We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

White Island Rendezvous

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
White Island Rendezvous
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've now stayed a couple of times here, the staff are very helpful and always greet you with a warm smile . The units are spacious,warm and if your away from home, the beds are like heaven Being in this part of town everything is so easy to walk to and to get around

Helpful?
Thank scottmcmaster
Management response:

Hi scottmcmaster, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is always great to hear from our returning customers, and we were pleased to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! More 

Hawera, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed, we booked for two nights in August, we wanted a room with a spa bath, on checking in we asked for a ground floor room, said spa bath wasn't essential, we were taken to the room under the outside stairs. Our room wasn't serviced following our first nights stay. We arrived home following attending a wedding to find... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gillyboyce
WhiteIslandTours, General Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear of your disappointment and have looked into the issues you have raised. We received your booking for Deluxe Studio with Spa via Booking.com in May and you were allocated an upstairs room as there was no preference in the booking request. On your arrival, our Reception staff member switched you to a downstairs room at your... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great basic motel in a great location to the city centre, only a few steps away from restaurants and bars. Nice clean rooms with good facilities . Sometimes had to park away from my room and that was annoying when making two trips. Friendly service but was disappointed with the quality of the breakfast

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
Management response:

Hi Andrew G, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous; taking full advantage of our location and facilities during your stay. We were however, sorry to hear that our breakfast did not meet your expectations and would like to investigate this matter further... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was incredibly spacious, and the motel was within walking distance of the main restaurant/shop area. Unfortunately you can't eat at the pizza restaurant at the Villas nearby as it's for guests only. No woodfired pizza for us! The staff were also very friendly. The White Island Tour was amazing, so it was great to get a discount with... More 

Helpful?
Thank possum88
Management response:

Hi possum88, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous and took advantage of the convenience that the motel provides for tour participants. We hope you enjoyed the tour and the rest of your travels! More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

the white island rendez vous is a great place to stay. The room are very big and functional with great views from the 1st floor. It's a very clean place, the staff is nice and it's close from every amenities so no car needed if you just need to chill. The also offer tours to the white island which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank DjStyles7
Management response:

Hi DjStyles7, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous and hope that you'll visit again soon. More 

Clamecy, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night in a budget room. There was nothing budget about this room. It was very spacious, clean and well equiped. Not cooking facilities, but does have a microwave. This was a quiet and very comfortable room. Close to town. We paid $119 for this room, great quality for the money.

Helpful?
Thank Katie7772015
Management response:

Hi Katie 7772015, Thank you for taking the time to post such a concise and informative review! We were thrilled to hear that you found your stay at White Island Rendezvous to be so worthwhile and enjoyable and hope to welcome you back again someday! Safe travels! More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It rained & rained (& rained) but we were so comfortable. Cabin was well equipped, well designed and quiet. When it stopped raining, loved sitting on the balcony in the sun. We could even hear the waves at night! Staff were fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank TheSteggs
Management response:

Hi The Steggs, We were thrilled to hear that you had such a cosy and comfortable stay in one of the micro-village cabins! It sounds like you experienced the full gamut of weather during your stay and made the most of all of it! We hope to welcome you back to White Island Rendezvous again soon and thank you for... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I suppose the occupants of every ground floor room in a 2 storey motel faces the problem of noisy neighbours upstairs as well as those on either side. However, while there was some noise from upstairs fairly late into the night, we both got a good sleep when we did drop off. The room was large, with comfortable beds and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flossybarker
Management response:

Hi Flossybarker, Thank you for taking the time post your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at White Island Rendezvous. We appreciated your feedback regarding the noise. Despite extensive attempts to sound proof our four Budget Studios, unfortunately, the noise from guests above can be heard from time to time. We have classed these rooms... More 

Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely spacious room in a modern motel centrally located in the lovely town of Whakatane. Having a cafe downstairs means an afternoon coffee or a breakfast is close at hand. One night is hardly long enough to stay in this pleasant environment.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
Management response:

Hi Jeff W, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We were thrilled to hear that you had such a great time during your stay at White Island Rendezvous, and hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Room was ok, bathroom could have been cleaned better, we found two strands of long hair on the bathroom floor. At reception when purchasing a room for the night, I felt like i was being screened by staff member, I was asked for credit card details or a deposit for security, staff should of asked how I will be paying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank09267
WhiteIslandTours, General Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review

We’re sorry to hear that your stay didn’t meet your expectations. As you mention, your experience does differ from the vast majority of our reviews. While it is unlikely you will be staying with us again I will take the opportunity to address the points you raised in the hope the it might benefit other travellers. In line with most... More 

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.5 km away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#3 of 13 in Whakatane
54 reviews
2.3 km away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
165 reviews
0.2 km away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 13 in Whakatane
117 reviews
2.4 km away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Whakatane
60 reviews
2.3 km away
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Barringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 13 in Whakatane
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Address: 15 The Strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Price Range: ₹ 6,409 - ₹ 7,909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Island Rendezvous staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A place not to miss”
 of 5 bubbles scottmcmaster, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Top floor at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Flossybarker, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are newer individual free standing suites, which I stayed in as well as older units.”
 of 5 bubbles paulinebC3320MN, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try the new modern cabins, self-contained separate dwellings with kitchen right alongside the main motel facility.”
 of 5 bubbles 842brucec, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would favour a room at the back to be off the main road not that it ever gets that busy!”
 of 5 bubbles richarddJ3007WR, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay