We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Cliffs Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Cliffs Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Cliffs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Stayed here with colleagues the night before a work event. A lovely quaint hotel in the middle of nowhere which was great. Fantastic beautiful old building. We all had dinner which was bang on pub grub. The staff were great, very helpful and accommodated our needs. The rooms were lovely, comfy bed, TV, good shower. All in all great hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I stayed with my husband and small dog for one night as we were travelling to France the next morning on an early ferry. The location is absolutely gorgeous. It is a lovely picture perfect village. The hotel itself was really surprising in a good way! We got a big room on the beer garden area so we literally opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsg3107
Bedford
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Stayed for 3 nights, got upgraded room a good size bathroom a little small though I'm 6ft 3 so could not get head under shower without ducking. But otherwise had a lovely stay staff were brill very helpful and polite nothing to much trouble. The hotel generally was great the bar area the dining room were lovely the outside space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BruceBedford
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed on a mid week coastal break, dinner bed and breakfast with our dog. Comfortable room and friendly staff who provided a useful map card for walks which which we followed. Lovely location. Food and service good. Really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DandK490
haverhill
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to France great location lovely garden and very friendly staff found it a bit expensive for drinks and food also only a limited contineltal breakfast could do with more meats and boiled eggs and it is very much serve yourself

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laurieHaverhill
London
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed just for one night on a work trip. The young front of house staff were affable and welcoming. Room was simply furnished with nice bits of original furniture and pictures, nothing corporate which makes a refreshing change. Extremely comfortable bed and all the amenities needed. Apart from soap in the bathroom which I'm sure they would have provided if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xanadustar
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks ever so much for your kind words. It's so lovely to hear that our happy young team are getting it right. Our life-long search for the perfect toaster will continue!

Shoreham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed for a 3 night long weekend and it was just right. Rooms are distributed in the main building and nearby annexes and everything is peace and quiet except for other visitors' kids! Food ok. An open and laid back bar area just right for chillin'.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy2trip
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

It's a beautiful thing when you guys see the positive side of what we do and make an effort to write lovely things about us. Great guests, you rock our world!

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

This Hotel has the feel of an old fashioned inn, the restaurant and bar areas are furnished in a cosy home from home style and very nice to chill out with a nice drink from their well stocked bar. I thought the menu was a little pricey at first but the quality of the food was excellent. The young team...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karensj1
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Super-handy review, thanks ever so much. The most important piece of the hotel jigsaw is the people that work in the place. Our happy team are a lovely bunch and it's great when you chaps give then them recognition that they heartily deserve. Also, thanks to your feedback we've seen to the bed in the 'Fossil' room and given the...

timoleague
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Our stay at this hotel was pleasantly managed by a disorganised establishment. The wifi promised didn't work, the tea service in the room came without milk and our booking was mislaid . When we arrived we were too that we hadn't made a reservation, which we were certain that we had. After a fifteen minute nail biting wait it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karenguapa
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

We all love to work together as a team to ensure our guests are really happy. We do have a very clever state of the art online reservation system and mistakes are few and far between. We urge all of our guests to use our own online booking page on our website for best available room rates. If you have...

London
Reviewed 22 July 2015

The water pressure was not strong enough for a shower. Damp on the wall in the bedroom and the bathroom (see photos). However, the place is charming and excells in other areas. I would most probably go back to this place if I was in the area. Got the cheapest room and went with low expectations. Was initally dissapointed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deric B
Walletts, Manager at The White Cliffs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your useful feedback. You may have read in a previous review that we have plumbing issues recently and it took a little while to find the leak. We also recently had a summer deluge of very heavy rain which caused some gutters and roof valleys to overflow into The Loft Apartment. This did leave some stained areas on...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Margaret's at Cliffe
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
4.8 km away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
4.5 km away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
823 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
9.2 km away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Cliffe Kitchen at The White Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffe Kitchen at The White Cliffs Hotel
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Cliffs Hotel is set in the heart of the picturesque village of St. Margaret's-at-Cliffe under a mile from the beautiful beach at St. Margaret's Bay in celebrated White Cliffs Country. This is the closest hotel in England to the coast of France at Calais 21 miles away and is just seven minutes drive from the port and Cruise Terminal at Dover. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Cliffs Hotel

Address: High Street, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover > St Margaret's at Cliffe
Price Range: ₹ 8,053 - ₹ 11,981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Cliffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, SpeedyBooker.com and Agoda so you can book your The White Cliffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Cliffs Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Santa Clarita, California

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The White Cliffs Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer the rooms in the main building, but the other rooms are ok, maybe prone to hearing noise from other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Mac_MoeSzyslak, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book early”
 of 5 bubbles geraldlee2016, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The newer annexe rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Cornwallgurl, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms are nicer, but outdoors (v short walk) so maybe not in winter!”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Perfect for dog owners but some rooms have windows that don't open so check”
 of 5 bubbles PandionWest, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5