We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
874 Whangaparaoa Road Little Manly Beach, Whangaparaoa, Auckland 0930 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$147
Hotels.com$148
Travelocity$148
Priceline$147
Agoda.com$148
eDreams$147
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (5)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Whangaparaoa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The award-winning Whangaparaoa Lodge offers boutique and exquisite accommodation opposite Little Manly Beach. Only 35 minutes from Auckland City and 60 minutes from Auckland International Airport. Modern studios and suites with king and super-king beds, dining area and fully equipped kitchenettes with cooktop, microwave, and refrigerator for self-catering are available. All rooms have 40-inch flat-screen TVs with built-in Chromecasts and unlimited free Wi-Fi for streaming your own content. All suites and spa studios have a 2-person spa bath; and Premium, Deluxe and Studio rooms have an additional rainfall shower head for the ultimate in luxury. Selected rooms also have an internal ventilation system installed. All guests have access to free on-site parking, EV charging, and BBQ facilities. Relax, unwind, and take in the beautiful views of passing ships, yachts, and the occasional pod of dolphins from the big outdoor terrace. For dinner, there are several excellent restaurants within easy walking distance, and gourmet breakfast room service is available in the morning. With a product that is clean, modern, comfortable, and relevant for today's travellers, a knowledgeable and welcoming team provides outstanding stay experiences through service that anticipates each and every Guests' needs. Whangaparaoa Lodge is ideally located for exploring and enjoying the area's wonderful beaches, regional parks, hiking, golf courses, and restaurants. The Gulf Harbour Country Club is within a 6-minute drive from Whangaparaoa Lodge. Proud recipients of “Best Motel” and the overall “Supreme Award Winner” at the 2017 Hospitality New Zealand Annual Awards. Whangaparaoa Lodge - redefining casual luxury on the footsteps of Auckland's most beautiful beaches - offers an affordable stay experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Breakfast available
Beach
Canoeing offsite
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Couples massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English

Location

44Car recommended
Grade: 44 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
471Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 391
  • 67
  • 12
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
J C M L wrote a review Jan 2023
Auckland, New Zealand106 contributions23 helpful votes
Fantastic location owned and ran by a very friendly attentive couple. This place is located straight across the road from a small beach, great for swimming. The shared deck area is a great place to enjoy a view out to the water and is perfect for a relaxing afternoon. Cannot speak highly enough of this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
flagon22 wrote a review Jan 2023
Napier, New Zealand30 contributions31 helpful votes
Our Families stayed 3 nights over Christmas. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. Our units were very clean and spacious. We highly recomend this Lodge. A great sandy beach accross the road and a handy bus stop
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris M wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
We stayed at the Lodge for 21 nights while visiting family in Whangaparaoa and we are so glad that we made the decision to stay there. Sandy and Glen were so welcoming and helpful during our long stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are clean and spacious and the outdoor area was perfect for eating and socialising when we had visitors. The beautiful Little Manly beach is directly opposite and restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Overall, great staff, great location and we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tina B wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions
Whangaparao Lodge is a very clean and excellent choice for accommodations. The breakfast cooked for us each morning was amazing and started our day off well. Little Manly beach is across the street and the big manly beach is about 15 minutes by foot up and down some hills. Glen and Sandy who are the managers are very warm and welcoming, thoughtful and helpful! Unfortunately we had a lot of unexpected rain for our 5 night visit so we were happy to be staying in a very clean and comfortable room! Lots of little restaurants nearby- delicious Italian food! You really need a car to explore the area. An airport shuttle is not always easy nor are Ubers. If you are going this is a grand place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for your fabulous review and sharing your experience. We're really pleased you enjoyed your time here with us so much, and that you found your daily breakfast amazing! We're extremely blessed to be in such a wonderful spot across from the beach and we agree - we have some great restaurants just up the road. It's a pity the weather was so wet when you were here (just like home in Vancouver)! We really enjoyed our time with you both and are glad your husband could add some 'lifers' to his Birding records. Take good care and we hope to welcome you another time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SirAnthon wrote a review Nov 2022
Brisbane, Australia93 contributions54 helpful votes
Very spacious, clean and comfortable room, across the road from the ocean, I’m sure some rooms have views of the water. Sandy was a very accommodating host. Bit of a walk to the local shops with a good choice of restaurants, which were very busy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge
Responded 29 Nov 2022
Thanks for your review! We love being opposite the beautiful beach - we're very lucky. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback, and yes most of our rooms have ocean views - it is dependent upon what room type you book of course. The 700metre walk to our local restaurants is definitely worth it and we're glad you managed to experience them. Hope to welcome you back another time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff E wrote a review Oct 2022
Sedona, Arizona10 contributions1 helpful vote
