We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 630: English reviews
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed many times at the Best Western Blundson Hotel and it consistently provides an excellent level of accommodation and service, supported by enthusiastic and caring staff. The menus and the quality of the food provided is again consistently high. The beautiful grounds, the sports and swimming facilities and the many local sites and attractions make this hotel a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinhH5865RD
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The title says it all, for the price, given a choice, I'd make this my hotel of choice in the Swindon area. Flames restaurant is reasonably priced for really good evening meals & all the staff, including the chef have a nice professional and engaging manner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a gem of a hotel. I stay in many hotels, on a weekly basis, across the country, on business trips and it is a delight to find myself here for the night. This is my first visit and it was just pot luck that I booked it but ‘boy’, what a great hotel. The welcoming was naturally warm, openhearted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phil M, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Blunsdon House here at Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read that your welcome was warm and your stay comfortable with facilities exceeding your expectations. As an independent family run hotel we pride ourselves on the hospitality we extend to our guests. As you quite rightly say...

Davenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent Christmas here. Warmly welcomed. Beautifully decorated hotel with Christmas tree in bedroom. Big mention of all the staff who went out of their way to make the stay memorable. Room 125 in main hotel ground floor excellent for elderly mum. Comfy, warm, (hand rail & bath mat in bathroom) extra tea/coffee/milk available in corridor as well as in room....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank buctf
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear butcf, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed a comfortable, warm and memorable family Xmas with us. We will pass your Thanks on to Father Christmas who is now recuperating after a busy and successful time at Blunsdon. We do hope to welcome you back soon...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we arrived with a coach company and was made to feel at home, our room was large and very comfortable in the hotel. The food and staff was excellent, with a visit from Santa in a Rolls Royce no less, he obviously makes his money. All in all we had a lovely Christmas which the owners made sure of great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valerie c
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valerie C, Thank you for posting a review here at TripAdvisor, we were glad to read that you found each and every aspect of your stay to be excellent during your stay with us over the Xmas period. We hope to see you back at Blunsdon again soon. Kind regards Chris Clifford Ownership Family For and on behalf of...

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There's London and then there's the rest of the UK. I have stayed at this location on 3 occasions over the course of about 3 or 4 years. The hotel is off of a main road. You pass nice houses in a residential area to get there. This was juxtaposed to some less elegantly appointed houses on the taxi ride...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liza B
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Liza B, Thank you for posting a review here at TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you found your various stays to be calming, pleasant and somewhat nostalgic. The original building of Blunsdon dates back some 200 years and is decorated sympathetically in keeping with an English country house hotel, we are delighted you appreciate this for what...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

A lovely Hotel but the Christmas Party Night was very disappointing. Lacked atmosphere as appeared to be only half sold, the DJ looked bored with very little interaction, food was surprisingly poor and service at the table left a lot to be desired.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wiltslady2016
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wiltslady2016, Thank you for reviewing us here at TripAdvisor. We were glad to read that you found the hotel in general to be lovely. It was disappointing to note that you did not thoroughly enjoy your party night with us. They are exceptionally popular but demand does vary according to day of week and the proximity of a date...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

My daughter in law Jaquie Fisher booked the hotel with mt disability very much in mind, I can walk short distances with assistance and use a Go GO small mobility scooter for longer distances. We had rooms 118 and 119 which had a connecting door in the event I needed assistance. The room was spotless,extremely large with enough space in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joycedodd2016
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joycedodd2016, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Blunsdon House here with the community at TripAdvisor. We were very glad to read that we were able to accommodate you comfortably and that you enjoyed each and every aspect of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in February and until then wish you...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night visit to Swindon for a football match. The hotel is lovely. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. Our room was large with a huge comfortable bed and a very smart bathroom with an excellent shower over the bath. A coffee machine was a nice addition.The bar was a nice place with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona B, Thank you for posting a review here at TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the service and facilities at the hotel. As ardent supporters of the mighty Swindon Town F.C (who also train in our fitness centre) we appreciate the requirements travelling football fan (teacup and hanky) and hope to see you again soon....

Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Spent this weekend here on a planned reunion. 3 weeks before my visit I had knee surgery and was left sporting a locked brace which severely hampered my mobility. The reception staff pulled out all the stops to ensure that I had the "most appropriate accommodation" to suit my needs. They went above and beyond ............ Thank you Reception Staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
Blunsdon, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pam C, Thank you for posting a review here at TripAdvisor. It was great to read that our reception team were able to "pull out all of the stops" to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back soon and hope you have since enjoyed a speedy and full recovery from your operation. Kind regards...

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
3.4 km away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
604 reviews
7.7 km away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
617 reviews
5.7 km away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
1,476 reviews
6.2 km away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#4 of 24 in Swindon
356 reviews
11.4 km away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Christopher's Carvery
Christopher's Carvery
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel

Address: The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Price Range: ₹ 6,585 - ₹ 11,651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel is an excellent mix of both the traditional and the modern, choose the Pavillions for an extra piece of quiet luxury”
 of 5 bubbles martinhH5865RD, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask about pavillion rooms on the ground level with the walkout patio.”
 of 5 bubbles 517lizab, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“for disabled room 118 ground floor close to reception and restaurants which was very quiet and very expansive.”
 of 5 bubbles joycedodd2016, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“310 near the lift, faces the front, nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles fionab619, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask the Reception staff!”
 of 5 bubbles 240pamc, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay