We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ayr Road, Larkhall ML9 2TZ Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Hotels.com
$138
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Booking.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Priceline$153
Travelocity$138
Vio.com$138
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (197)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (25)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Radstone Hotel is a luxury hotel tucked away in rural Lanarkshire within the picturesque Clyde Valley. The spacious and unique hotel combines modern and eclectic styles, resulting in a dynamic atmosphere. Be impressed by the grand foyer, perfect for meeting your friends and colleagues whether for a relaxing coffee or special occasion. The Opal Restaurant offers the ultimate social and dining experience, with a varied menu to choose from. The hotel is complete with state of the art conference rooms and a Function Room - the largest in South Lanarkshire which can hold up to 350 guests or be split to accommodate less retaining the perfect atmosphere for your wedding, celebration or meeting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French
894Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 422
  • 234
  • 117
  • 65
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Beverege wrote a review Nov 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom50 contributions42 helpful votes
We had a 70th party at Tamla Mowtown night. Was a great experience. Reception was lovely and food great. Only place I had hot food in years. Can’t fault anything. We had a really nice room too. The alarms are very sensitive but can’t blame Hotel for that. Everyone there was having a lovely time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SpeedKingHighwayStar wrote a review Oct 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom19 contributions44 helpful votes
Visited with my wife. I had the beef stir fry from the specials menu. It was absolutely bang on. Think the dessert was also from the specials menu, we both had the crumble, though really one portion was big enough for two people. Thanks are due to the Chef and to Hannah and her team for a lovely meal. Luckily this place is local. Cheers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you on behalf of Hannah and Chef for your very kind words of praise posted onto TripAdvisor following your recent visit. I am delighted you had an enjoyable evening at the Radstone, and that your meal met with your satisfaction. I will pass your feedback onto the team and in the meantime, thank you once again for your loyal support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2pintsprick wrote a review Oct 2022
Lanark, United Kingdom95 contributions94 helpful votes
Sat for 15 minutes and had about 7/8 staff walk past us and ignore us even although the place was empty More interested in gossiping with each other We were not even offered a menu or drink Eventually just got up and left as they obviously couldn’t care less If I was there manager I’d be livid with staffs attitude and complete disregard for the service they are supposed to provide
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking to time provide your feedback following your recent visit to the Radstone Hotel. I am very concerned to read of your disappointment and the apparent failings which occurred on your visit. I would very much like the opportunity to investigate this further and ask kindly for you to make contact with me at the hotel. I'd be keen to know which date you visited and at what time. Please be assured that we strive on a daily basis to provide a high level of service, and the acknowledgment of our guests is normally our priority. It appears something has gone wrong on this occasion, and I most definitely wish to get to the bottom of these shortcomings. I am very sorry indeed for any inconvenience caused to you, but please know I am treating this seriously and do hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JVKERR wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked in to stay over as I was attending a wedding. Staff were friendly and polite. Seamless check in and out. Was grateful for the upgrade to the Azure suite, which was fantastic. Hotel is spotlessly clean and well decorated and rooms furnished to a high standard. It’s the first time I’ve been at Radstones and will certainly not be the last. Thanks again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you on behalf of my team for taking the time to provide us with a 5-star review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Radstone Hotel. I'm delighted to read that everything met with your satisfaction and my team were friendly and polite throughout. Please know that I will share your positive feedback with all my team members as I know they will appreciate hearing your kind words of praise. We certainly hope to see you return in the future, and until then please do not hesitate to get in touch if we can be of any further assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peardrop2014 wrote a review Sep 2022
Larkhall, United Kingdom11 contributions8 helpful votes
Dined out late afternoon for dad's birthday 10th September . We love the Opal and have had Christmas Dinner at the hotel on a few occiason's. We are lucky it is on our doorstep. The food is much better than it has been in a long time! so hat's off the the chef! However the bar staff I am afraid are a let down on it's repuation and could clearly do with a course in hospitality. Lack off attentiveness, poor attitutde general lack of interest in serving customers and in the absence of the manager around the bar staff show lack of profession surrounding conversations overhead. A let down on the ambiance. (Also note the server asked at the end of the table 'who's birthday is it?' Thanks! - the cake was meant to be a suprise!! We are going elsewhere for Christmas dinner this year and have made the right decision.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment following your recent family dinner at the Radstone Hotel. You have obviously experienced some short comings, in particular relating to service from the bar. Please accept my sincere apologies for this. I will aim to do better and give further training to my bar staff. The last thing I want is for any of my guests to go away unhappy, with the intention of not returning. I will personally work with my Restaurant Management team to make positive change so that there is no re-occurrence of poor bar service. We strive on a daily basis to provide a high level of service, so I am very sorry indeed for not following through on this occasion. Please be assured we will make positive change. Thank you for your positive words relating to the quality of our food, I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed this, so I ask kindly that you consider giving us a second chance at some point in the future. I am confident you won't be disappointed next time around. Should you wish to discuss your experience in greater detail, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarahjanescotland wrote a review Aug 2022
scotland7 contributions5 helpful votes
I brought a lady here for her 94th birthday for afternoon tea. Very disappointing. Tasteless sandwiches and tray bakes for cakes! Nothing tempting on the stand.The cheesecake was stuck to the plate and the couple of savouries were yellowing at the edges. Nothing like the picture on the web site. The waiter was very attentive. Wont be back, plenty of other good hotels in the area
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your visit for afternoon tea on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry indeed to hear of your disappointment on this occasion. We normally receive positive feedback in relation to this so I will investigate further to see where we have gone wrong. Please accept my apologies and should you wish to discuss your experience in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me and hopefully I can encourage you to return in the future where I will be confident you will not be disappointed. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
5vetlana wrote a review Aug 2022
Donetsk, Ukraine3 contributions
my family treated me to a birthday meal at the Redstone last night, but to say it was disappointing is an understatement, i had the lentil soup for starters, it was very bland and very thin, i then had the braised ribeye, it was so small it was hiding under the black pudding and so thin i couldn't stick my fork into it the veg looked like it was just thrown onto the plate, i would have been better and cheaper ordering a portion of black pudding because that's what i got, the sweet was a black forrest Sunday which was brought to us on a soup plate not a Sunday glass, it was a meal for 6 and wasn't cheap but the food looked and was presented like a truck stop café. This is the second time in a row i thought the first was an of night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Helvellyn2009 wrote a review Aug 2022
Morecambe, United Kingdom545 contributions116 helpful votes
Stayed here on Leger coach trip, as a tour, it was lovely! Lovely rooms, fab beds so comfy! Food was amazing, far exceed my expectations, so much choice and quality was excellent. Waiting staff did a great job looking after us too. Would certainly come back and stay here. So handy for touring the area and access to motorways and off the beaten track too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Loads parking, handy for Loch Lomond, Stirling, Glasgow, Edinburgh and so manY places within...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
On behalf of my team, thank you for taking the time to share the positive experience of your stay at the Radstone Hotel on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate receiving your praise and please know it was a pleasure for us to look after all of our Ledger guests when you stayed recently. Hopefully we will see you return next year, and until then please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mikewot wrote a review Aug 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom23 contributions23 helpful votes
Much bigger than you think, designed for parties and weddings. Spacious room, very modern but starting to show age on fixtures and fittings, seal at bottom of shower screen worn enough to let water onto floor. I thought it was very clean (chrome type switches are a nightmare to keep marks off) until I showered and notice lots of cobwebs in the corner of the ceiling above the door. Breakfast was hearty but poor quality, I suppose due to the number of coach parties and group bookings.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay at Radstone and for awarding us with a 4 star review. It does appear that on the whole you were satisfied with your stay however I am taking on board the points you have made in relation to cleanliness in the bathroom and the quality of breakfast. I will address these with my team and rectify the issues. Thank you for bringing these to my attention. We are embarking on a refurbishment program and have upgraded almost 20 of our bedrooms to a 4 star standard. As we approach the quieter months in the winter we will be continuing with this program. I do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future so that you can experience one of our upgraded rooms. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and in the meantime if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsCWW25 wrote a review Aug 2022
Ellon, United Kingdom231 contributions79 helpful votes
Stayed for 3 nights this week, on a short break with my niece and nephews. Was really impressed with the hotel. Very stylish throughout, reception area and restaurant were lovely. We stayed in Azure suite which was a great size with 2 separate rooms which worked well for us. Would have been good to have a fridge in room as it was so hot outside and cold drinks would have been handy in room We had breakfast everyday and there was a great variety to suit everyone. Also had dinner on 2 nights and again this was excellent. My nephew is coeliac and they had a good GF menu. He wolfed down the beef and chips followed by the chocolate cake! Huge thanks to Caitlin in the restaurant who was super friendly and gave us lots of tips for good places to visit with the kids locally. Great location for days out and not far into Glasgow city either, took 25 mins or so. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
On behalf of my team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share the positive experience of your stay at Radstone on TripAdvisor and for awarding us with a 5 star review. We very much appreciate your kind words of praise. I'm delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time and I have let Caitlin know that she has been specifically mentioned for her friendly service. I certainly hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future, and until then if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shawlands Park Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSouth LanarkshireLarkhall
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RADSTONE HOTEL (Larkhall) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Radstone Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Radstone Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gouldings Garden Centre (3.3 km), Chatelherault (6.1 km), and The Bubbles Factory (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Radstone Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Radstone Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Radstone Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Radstone Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Radstone Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beefeater Hamilton, Da Claudio, and John Carrigan's Eating House.
Does Radstone Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Radstone Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Radstone Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chatelherault (6.1 km) and Dalzell House (6.1 km).
Is Radstone Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.