique apartment type with very few of this calibre available for holiday renting. We are very happy to have been able to provide you with this experience and we look forward to...

Sydney
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We have been holidaying as a family on the Gold Coast for 30 years and have settled on Carmel by the Sea as the perfect location having stayed here six times. Directly across the road from a patrolled beach all rooms above the 6th floor have perfect ocean views. The property is expertly maintained with great pool BBQ area, gym,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OliDaze
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Carmel by the Sea... And thank you for your continued loyalty! It is such a wonderful feeling knowing we have been able to continually meet (and exceed!) your expectations over and over again. We do take great pride in our property and our groundsmen do an expert job of caring for the facilities and...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2016

This was our 3rd trip and our 3 bedroom apartment was perfect, clean and tidy as per previous trips. New management provided excellent service extremely helpful and accommodating. There was nothing we needed fantastic location we where able to walk everywhere we wanted to go or very cheap Taxi's home from the Casino.Would highly recommend Carmel by the Sea we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Hi Liz - thank you for your kind review of Carmel by the Sea. It's lovely to hear that you all enjoyed your time with us again. We always do our best to provide whatever it is our guests need and for those loyal guests like yourself, we're more than happy to go the extra mile...not that your group needed...

Moree, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Very comfortable, spacious and well appointed suite. Fantastic ocean views. Great facilities never seemed like there was a crowd around you. Plenty of room for 5 without being under each others feet (3 bed suite). Great location for convenience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Carmel by the Sea. The three bedroom suites are a very special apartment and I'm really glad that you found yours to be spacious enough for your group to spread out. We really are lucky that with such big grounds, and plentiful facilities the resort never feels crowded - even when we're fully...

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2016

A quick family trip to the Gold Coast for an event at the casino but did not want to stay there - chose Carmel by the Sea at Broadbeach and could not have been happier with our decision. A five minute walk to Broadbeach shopping and restaurant district; the beach and parks are right across the road and getting to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn H
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Hi Bronwyn. Thank you for taking the time to review Carmel by the Sea. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We do have a very convenient location and the building has been well designed to maximise our proximity to the beach so that even the lower levels have ocean views. Furthermore, we are close enough to...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We are regular visitors to the Gold Coast and I'm disappointed to say that Carmel By the Sea didn't live up to our expectations. We were amazed by the number of rules -- at every turn there are a set of rules on the walls - no surfboards in the lift, which for a beachside apartment made life very difficult,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison R
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Hi Allison. Thank you for sharing your experience of Carmel by the Sea. I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed. The "rules" displayed around the property are actually in place to safeguard our holiday guests rather than permanent residents and all serve an important purpose. Surfboards have caused damage in the elevators to both the structure and other...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015

To be fair, I can't comment on the our stay because we haven't stayed, and won't be staying. My brother has been doing some research to come and stay near us at Broadbeach (he is coming up for a month with family) and asked could I just go an inspect an apartment at Carmel By The Sea, literally 2 blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank priv8eye
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for raising the issue of why you were unable to view an apartment for your brother at Carmel by the Sea. I do hope he was able to find somewhere that suited him for his vacation. Unfortunately during peak season, we are not always able to display apartments as our occupancy rates are very high. We also do...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 13 December 2015

No staff at check-in made things a bit difficult, particularly if arriving after 4pm. The "free" Wi-Fi is limited to 8 hours. The apartment isn't serviced during your stay. Take your own towels to the pool and gym.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_travelling
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Hi Jonathon. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Carmel by the Sea. I'm sorry to hear you had difficulty using the after hours arrival service. You are always welcome to call the resort number as our onsite manager is always available to provide assistance. Yes the complimentary Wifi is provided for 8 hours of access...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Visiting from interstate with my wife and grandson for his 13th birthday and arriving in the dark, after hours was not a positive experience. Carmel by the Sea was not lit up and had no identifying signage. After finding it, the after hours check in process then learning how to access the lifts added to our frustration. Once in our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter W
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Hi Peter. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Carmel by the Sea. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to hear you had a difficult time finding the building. As we are located on the corner of George Avenue and Old Burleigh Road the property takes up the whole front of the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2015

put on 5th floor after asking for ocean views, had to ask for cleaner to come in and clean the kitchen and floors (food on plates, carpets actually need steam cleaning). Shower screens have build up of mould. Jackhammering on the floor below ruined the peace of one day. water disruptions were an inconvenience for two days. Cannot believe they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
Gary F, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review

Hi Leanne. Thank you for taking the time to review Carmel by the Sea. I'm so sorry to hear you didn't thoroughly enjoy your stay. I understand the cleaning staff had missed some aspects of the service in your apartment and these were attended to when brought to our notice. It is always our aim to provide a clean apartment...

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.4 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.3 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,412 reviews
0.4 km away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
810 reviews
1.4 km away
Oceana on Broadbeach
Oceana on Broadbeach
#5 of 21 in Broadbeach
380 reviews
0.5 km away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carmel by The Sea is ideally located at 177 Old Burleigh Road in Broadbeach and is directly opposite the iconic golden sands of the Gold Coast’s favourite beach. This highrise apartment building boasts excellent facilities and spacious, modern apartments. The building was designed with views in mind with all apartments enjoying an ocean aspect. From this ideal vantage point, Carmel by the Sea apartments have spectacular views of the ocean and the Hinterland. This resort features comprehensive facilities including not one, but two swimming pools. The sparkling outdoor swimming pool is ideal for lap swimming and has a separate wading pool to entertain children. A large tiled area with sun lounges and umbrellas surrounds the pool area and the BBQ area with hot plates and cooking facilities, tables and chairs is located just adjacent. Beautifully landscaped tropical gardens surround the pool and BBQ area making this area a serene retreat from the hustle and bustle. The indoor heated swimming pool is perfect for all seasons and weather. It is accompanied by a spa, steam room, and sauna creating the perfect place to unwind and relax. For the fitness fanatics there is a fully equipped Gymnasium and a full size Tennis Court. There are also plenty of cycling and walking paths across the road along the stunning Broadbeach beachfront and parklands. Carmel by the Sea apartments are all fully self-contained, individually styled and feature spectacular views. The one, two and three bedroom apartments provide spacious living areas and balconies and all have a large two person in-room spa. All apartments are air conditioned for your comfort and have ceiling fans, opening windows and large private balconies (excluding One bedroom Executive). For the discerning guest looking to enjoy the best there is to offer the suites and sub-penthouses provide even more luxury, space and maximise the beautiful views. Located on the upper levels of the building, these apartments have absolutely spectacular views of the ocean and Hinterland. These luxury apartments feature large modern Kitchens, Laundries, two Bathrooms with separate showers and bath, spacious bedrooms with walk-in robes and large balconies. At Carmel by the Sea all of our apartments have large screen television sets with Foxtel, free Wifi (restrictions apply), hairdryers, full kitchen facilities (e.g. tea and coffee making facilities, full size refrigerators, and dishwashers), and full laundry facilities (e.g. washing machines, clothes driers and ironing board and iron). Our reception staff offer a tour desk facility and are fully equipped to assist you to book many local attractions such as theme parks, cruises and tours. Carmel by the Sea has close proximity to Broadbeach Mall, Oasis Shopping Centre, Kurrawa Surf Club, supermarkets, cafes and restaurants, nightclubs and bars. Likewise, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre, Jupiters Casino and Gold Coast Exhibition and Convention Centre are all within walking distance of our front doors. Extensive parklands fringe the beachfront adjacent to Carmel by The Sea. This provides huge open spaces for picnicking, cycling and walking tracks, children’s playgrounds, BBQs and the weekend Arts & Crafts Markets. The nearby patrolled beaches with flags and lifesavers are perfect for a swim, bodyboard or surf all year round. Broadbeach offers regular and reliable public transport with bus services and the Light Rail system departing from the Gold Coast Highway. Of course if you prefer to drive, each apartment has a designated car space in the secure underground garage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carmel By The Sea

Address: 177 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Price Range: ₹ 9,837 - ₹ 18,444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carmel By The Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel By The Sea Hotel Broadbeach
Carmel By The Sea Broadbeach
Carmel By The Sea Gold Coast, South Pacific - Broadbeach
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carmel By The Sea staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Launceston, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Carmel By The Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to many restaurants/bars/shopping/surf/casino”
 of 5 bubbles Londonbitter, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High up, beachfront”
 of 5 bubbles Peter11Melbourne, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were on 7th floor facing south/east with views to Tweed Heads and of the beachfront.”
 of 5 bubbles K8364IKcarolh, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the northern end have views somewhat blocked by apartment block next door, but still have views of beach”
 of 5 bubbles Shelle11, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Best views”
 of 5 bubbles pwandjs, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5