We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 300: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Never stayed here before, it's good you can get room service and the food is good. Laundry on site. Room was clean and tidy, reception friendly . Though I must admit being shocked at the duty manager chewing gum in the morning and behaving like a fish out of water,,,,, apart from that all good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
London
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Spent two nights at the Copthorne. The layout is single storey accommodation set out around the swimming pool and inner grass area. All rooms have an outer door leading onto a small patio area but this could be poolside or into the car park. Our room was the carpark and the patio had no table and chairs and was dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monument
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Best Hotel in Masterton! Offers great service, clean n tidy rooms, cafe, activities for adults n kids at an affordable price! We visit it from time to time and have recommended it to our friends and family who visit as well. Perfect place to chillax with family!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank only1Voyager
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

Not such a great hotel if you are just a couple as there were kids everywhere but I can see it would be if you had kids. The rooms are varied, I would pay a but more and get an upgrade as the standard rooms aren't amazing for the price. The restaurant is way over priced for standard fare. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Varshee
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Lovely room and facilities however the spa pool was out of order, the air hockey was out of order and the wi-fi was sooo slow it was essentially out of order. I don't mind paying a bit more for a decent hotel but everything was rip-off expensive. From the $3 pool towel fee to the $27.50 per person breakfast (which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NZ-nick
Wellington
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and i stayed in a standard room on a package deal which included breakfast at 174.00 per night. At this price bracket i wasnt expecting too much as i have stayed over a decade ago and i knew the buffet breakfast was rather nice. Unfortunately the complex hasn't changed much and is really very dated,tired and a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janine45
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

I stayed here twice this year.. it is great for families with many activities for kids to enjoy. Breakfast has a wide variety.. Rooms are little run down.. havent changed much in years.. beds are not the best.. quite springy and bouncy. free wifi works well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Racheenz
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed the many facilities at the hotel, free wi-fi and the Buffet Breakfast. We have a refurbishment strategy in place for 2016 and hopefully you will see some changes upon your next visit. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope you will come and stay again.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Room was dirty, hand-prints on most glass surfaces. No bulbs in reading lamps and the worst part about it is the BEDS. They are not king sizes as advertised rather two single zipped together forming an spine the length of the bed. We removed the matrass cover to reveal a thirty year base and matrass that had the supportive qualities...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Timothy945
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Hi Timothy Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay and my apologies that you did not experience a relaxing time. The housekeeping staff did try to rectify the issue with a change of mattress however I understand you did not enjoy a quality nights sleep. Please be assured that your feedback has been...

Hanover, New Hampshire
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We stayed at the Copthorne for two nights on our way down south to Wellington and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The food at the restaurant is delicious and the hotel is located in easy distance to wineries, hiking the putangirau pinnacles, and visiting Cape Palliser. The main complaint I have is the asinine process to sign-up for wi-fi. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fan Z
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal in The Grill and found the hotel location convenient. Thank you for your feedback regarding the timing out and sign-in procedure for our Wi-Fi we will be talking to our provider on how we can improve this for our guests. We hope you...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

My partner and I enjoyed the hotel and felt it was worth the money we paid. The restaurant and cafe were great and we enjoyed the spa and indoor/outdoor pool facilities. I do feel however that the hotel is more family oriented. A family had a private bbq and smoked out our room which was a little frustrating but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gcsman
MichelleKirkpatrick, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities at the hotel including the Café and The Grill at Solway Park. Our apologies for the BBQ smoke and thank you for your understanding. We hope you will return and stay again in the future.

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masterton
19.0 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
161 reviews
1.8 km away
Cornwall Park Motel
Cornwall Park Motel
#1 of 11 in Masterton
110 reviews
0.4 km away
GateWay Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Highwayman Motel
Highwayman Motel
#5 of 11 in Masterton
64 reviews
0.1 km away
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
ASURE Masterton Motor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Masterton
70 reviews
1.8 km away
South Park Motel
South Park Motel
#2 of 11 in Masterton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park now holds a 4 Star Plus Qualmark rating and EnviroGold. Located in the heart of an internationally acclaimed wine region, the resort is set in 10 hectares of landscaped grounds & native bush on the outskirts of Masterton, Wairarapa's largest town. Nearby attractions include vineyards, Tui Brewery, Vintage Aviator Collection & PMB National Wildlife Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa

Address: 230 High Street, Masterton 5840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Masterton
Price Range: ₹ 5,715 - ₹ 7,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel And Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
Copthorne Hotel Masterton
Masterton Solway Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early online”
 of 5 bubbles bakoRotorua, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want value for money don't chose this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jenrusty2016, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Back of resort ask for updated room”
 of 5 bubbles 63RobertM63, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Recommend the Junior Suite (only $150 if you join the loyalty programme).”
 of 5 bubbles G1606YBtinas, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the car psrk”
 of 5 bubbles Ronz142, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5