We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Turangi Bridge Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Turangi Bridge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was great, clean and big enough. Well located at 2 min from where all the shops, stores are. Down side: Internet access, although free is unbelievably sloooowww! Took me 45 minutes to upload 7 pictures about 2 membres each.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benoît P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and comfortable with all the needed amenities. The bed was a little too hard for my liking but my husband loved it. The spa pool (hot tub) was very relaxing and kept clean. The only slight disappointment was the dryer in the laundry facilities. We ran it through 3 cycles before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehagarty
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my wife has various food allegies, so when she asked for fruit without colour for her breakfast, the hostess Kaye, found an apple, peeled and cooked it.Then she toasted our bread and wrapped the loaf with gladwrap all without being asked to. Now if thats going the extra bit we don't know what is

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John V
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

We're glad we were able to accommodate you and where we can we always look to provide the best service possible.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here before because it is an ideal place when we travel with our dog. However when I commented that the $25 cost for the dog was higher than I was used to I was told that that was because they cleaned the units 'properly' after dogs had been in them. Pity then that when we got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

We consider our $25 pet surcharge to be very fair and reasonable. All our rooms are always "properly" cleaned. When pets have been in the rooms we strip all the bedding (blankets, duvets etc.) and have them thoroughly cleaned. The fee is to cover the additional work involved and nothing more. As we are one of the very few pet...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Maybe the cleaner was having a bad day,maybe even a day off. We found long black hairs in the kitchen draws and short black hairs on the bathroom cabinet! The toilet door handel was almost impossible to operate and completely impossible for someone with arthritic hands. On a positive note the internet is fast and unlimited, and the location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trippingaround88
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

The long and the short of it is our cleaners work very hard to maintain a high standard of cleanliness in all our rooms. On the rare occasion that something is reported amiss we do our best to fix it immediately. We also have rooms with lever action door handles rather than round ones so if you had made us...

Opotiki, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We wanted to stay the night but fully booked so had Dinner and drinks in bar while watching the rugby. Good Kiwi food, Good Kiwi service, Good kiwi hospitality. I have been here a number of times and have never been disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TROPICANGLER
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and sorry we didn't have room for you that night.

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

The location is good if you like to enjoy places close for hiking. Rooms are clean and have a little kitchen set up. Food nearby is mediocre and better places to be found in Taupo. All in all an ok place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heike Y
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Location, location, location! Thanks very much for the comments though we don't agree with your comments about the Turangi restaurants. The vast majority of feedback is positive regarding the quality of the food but perhaps it was a less than great night for you.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Turangi is a lot quieter than Taupo although there was a fair bit of noise from the main road that this motel sits on. The rooms are spacious and comfortable but the walls lack sound insulation. The evening meal was really excellent, the staff pleasant and the price very reasonable. Overall a good place to stop for the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Stewart_12
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Good to hear you had a pleasant stay. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewed 24 October 2016

This is definitely the place to stay in Turangi. Clean comfortable accommodations, exceptional staff and excellent dining are a great example of Kiwi hospitality. The managers Kaye and Brian, and restaurant staff besides being very friendly are professional in every respect and are always on hand if needed. Housekeeping staff does excellent job and our family unit was always spotless....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted A
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we're very happy you enjoyed your time with us. I'll be sure to share your comments with the staff.

Lake Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in late-Sep early-Oct. had adjoining rooms which were handy with two teenagers in tow (who definitely appreciated the surprisingly quick free wifi!). Kitchenette was pretty basic, could do with a few more cooking utensils (serrated knife, fruit knife and, stirring spoon) and towels were getting pretty thin. Great location with a real "fishing lodge" feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasz40
TurangiBridge, Owner at Turangi Bridge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We'll look into those towels as it sounds like some of our spa towels may have got mixed up with the room stock.

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
33.8 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,311 reviews
0.4 km away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
54 reviews
9.2 km away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#5 of 9 in Turangi
105 reviews
0.8 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
259 reviews
0.9 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With comfortable accommodation, New Zealand cuisine, stunning landscapes and adventure activities right on our doorstep, Turangi Bridge Motel offers everything you need for a real New Zealand holiday escape. Our Turangi accommodation provides access to the Tongariro National Park with a large selection of New Zealand adventure activities including river rafting, mountain biking, skiing, trout fishing and fly fishing, and for the keen hiker, the world famous Tongariro Crossing. We offer a New Zealand restaurant and are available as a function or wedding venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Turangi Bridge Motel

Address: 4600 State Highway 1 | P.O. Box 42, Turangi, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: ₹ 5,381 - ₹ 6,198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turangi Bridge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Turangi Bridge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Turangi Bridge Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Switzerland
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Turangi Bridge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great stop on the Auckland to Wellington trip”
 of 5 bubbles 675johnv, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms set around a courtyard, the back of the site are quietest, those at the front have the best views and are closest to the river.”
 of 5 bubbles richardfP8835PD, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book ahead, normally reasonably full.”
 of 5 bubbles cobusvanvuuren, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road. Ours was very quiet, sorry can't remember the room number.”
 of 5 bubbles Cleoplus, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The cabins with a queen and single bed were extremely spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 399bobp, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay