We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (9)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
25 Sep 2017
“Clean Hotel and spectacular views”
20 Feb 2017
“1 Night in Igelwirt”
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Concierge
Pets Allowed
Accessible rooms
Conference Facilities
3 Star Hotel
Our hospitality, individual service, and high quality standards are the foundations of our success. The unique locality in the Heart of Franconia, the panoramic view into the valley, and the Franconian cuisine have made the Igelwirt the ideal point of departure for entertaining...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Igelweg 6, 91220, Schnaittach, Bavaria, Germany
23.3 km to Metropolitan Area Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
2
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
8
2
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Very clean rooms, nice food and pleasant service. Location is high up on a hill on the remains of an old castle. Plenty of parking and outside beergarden. Owner seems to be a motorbike fan. They even have a selection of single malts available,

Thank Hewano
Response from Igelwirt, Inhaber at IgelwirtResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Hewano, Thanks so much for your kind words - YES, you´re right. Our dad is a motorbike fan like his daughters and also - we love single malts and different kinds of Whiskeys. Hope to speak soon! Thanks, Kristina

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

All together we are talking about a good Hotel which is located near by the sky-field there. The room what I got was good except the bathroom where I've got problem with the water pipes (water or waste water ...? ), so the bathroom was...More

Thank memfist
Response from Igelwirt, Inhaber at IgelwirtResponded 13 December 2017

Dear memfist, Thanks so much for your comment. We are very sorry for the wet flooring situation and hope that you will still come back one day to give us the chance to apologise personally. Thanks, Family Maas

Reviewed 31 July 2016

Here is a beautiful hotel set up in the hills above the small town of Schnaittach, with wonderful panoramic views. We spent one night here recently, and it was an enjoyable one. There is seating outdoors for dining or just enjoying the cooling breezes. Our...More

Thank John A
Response from Igelwirt, Inhaber at IgelwirtResponded 2 August 2016

Dear John A. thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are really pleased that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed the beautiful panoramic view. We enjoyed having you here with us and hope we were one of your Highlights travelling Germany...More

Reviewed 17 July 2016

this hotel was difficult to find once have reached the village. The hotel has a name for bikers but the parking of the bike is very difficult as the hotel is on a sloop with no even park space and no garage. Apart from this...More

Thank David M
Response from Igelwirt, Inhaber at IgelwirtResponded 18 July 2016

Dear David M. thank you very much for your online evaluation. We were glad to hear about your opinion and we could have offered you a Garage for your bike for your next stay if you like. We do have actually two Garages directly in...More

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Nice and affordable hotel. Excellent regional food. Worthy of Michelin mention, and still at affordable prices.... Good distance from Denmark when travelling south for the summer. We use it as the perfect stop on the way. The view from the restaurant terraces is phenomenal...

Thank Brian L
Response from Igelwirt, Inhaber at IgelwirtResponded 12 July 2016

Dear Brian, thank you so much for your email. I am very happy that you had a great time in our Hotel. Hope to see you again very soon! Greetings to Denmark, Kristina

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Ski-In / Ski-Out
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Room Service
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Golf Course
Details
Price range
US$ 126 - US$ 149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Smoking rooms available, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 126 - US$ 149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Smoking rooms available, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (9)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Igelwirt staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Lift to the upper rooms"
Read review
"A room overlooking the valley is a must."
Read review
"All rooms looked perfectly good - the choice is between a modern room and a traditional room."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing