We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harbor Reef Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Harbor Reef Hotel
Harbor Reef Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbor Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 266: English reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2015

The staff was really wonderful . Our room was so run down . From the paint to the bathroom . It was just in poor condition. Our safe in our room was not working . The refrigerator made a odd beep sound every 10 minutes or so . It was a 65 dollar a night place and nothing more.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rickegutierrez
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the kind words about our friendly staff. We are sorry to hear the room was not what you were hoping for. The Junior Nosara rooms are our most economical option available. We apologize about the safe. The issue was internal which we were able to fix after you reported it the same day -...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 15 July 2015

This is a great location in Nosara. Close to the beach and walkable to great restaurants. The staff are all attentive, and very helpful. Staff assisted with transportation, dining arrangements, fishing tours and anything else we desired. Hotel bar area was always clean and very well staffed. Can't wait to return. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieb1212
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of Harbor Reef! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always happy to help you make your stay in Guiones that much better! There are such a large variety of activities in the area and we are excited to share them all with you, our valued guests. We...

USA
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Sweet meeting spot in Guiones. Both my surf instructor and zip line guides recommend I come here for "Taco Tuesday". The space is convenient and comfortable for meeting friends and grabbing a drink in the swim up bar. Fish tacos were not my fav but others enjoyed the burger and chicken wrap. Fun staff and great margaritas.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank USAOnTheMove
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much checking out Taco Tuesday! We are happy to hear you had such a great experience. Tuesdays have become the staple spot in Guiones for fun vibes, great drink specials and delicious tacos! We hope next time you are in town you will come stay with us in the jungle by the sea. Pura Vida!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Stayed for a week while learning to surf. Pool bar is a LOT of fun. Great people (Jordanny, Angie, Irvin, Carlos and the rest of the crew) made for a great stay. Quote of the trip: "we want to make sure you are happy." that's what you want to hear. Cheers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maitreya J
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review! Our goal is definitely to make sure you are happy! Great quote! Our staff definitely enjoys what they do and it shows! We really appreciate your patronage and are delighted your trip with us was so much fun! We hope you will consider us again for a future vacation. Until next time, Pura...

Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Great location, staff and property. Relaxing, comfortable and the staff goes out of there way to make sure everything is perfect. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect with easy access to the beach. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skippycp
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope you will remember us when it comes time to plan your next vacation. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Costa Rica. Until next time, Pura Vida!

Calgary
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Stayed in my personal cabin here ... was absolutely a great value. The grounds are very clean, and it is like staying in the jungle. Add that in with a great and honest front desk staff, and a great and hardworking bar/restaurant staff and you have a perfect place to stay. By honest, I mean they will tell you the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryBoy777
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review of Harbor Reef! It was a pleasure serving you during you stay. We appreciate the kind words about our staff. Our goal is definitely to ensure you have the best possible experience in Nosara. Our area is rich with activities and great cuisine and we are happy to share that knowledge with you,...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We arrived on Taco Tuesday. Not sure about what we had walked into... only to realize that this was "THE SPOT". At least on a Tuesday night. Harbor Reef opens their restaurant door to any Taco lover - however the tacos were not very good. At least coming from So-Cal standards. But i don't think that is why the whole...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank noedewitt123
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review of Harbor Reef! It was a pleasure getting to know your family during your stay. Everyone was so upbeat and stoked to battle the waves, was great to see! Glad you had a great time at Taco Tuesday but sorry you didn't like the Tacos! We usually get great feedback on the Tacos...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

This was my first visit to Costa Rica. My husband is an avid surfer, so his goal was to arrange a fabulous vacation where he could surf and I could relax in order to "get me hooked" on the country. We had a wonderful stay here! It was, by far, the most relaxing vacation we have taken together consisting of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scvolrn
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review of Harbor Reef! We are delighted you had such a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed your first trip to Costa Rica. Thanks so much for the kind words about our staff! We really appreciate it. We know you have choices when it comes to travel and we hope you will consider Harbor...

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Beautiful grounds and both the waterfall pool and pool bar were fun! The staff were all super helpful and friendly, especially to our teenage children. Very safe atmosphere with a guard and good lighting. One of our best vacations ever and hope to come back next year- great surfing all the time. Our room(number 14) was also far enough from...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chris b
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of Harbor Reef! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate the kind words about our staff - our goal is to ensure you have the best vacation possible! We hope you will consider us again when your travel plans allow. Until next time, Pura Vida!

Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

friendly and fun tiki bar at the resort . I didn't stay there, but had a fun time having a few Imperial Beers with some surfing buddies A fun night out in Nosara! Very close to the beach! Full of surfers looking for waves

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slipless71
Jon C, General Manager at Harbor Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review of our restaurant/bar! We appreciate you taking the time and we are delighted you enjoyed our fun atmosphere. We hope you will stay with us next time your travels bring you to Nosara. Until next time, Pura Vida!

676 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Bar Pool (21)
Viewed
Family Room (38)
Viewed
Family Room with Bunk Bed (33)
Viewed
Family Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Standard Room (27)
Viewed
Surf City Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (123)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.4 km away
Olas Verdes
Olas Verdes
#6 of 23 in Nosara
47 reviews
0.7 km away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
254 reviews
1.2 km away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#4 of 23 in Nosara
361 reviews
4.4 km away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.2 km away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#13 of 23 in Nosara
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 22 room hotel nestled in the jungle by the sea. Our rooms are surrounded by lush gardens and offer a tranquil setting for our guests to relax after a fun day surfing and exploring the beautiful area of Nosara. Our restaurant offers a swim up pool bar, great music, delicious food and cold cervezas. It's a great place to kick back in the evenings and mingle with our friendly and hospitable staff. Paradise awaits you. Pura Vida! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbor Reef Hotel

Address: Del Hotel Cafe De Paris 400 Suroeste y 150 al Este, Nosara, Costa Rica (Formerly Harbor Reef Lodge)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Reef Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbor Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Reef Hotel Nosara
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#4 Family Hotel in Nosara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbor Reef Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Harbor Reef Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near the restaurant/bar will have loud music.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffreym632, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in Surf City buildings are in the back by 2nd pool and quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles davidpI7124AJ, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the newer rooms away from the bar, preferably on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TLCWorld, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose Reef Suite (above the restaurant) if you are traveling with children or go to bed early.”
 of 5 bubbles Jax4of4, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the Reef restaurant quieter. Small market walking distance from hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sns60750, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay