We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chris-Tal Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chris-Tal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chris-Tal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We stayed here twice , at the beginning and the end of the TMB . The room was great with a balcony , a closed balcony too and a kitchen so we could cook and have breakfast early . The hotel looked after our car for us but charged heavily even though when we came back we were the only...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Penny W
Sussex UK
Reviewed 13 September 2014

A great week in a comfortable hotel with a swimming pool. Our grandson lives in the village and loved having a swim after school and coming to our room. No 23 is great for entertaining with a kitchen and lovely balcony. I would recommend this hotel, easy access to village shops and restaurants and to ski lifts etc. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judyarmson
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We made the mistake of going into Les Houches to find somewhere to eat instead of having dinner at our hotel, which we later heard was excellent. Sadly, we landed at the Chris-Tal, which was the worst eating out experience we had during our two-week trip. The food - fondue and a green salad - was average. The fondue was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Venusjupiter
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We took a chance to get out of the rain. Well we certainly killed a couple of hours! Should have realised we were not that welcome when they took 5 minutes to acknowledge our presence ( even though it was very quiet). Ok ordered 4 of the set menus and 2 kids menus. To be honest the food was reasonable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan B
flodesiles74, Owner at Chris-Tal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Some time good food take time. I'm Florent, cooker chef and owner of the hotel. This year i got the best waitress from about 5 years. I'm very happy of my staff. Maybe waitress had a lot of job this evening and need concentration to manage many table. All you need to know is if you are hurry,...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We checked in after a long day's drive from Italy. To be honest, we looked at staying in neighbouring Chamonix, but that place was heaving, so we drove into Les Houches to see if it was any quieter; I'm glad we did! Decent sized room, with entrance hall, off which there were separate toilet and bath/shower rooms. Very comfortable bed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveB77
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Fantastic hotel, fantastic location, fantastic amenities. Florent, the owner/manager was superb, friendly, helpful & very accommodating. He knows the area very well, having grown up here and gave us really useful information. The hotel is so beautiful, typical Savoyard style, lots of wooden features. The room was very clean, had cosy wooden panels on the walls, electric shutters on all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philippe B
Dartford
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A comfortable room with a wonderful view. Very clean. A pleasant bar area with log fire, nice little swimming pool. Would definitely recommend. Usual sparse Continental buffet breakfast but that's normal. Otherwise very happy with our stay there and would not hesitate to recommend. We are not skiers and were only in the area to visit family who live in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hextable
Cambridge U.K.
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We only booked for one night via one of the last minute etc websites. Even before we arrived we had a message on our phone to tell us how to get in and get our key if we had a late arrival. It was a very welcoming hotel, with an open fire and obviously popular with skiers. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanTheTraveller
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel manages to stay cosy and really friendly though it is not that small. There are 40 rooms, a ski room, a bar and a restaurant, a swimming pool and a sauna. Yet the hotel staff create such a lovely atmosphere that you start to believe that this is your home, your living room with a fire-place, your kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maria F
Dublin
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a ski trip to Les Houches and stayed in Chris-Tal hotel. The hotel is family run and a typical hotel of the region. You will see the family around the hotel and having their meals near the bar. When we arrived at around 12 midday there was no one at reception, we waited several minutes and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank outofireland
flodesiles74, Owner at Chris-Tal Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Yes 12h00 is end of lunch for us. Yes 22h30 is time for bed for us ? There is always some one at the reception, when i'm not here you just have to press a button, it will call me because you are not alone in the hotel and maybe other Customer need assistance. Nothing strange....

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
1.2 km away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
100 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
388 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
58 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#8 of 14 in Les Houches
42 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the authentic village of Les Houches, in the heart of the Chamonix valley, and only 6km away from the centre of Chamonix itself, the Hotel CHRIS-TAL is – and has been for generations – a business based on family tradition. Nowadays, Florent Gherold and his team will give you a warm welcome at the hotel, and will ensure that you have wonderful and relaxing break.Free wifi acces, indoor swimming-pool, Restaurant, Sauna, Game room, loung-bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chris-Tal Hotel

Address: 242 Avenue des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Price Range: ₹ 4,935 - ₹ 9,730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chris-Tal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chris-Tal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chris Tal Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chris-Tal Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chris-Tal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book locally for best rates”
dbcarter1947, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had two rooms and the views were amazing for either one.”
, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“they are all nice”
926suzannes, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Find another hotel.”
760philipr, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Keep well away from the single rooms if you must stay here.”
DavidKen1979, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5