We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Save
Share
Preston New Road, Samlesbury PR5 0UJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$84
View deal
Booking.com
FindHotel
$65
View deal
Hotels.com$84
Priceline$84
Lol.travel$88
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (241)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (40)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Samlesbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With stunning views over the beautiful River Ribble, yet conveniently close to Preston town centre and the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel has an ideal location. Following a £0.5 million refurbishment, the hotel has just introduced a beautiful new Riverside Bar and Lounge where you can relax and enjoy a beverage from our new Costa Coffee. Join us at the new Scottish Steak Club where imaginatively reworked Scottish favourites are passionately prepared by our world class chefs, using only the finest and freshest produce.In addition a number of our bedrooms are being re-decorated from top to bottom including beautiful new bathrooms and soft furnishings. The hotel has also retained many traditional features, such as wood beams in our restaurant and an open plan lounge, creating a warm and welcoming ambience.Macdonald Tickled Trout is always a popular meetings venue due to our convenient location, well-equipped conference suites and extensive onsite parking. Alternatively, our riverside terrace is the ideal place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends or relax with a pre dinner drink as you take in the views. Guests can enjoy our delicious food and drink and then relax in contemporary en suite accommodation, whilst our versitile function rooms are perfect for weddings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
1932Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 633
  • 642
  • 348
  • 174
  • 135
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mcfraser wrote a review 19 Sep
Edinburgh, United Kingdom4 contributions
We stayed here for one night with our toddler en route from Edinburgh to Cornwall. Unfortunately, we were hugely disappointed. We'd been recommended the hotel as a family-friendly option and had seen it shared on various parent forums. We would NOT stay there again. Pros: - Location - very easy to find it off the motorway, - Green area - nice river around the back, despite basically being part of a service station - One helpful staff member assisted me (a pregnant woman) with two heavy suitcases and the lift Cons - - A lot of small details just weren't working. E.g., the wheelchair button to open the door was broken - this made it hard to manhandle two massive cases up a sloping walkway. There was meant to be drinking water on tap on our floor, but it wasn't working. - For some reason the hotel catered to 2 people despite our having a family room - i.e., 2 glasses, 2 towels, etc. We needed to call for more towels, call for a bathmat, etc. Why? - The room was so hot at night that we weren't able to sleep. not sure why when the heating wasn't on - but we had seen this in past reviews, too. - No overhead lights in the bedroom meant that the room often felt dark despite all the lights being on. - The biggest disappointment, though, was the restaurant. Don't eat here. For what we got, it was hugely overpriced (and not tasty), the service was very poor (and we had to chase the servers who had forgotten things), there was no family menu (despite it being ostensibly a family friendly venue), the menu didn't have various items (despite our checking ahead of time that they did). And although it was a cavernously vast restaurant - easily 100 tables - we still had to book (and had to do this via the restaurant, not the reception - why?!), and the service was still slow. No music, no atmosphere, really flat experience. Also, despite reserving for 3 people, they only laid the table for 2 - just like the room1 Really poor, Macdonald hotel. This was a big disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that the room was set for two people even though you had a toddler with you. I do hope the team were able to get the extra towel and mug to you quickly when they became of this as we can appreciate how frustrating it must have been to not have them readily available. We are very sorry that this mistake happened. We do ask our guests to book a time slot in the restaurant to control the flow of orders going through the kitchen. Even if the restaurant appears empty to some guests, we could have a private function in the function suites or numerous room service orders which can all impact the speed of delivery of the food to our guests. The booking system helps to manage this as best we can so we can ultimately serve more people and we can only apologize that having to book a place caused you such inconvenience. We do discuss all reviews we receive as a means to identify areas for improvement so we will certainly look at the issues you raised. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
georger572018 wrote a review 18 Sep
Glasgow, United Kingdom236 contributions109 helpful votes
Nice hotel in a very accessible location adjacent to the motorway.. Relatively central to explore the delights of Lancashire. Nice comfy bed in a spacious room. Friendly efficient staff. Good breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Riverside view room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay throughout and enjoyed your breakfast. We will let the departmental teams know that they were all able to deliver a great service for you. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff G wrote a review 10 Sep
United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Such a lovely hotel situated on the banks of the river and with such welcoming helpful and pleasant staff. Dog and human friendly !!!! Good breakfast and dinner and the staff clearly enjoyed their work. Definitely coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel. We are very glad to hear that all aspects of your stay were to your liking and we will certainly let our team know that their effort were noted. Many thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyn B wrote a review 7 Sep
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Quite frankly we do not know where to start, If I could I would give ZERO stars The only redeeming feature for this hotel (calling it a hotel is a joke) is that it is very close to the M6 making it a perfect stop off on a long journey. The whole place smells of damp really smells it's quite over powering in both the basement corridors & our executive rooms bathroom. How could you possibly call this an executive room, the carpet was minging, the only soft seat chair looked like it was 50 years old which contained so much grime who knows what it had been used for previously. There was a bedside table missing, the furniture looked as if it was from the 1960's. As for the bathroom ZERO ventilation, mould all around the bath & basin, the shower had been leaking meaning the bath side panel was rotten, AND stains on the ceiling clearly from the room above leaking. The food was dire, served in dirty dark unattractive rooms. The night we arrived we went along to the restaurant NO one was seated & we asked for a table - the rude waiter said have you booked, I said no and was told to return to reception to book a table. Talk about jobs worth this attitude was beyond a joke. I wish we had gone by our instincts and ventured to a local pub. We sat down & we're given a fairly extensive menu but then told the chef was off, and only burgers & fish & chips could be served. Our food arrived it was passable BUT very expensive for what it was. The drinks prices were extortionate. At best it was Wimpy standard, but The Ivy prices. We heard other people complain about the poor choice of food available. The breakfast was poor, very slow service by people who clearly did not want to be there, why is this served in the darkest room in the hotel. Perhaps so you can not see how dire the whole experience is ?? All in all it is fair to say we will NEVER return. This place should be demolished and a new hotel built on site. Why are MacDonald hotel group management not aware that this hotel does not do their reputation any good? Xxxxxxxxx 33333 Reviewed 3 days ago Quite possibly the worst place we have ever stayed !! Quite frankly we do not know where to start, The only redeeming feature for this hotel (calling it a hotel is a joke) is that it is very close to the M6 making it a perfect stop off on a long journey. The whole place smells of damp really smells it's quite over powering in both the basement corridors & our executive rooms bathroom. How could you possibly call this an executive room, the carpet was minging, the only soft seat chair looked like it was 50 years old which contained so much grime who knows what it had been used for previously. There was a bedside table missing, the furniture looked as if it was from the 1960's. As for the bathroom ZERO ventilation, mould all around the bath & basin, the shower had been leaking meaning the bath side panel was rotten, AND stains on the ceiling clearly from the room above leaking. The food was dire, in dirty dark unattractive rooms. The night we arrived we went along to the restaurant NO one was seated & we asked for a table - the rude waiter said have you booked, I said no and was told to return to reception to book a table. Talk about jobs worth this attitude was beyond a joke. I wish we had gone by our instincts and ventured to a local pub. We sat down & we're given a fairly extensive menu but then told the chef was off, and only burgers & fish & chips could be served. Our food arrived it was passable BUT very expensive for what it was. The drinks prices were extortionate. At best it was Wimpy standard, but The Ivy prices. We heard other people complain about the poor choice of food available. The breakfast was poor, very slow service by people who clearly did not want to be there, why is this served in the darkest room in the hotel. Perhaps so you can not see how dire the whole experience is ?? All in all it is fair to say we will NEVER return. This place should be demolished and a new hotel built on site. Why are MacDonald hotel group management not aware that this hotel does not do their reputation any good? We were staying one night (THANK GOONESS NO MORE) to break our journey back home. We were travelling home after having a wonderful faultless wedding down south. We were told by the bar staff that this venue was popular for weddings - I could not think of a WORST place for my wedding and certainly would have cried buckets if this hotel had hosted such a special and important day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with the hotel and felt obliged to stay even though we were clearly not the venue for you. We do host functions here and the people choosing to have their function here do of course visit us in the first instance to make sure the property is suitable for them. We all hope you had a very safe journey home and find a property more suitable to you needs the next time you are travelling. Many thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grant D wrote a review 6 Sep
Farnborough, United Kingdom1 contribution
Once we sorted out an issue with the room price - they tried charging £34 over the going rate - we happily trooped along to room 109. Nice room, comfy bed, clean bathroom - all that it should be. We always enjoy eating in the bar overlooking the river and this time was no different. The trainee manager on duty was really helpful and considering how short staffed they were made us feel really welcome. Speaking to other guests there were a lot of complaints about having to wait too long for food orders to be taken and drinks to be served but we never found that to be the case.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Only book using the MacDonald website. Do not use third party sites as the quality of room is a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I am sorry that the decor within the hotel was not your liking. Our websites do detail current images of our hotel and public areas so guests can be fully informed before they book with us. We will of course speak to all team members about the expected service levels whilst on duty. Many thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigeria wrote a review 1 Sep
Lagos, Nigeria4 contributions1 helpful vote
Staff are very nice , , room was clean and tidy , , but quite hot , , just heard at breakfast other people saying there rooms were hot, , , , , dinner had a hair in it , but still made it pay full price , , paying at the bar , the barman wasn't interested , even though I said to him , , breakfast , , no almond or oat milk , , there was a small amount of ham , cheese , etc , , the cooked breakfast was very average ,
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for you review. I am sorry you found your room hot, we do provide fans for the comfort of our guests when the weather outside is hot. At breakfast we do have alternative milks. We have Soya and Almond and can get Oak milk from our suppliers if we know in advance that a customer specifically wants this type of milk so we can only apologise that we did not have oat milk available for you. After speaking with the restaurant supervisor, he assures me that once you made him aware that you were unhappy with your food, he replaced the meal for you for a fresh option and this was the meal you were charged for. Of course we are deeply sorry that despite the staff being very nice and the room clean and tidy you were still disappointed with your stay experience. Kindest regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brandylady wrote a review Aug 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom1147 contributions387 helpful votes
Easy check in . Allocated our room - easy to find. Amazed it was so spacious with huge king size bed ,TV , standard lamp , table , easy chair and desk . Had tea and coffee making facilities,phone and a fan on the desk . Very comfy bed with good quality linen . Bathroom again spacious with sink in vanity unit ( plenty space to lay toiletries )a bath and a separate shower and toiletries provided with 2 bath and one hand sized towels . Excellent accommodation! Very good value for the ‘ room only ‘ basis which we had taken . However, be aware bar prices are very high as are the food prices - and very limited menu ( of which certain things ( eg fish and chips and chicken supreme burger ) were not even available ) we decided not to eat here and got food from the service station adjacent to it for us both for a fraction of the price for one dish on the menu . Also well noting : To add on breakfast was going to be £18 per person .(so we didn’t ! )
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: BYOB! As bar expensive!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review. I am sorry that our bar and menu prices left you feeling disappointed but we are glad that the local services were able to provide you with something you wanted. We do thank you for your positive review of our rooms and we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Best wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JCatto wrote a review Aug 2022
11 contributions12 helpful votes
Although the food in the hotel restaurant was good the service was awful. It was like I was invisible. I would have had a dessert and coffee but no body could be bothered to come and serve me. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest thank you for your review. As the vast majority of our food service team are new and experiencing their first employment opportunities I very much hope that this was a training issue which can be addressed in house via further guidance. Please be assured that if any team member cannot be bothered with our guests then the management will deal with this as a priority. I do thank you for your noting your food was nice. Many thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrstickytoffee wrote a review Aug 2022
Dunfermline, United Kingdom106 contributions82 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights for a local wedding the two boys on reception were very helpful and sorted us a nice room. The rooms on the bottom floor seem to be the best. We are in the restaurant one night and the service and food was good no complaints. Breakfast was tasty if I was ever passing the glorious town of Preston again I would not hesitate to stay at the tickled trout again. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel could do with a bit of an upgrade but it was certainly clean and comfortable and good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for providing us with a positive review of your recent stay. In the face of negativity it will do the team great to know that they are delivering a good level of service and can impact positively on a guest's experience. I am delighted to hear that you found us good value and would stay with us again. Many thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scheville wrote a review Aug 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom12 contributions10 helpful votes
This is my second visit as I work around the country. Staff all fine and very helpul, the room I had was 248 was very very tired and out dated to say the least. I chose to eat in the restaurant, what a mistake. I ordered pie, mash and peas. It was awful, the portion size was for a small child. The mash was so salty I couldnt eat it also the peas were like bullets. Such a complete rip off for £15/£16. I didnt pay for the meal after speaking with the waiter. Would i say here again NO!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from B Smith, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear that the mash was salty but glad our Duty Manager was able to deal with your issue on site. Again we are sorry if our Decor on the second time around left you feeling disappointed with your stay. We will certainly pass on your kind words about our team to them so they are aware that they were able to deliver a good level of service. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$71 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel macdonald tickled trout, macdonald tickled trout bamber bridge
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireSamlesbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary (7.0 km), The Bee Centre (6.6 km), and Wood-Sage Outdoor Education (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include All Hopes No Promises, Rise., and The Stags Head Goosnargh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Samlesbury Hall (4.5 km), Ladyewell (4.4 km), and Church Cottage Museum (6.6 km).