Needing a place to rest up for a few days after arriving in New Zealand. We couldn’t have picked a better location or hotel! The Lodge is located in this immaculate suburban upscale neighborhood, literally surrounded by bays and beaches with fantastic restaurants you can find just a short stroll away. The Lodge is just the place to relax in peace and comfort with friendly hosts Glen and Sandy there to make your stay comfortable and effortless. The gourmet breakfast delivered to our room each morning was a great way to start the day. After three very kicked back days exploring the neighborhood, beaches and marinas, we were relaxed, rested and ready to take on New Zealand.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge
Responded 6 Nov 2022
Wow, thanks so much for your wonderful review. We love it when our guests have a memorable experience when they stay here with us, as it sounds like you did! We agree about our wonderful location with beaches and fantastic local restaurants - we're extremely lucky to have such good ones within 700m. Thanks again for your review - it's really satisfying to get such high praise. Hope Rotorua was fantastic and enjoy the remainder of your New Zealand Adventure, and we hope to welcome you back next time you're in New Zealand (sooner than 30 years though)!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hunny v wrote a review Oct 2022
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand36 contributions7 helpful votes
Fantastic hosts, luxurious spa bath, comfortable beds, super clean everywhere. No road noise. Close to a beach with lovey views from the beach. Only downside was that the room we were in was near the entrance which meant that we got the reversing van full of people arriving late noise which interrupted my sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entrance if you don't want the noise of incoming travelers.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Hello Hunny, Thank you for your great review and sharing your experience. It's really satisfying for us to read your feedback and high praise, and we'll pass your comments on to our wonderful housekeeping team. Sorry that your sleep was interrupted by the late reversing van and people, and unfortunately that's out of our control; but when you come back, if you book one of our suites - that has double glazing and is away from any vans and people! Hope to welcome you back again when your plans allow.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Blair wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very nice room and fantasic hosts all this right across the road from the beach, top it off with a relaxing spa bath and a delicious breakfast, what more could you ask for. I wish every place was this good!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Clarry, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge
Responded 24 Sep 2022
Hi Blair, Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We love that you had such a great experience here, and we agree that being opposite the beach is beautiful - we're very lucky. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback, it's so good that you were able to enjoy the spa bath and our delicious breakfast (which is very popular). We truly believe every guest should leave feeling like they've had a fantastic experience when staying with us; and it sounds like you did! Look forward to welcoming you back next time you're up this way again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katherine wrote a review Sep 2022
16 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent two nights there on our wedding anniversary and received a very warm welcome and were upgraded to a lovely spacious room with excellent sea views with a huge outdoor area. A hand written congratulations note, chocolates and an anniversary banner lying across the bed were welcome touches. We ordered gourmet breakfasts both days, they were delivered to our room at requested time and were delicious. Overall a very pleasant stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge
Responded 11 Sep 2022
Hi Katherine and John, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and we're thrilled that you rated us so highly. We love that you found us warm and welcoming; it means so much to us when our guests have a great experience here and notice the little things we do to make your stay here all the more enjoyable. Look forward to welcoming you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
reddmd wrote a review Aug 2022
Auckland, New Zealand12 contributions1 helpful vote
Most enjoyable stay. Hosts we're wonderful and couldn't have done more. Cleanliness was 10 out of 10. Spacious and well set out room. Great location and views. Handy to Little Manly village and lovely restaurants. Good base for exploring shakespear regional Park
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Whangaparaoa Reservations, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge
Responded 11 Sep 2022
Hi Reddmd, It was really lovely to meet you and thanks for your wonderful feedback, we love it when our guests notice the little things we do to make your stay experience here the best. It's great you had a lovely time exploring Shakepear Regional Park - it's certainly very special and hopefully you got a photo by the Frame! Our local restaurants are amazing - we're really lucky to have them so close. See you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandWhangaparaoa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHANGAPARAOA LODGE - Motel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Whangaparaoa Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Whangaparaoa Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Little Manly Beach (0.1 km) and Big Manly Beach (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Whangaparaoa Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Whangaparaoa Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Whangaparaoa Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Whangaparaoa Lodge?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Whangaparaoa Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manly Bar & Grill, Due Amici, and Cafe Manly.
Does Whangaparaoa Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Whangaparaoa Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Whangaparaoa Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Whangaparaoa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Whangaparaoa Lodge?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Whangaparaoa Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Whangaparaoa Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Silverdale Pioneer Village (7.7 km).