We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highbullen Hotel

Expedia.comUS$ 136*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Highbullen Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 549: English reviews
Start your review of Highbullen Hotel
 Click to rate
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went there for lunch with our American visitors and was generally a good choice, the staff were brilliant, the restaurant well laid out with fantastic views, however the food could have been better in that the Lasagne I had was a bit dry (was it microwaved ?), the bacon in the club sandwich of one of our friends was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fairways East was booked by us of a re-union on the basis it would be great self-catering accommodation and was in a convenient location for all 3 couples. What we got as a big bonus was breakfast at the hotel and superb sports facilities as well as a beautiful accommodation. The cottage was decorated and fitted out to a really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Epsom
Callington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

was originally going to visit for an afternoon tea treat but decided to extend the stay and booked for an overnight treat. Staff were very welcoming and service was first class. Accomodation was not what we we expected, however we paid for an upgrade and we stayed in a converted barn which was made to look like a hotel room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita19682013
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came on Saturday with a group for my friend's hen do and it was fantastic! The therapist Denise made such effort and the massage was the best I've ever had and so reasonably priced. I will be returning! The food was great too. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were looking for a suitable venue to host a small 70th birthday tea with a close group of friends. Having studied several venues with different vistas we decided, having in the past, held membership to the leisure facilities of Highbullen to choose this. On enquiry, the booking seemed to be confirmed although we received no confirmation by any means....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woopers
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to Highbullen a couple of times for works dos, and while the staff have always been very professional and helpful, the food (for a vegetarian) has been very disappointing. The first year we were told that they had only recently reopened after refurbishment and they were still getting used to it all. This year there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackrobson97
David T, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack, Firstly my thanks for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor, all critique is appreciated good or poor. I am sorry that we did not get your menu right and would very much appreciate an email or phone discussion with you to dig deeper and help us out for the good of future clients My email is generalmanager@highbullen.co.uk...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed here for an overnight stay en route to our wedding. We had a few teething problems with the booking process as they were very slow in responding to our initial enquiries, but we wanted to stay here as it has such stunning grounds and views. Upon arrival, the staff were very friendly and accommodating but unfortunately we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red-Devil07
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

My friend and I went to this hotel for a day out as a treat over the Easter break. We enjoyed the pool with the sauna and Jacuzzi and had booked a lovely lunch in the main hotel for after our massages. The sun was shining and the views were beautiful over what looks like a lovely golf course. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penpal68
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Not sure on the reviews on Trip Advisor or whether my experience was unique - however I would at best give 3 stars...we stayed in a nice sized family room which easily accommodated a family of four and also had with wonderful views...and that is where is at the good of the experience ends...we stayed for 3 nights Staff -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garye897
Woburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Yes, WOW. 2 nights in DeerView 91. Wonderful view. The room was spacious and well-equipped for family of four. Food was excellent and innovative, compliments to the chef. Staff were very friendly and accommodating in all areas. The golf course was lovely but the daisies and dandelions made keeping track of your ball a little difficult whether you used white...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank birchcorp

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittlehamholt
3.5 km away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
36.7 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,207 reviews
32.5 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
31.4 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
790 reviews
39.5 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is set in a 125 acre estate in the heart of North Devon, with far reaching views down the Mole Valley and across to Exmoor. Here you will find a warm welcome, comfortable and luxurious surroundings and the opportunity to enjoy an unrivalled selection of activities on site and nearby. Highbullen has been fully refurbished in 2013, including all the rooms, restaurant and all public areas. There is an 18 hole USPGA specification golf course and a extensive leisure facilities, including swimming (indoor and outdoor), gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and tennis. Nestled between Dartmoor and Exmoor and within easy reach of Exeter in one direction and the Atlantic coast in the other. Guests can take their pick of accommodation - from a luxury room in the impressive Victorian "Arts and Crafts" manor house, to a selection of peaceful rooms located around the estate. Nearby you can walk on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, with breathtaking views, or enjoy all the activities and attractions of this beautiful part of North Devon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highbullen Hotel

Address: Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chittlehamholt
Price Range: ₹ 8,108 - ₹ 16,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highbullen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highbullen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbullen Hotel Umberleigh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highbullen Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Highbullen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in Deerview 91 which was away from the main hotel and very quiet with amazing views.”
birchcorp, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Exmoor room.”
juliemC2827YL, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms were very quiet, great nights sleep!”
JackieT622, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Many rooms aren't in the main building. Talk to friendly receptionists if accessibility is important.”
bb605, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We always choose Room 46!”
MikeC492004, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 136* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUS$ 159
Orbitz.comUS$ 136
TripAdvisorUS$ 136
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates