We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ty Morgan\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We used Ty Morgan's as a base for walking (there are many circular walks starting and finishing at Rhayader). The double room was clean, comfortable and well maintained as was the entire establishment. We ate at the bistro for 2 of our 3 nights in town (the one evening we didn't the food was awful and we regretted not eating...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ian M
Cornwall
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We arrived here after a very hot day on the Wye Valley walk and were greeted with the news that we had to pay £90 for our room. This took us by surprise as all our walking holidays are booked through Celtic Trails who organise, and pay for, all our accommodation. We have walked well over 1,000 miles with this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rands9
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Hello, Apologises about the confusion when you checked in with us, as the payment hadn't been taken our policy is normally for payment on arrival as there were no card details so this is why you were asked to pay on arrival. Ty Morgans is located on a crossroads which unfortunately traffic is out of our control but we do...

Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Unfortunately I booked a superior double room for myself the morning of my arrival through booking.com. Upon arrival there was some concernes about my booking but it was found on their system. Was taken outside and around the corner as it was easier to access the room through a separate door to be shown a twin room which was cold...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gwyndaf P
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

I am disappointed to have had this review left as when you were shown to your room it was explained to you that the room had been left as a twin due to having more than 3 double rooms available after housekeeping had left it was ok to be left as a twin but we did fill all of these...

Coventry
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

A great base for exploring the stunning Elan Valley. Our room was gorgeous with a seperate TV area on the balcony upstairs, jacuzzi bath for total relaxation and homemade biscuits upon arrival were a lovely touch too. Can be a little noisy from traffic on the main road outside but after a bottle of wine over dinner this didn't bother...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leanne C
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! yes unfortunately we are on a crossroads but w are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Had a really good meal at the Bistro. Food was served very quickly in lovely surroundings and was extremely tasty. Extremely friendly staff. The proprietor was only too pleased to show us two or three rooms (above Bistro) which were all excellently appointed. We shall definitely look at booking one of them on our next visit to the Elan Valley.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheila_bagnall
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Northwich
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This little hotel is quite quaint, being converted from a house I assume. For a small place it offers the complete package with a nice bistro and a cosy bar. My room was comfortable and clean, although the bathroom was small. This is perhaps because it was on the top floor, close to the roof. The staff are friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonessb1
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, yes the bathrooms on the top floor are smaller as they are so high up in the roof but look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We were travelling up to see family in mid Wales and decided on Rheiadr as a stop for lunch. I have always fancied ty morgans when passing on previous journeys so decided to have our lunch here. There was plenty of choice on the lunch menu. Two decided on the scampi and when we ordered we were informed that this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarah W
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to have had this review as our Tuesday Special is a meal and pudding for £5 which is explained when ordering it is a smaller portion as our main meals on the menu are over £6. If you were unhappy with your meal then we could have sorted this issue out on the day instead of...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent service, food, lovely clean place, advice to book for Sunday lunch, do 2 course offers, staff well trained work hard, very efficient and friendly. Modern interior, quite a few seats and a few tables out in the back garden, which is quite small

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Issyrich
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, yes Sunday lunch is very popular so would always recommend booking a table in advance. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

What a great find. We were just passing through Rhayader and decided to stop for some lunch. Special was a lamb dinner and dessert for £5. Excellent value, good size portions and a really tasty lunch. Lovely dessert as well. Well worth a try. Would love to try their evening menu.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ceri T
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, All comments will be passed onto the chef and staff. We do hope to see you again soon.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We have returned from a two night stay at Ty Morgan and although it's probably the best hotel in the village it's not quite up to their 4 star rating. As soon we arrived we stood around in the bar until a young lady could pull herself away from chatting up a few customers and were immediately as to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tucdaway
Ty M, Manager at Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, i am very disappointed to hear this review as this is not how staff are trained to chat up customers. Yes payment is to be taken on arrival in the past we have left it until check out and the guests have already gone early and provided a fake card, but if you were to...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhayader
0.2 km away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
81 reviews
11.2 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,208 reviews
0.3 km away
The Elan Hotel
The Elan Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rhayader
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
#5 of 13 in Rhayader
80 reviews
0.3 km away
Penralley House
Penralley House
#1 of 13 in Rhayader
218 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bear
The Bear
#3 of 13 in Rhayader
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ty Morgans is situated in the centre of the Beautiful market town of Rhayader. This brand new development has all its rooms individually designed by an interior designer and has recently been awarded its 4 star status. We have our own Strand Bistro, Morgans Evening Restaurant and Coffee/Sandwich Shop. Rhayader makes a location for touring mid wales with the stunning Elan Valley Dams and the beautiful Wye Valley ideal for walking, cycling, birdwatching and fishing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms

Address: East Street, Rhayader LD6 5BH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Rhayader
Price Range: ₹ 4,206 - ₹ 7,655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Morgan`s Bar-Bistro-Rooms Hotel Rhayader
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ty Morgan's Bar-Bistro-Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can't speak for the other rooms but definitely avoid Room 3 if you want some peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Mutchisman, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 was lovely but was on the front so could be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles SteveW101Cornwall, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid anything overlooking South Street.”
 of 5 bubbles Rands9, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 9”
 of 5 bubbles 550gwyndafp, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You couldn't park outside across road was parking for an hour handy for unpacking and packing car”
 of 5 bubbles M7808YEkarenb, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay