We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

THB Royal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
THB Royal
THB Royal
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

888 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for THB Royal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Totally unsuited to British holidaymakers. Indeed unsuitable for any nationality other than French. Food poor quality at times, often cold and hardly any of it labelled. Entertainment very disappointing and only language spoken was French

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janet W
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. We regret not having met your expectations regarding the food and the entertainment, all the kitchen staff and the management work hard to give...

Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

Have just returned from a fab week. Loved the hotel will definitely return. It was predominately French but we didn't find that a problem.staff friendly spotlessly clean. There were 2 pool one which was quieter than the main one. Don't b put off by reviews we loved it .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon S
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. Its has been a pleasure to have had you in the hotel and we are very happy to know that you have had a...

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We found out too late and Thompson's would not change the booking. First the good points. The staff were great and the place is very clean. It is owned by the French for the French. The English are totally superfluous. Take plenty Euros with you as there is a deposit for everything. The restaurant was like a school canteen at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dave h
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. We regret not having met your expectations regarding the food, all the kitchen staff and the management work hard to give the best service...

New Mills, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We have stayed at Sun Royal as it was on seven occasions as independent travellers. Four years ago we arrived to be told that our apartment had suffered storm damage and water had leaked in making it uninhabitable. We were transferred to Sun Tropical ( now THB Tropical Island). What an awful experience that was. We complained when we returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernard p
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We feel really sorry about the inconveniences that you had during your stay regarding our higher category hotel Thb Tropical Island, we are not faced about a...

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We have stayed in the THB royal on previous occasions but never again......... On arriving we were pounced on by French holiday reps .On checking in the receptionist spoke to us in French. looking around the reception area it didn't take long to realise that the hotel was geared towards the French. The staff spoke only French on occasions they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin S
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. We regret not having met your expectations regarding your stay; in effect we work also with a French agency that’s why the major part...

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2015

My husband and I have been going to the THB Royal, previously the Sun Royal ,three times a year for many years. However, we have felt increasingly unwelcome over the last 3 years since it became a thb hotel culminating in being treated like several other English guests earlier this month when the water to the apartment was turned off....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MEP462
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Above all we would like to thank you for choosing the THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here. We do extremely apologize about the inconveniences that you had due to the water problems in the hotel. Due to the hard work that all our technical staff...

Oakford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2015

My wife and I have just returned from THB Royal and we suffered a similar experience to Peter W and Allan B in previous reviews with regard to our water being turned off.We have stayed at The Royal for many years on a self catering basis and there was never any problem.We arrived on 14th January and were greeted by...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank terrypennantlas
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here. We are happy to read that you have had a nice stay in our hotel and that you have enjoyed the food and the facilities. We...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2015

On arrival at the THB Royal Hotel, it soon became obvious that everything was biased towards the French. The day and evening entertainment were only ever in French, the animation team spoke mostly only French, which meant that we were left to make our own entertainment during the evening. The Hotel itself was very clean, the food was excellent, the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Peter W
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here. We feel really sorry about the inconveniences that you had due to the water problems in the hotel, all our technical staff work hard to give...

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2015

We arrived on Sunday 11th January 2015 had no problems and were enjoying our stay, until on Friday 16th after lunch we returned to our apartment to discover that there was no water in the apartment. We immediately went to reception to report the problem and were told that there was a problem with the water and that the maintenance...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Allan B
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience here. We feel really sorry about the inconveniences that you had due to the water problems in the hotel, all our technical staff work hard to give...

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2015

As a middle aged but active couple we have stayed at this hotel , previously called the Sun Royal , many times .We have just completed a 4 week stay over Christmas and the New Year. The hotel has recently had a major room makeover and the pool areas have been equipped with new quality sun loungers and pool furniture....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank YRRAB1943
Oscar S, Director General at THB Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing again our hotel THB Royal for spending your holidays and for taking the time to write a review about your experience in the hotel. Its has been a pleasure to have had you in the hotel, we really appreciate the confidence in us and we want to...

640 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (459)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (80)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (183)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Apartment (46)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
4.0 km away
Royal Monica Playa Blanca
Royal Monica Playa Blanca
#20 of 37 in Playa Blanca
781 reviews
0.6 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.3 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,527 reviews
2.3 km away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 km away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel THB Royal is located in the south of Lanzarote, in the village of Playa Blanca.This quiet fishing village in the municipality of Yaiza has preserved its characteristics apart from tourism development.This large complex consists of two floors and a total of 200 rooms. The hotel offers guests 2 swimming areas with solarium. Nearby are some of the most beautiful tourist attractions in Lanzarote: The Coast of Papagayo, El Golfo… ... more   less 

Additional Information about THB Royal

Address: C/ Janubio s/n | Urb. Costa Papagayo, 35770 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly THB Hotel Sun Royal)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Price Range: ₹ 12,762 - ₹ 29,869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — THB Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your THB Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Royal Apartments Hotel Playa Blanca
Sun Royal Apartments Playa Blanca
THB Royal Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from THB Royal staff and other travellers.
87 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (87)

Questions? Get answers from THB Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“in front of zen swimming pool”
 of 5 bubbles 150rogerh, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For a quiet room ask for one at the back of the hotel by the Zen Pool (which isn't heated)”
 of 5 bubbles BusterBandFiona, 15 Apr 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are the same. Ask for a pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles daveh854, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Apartments in the 400 series are sunniest”
 of 5 bubbles 870bernardp, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“My tip is avoid this hotel unless you are french”
 of 5 bubbles MEP462, 26 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay