We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Lake Tekapo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Lake Tekapo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Lake Tekapo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

Just stayed one night while driving to Christchurch, Helen was super helpful and really lovely. Definitely made my stay great. Beds were clean and comfy, wifi was decent but dropped out occasionally. Views of the lake + fireplaces were nice too. Great place for the price, friendly for solo travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idestme
Bluff, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 September 2015

The twin room was clean. Stunning view to Lake from Twin Room window. Cozy lounge. However, we also stayed the 2nd time at the double room next to Kitchen where the cooking smell from Kitchen was trappped in the room. Hoped the management has done something on the ventilation system.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wee win c
Yamba, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2015

My friend and I stayed here whilst making our way to Queenstown and we loved it! Very small and easy to meet new people. Lake Tekapo is beautiful and the view from the lounge room is amazing! Staff were great and amenities were of a good standard also! Definitely climb Mt John while staying here for an amazing view! Will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ebonie P
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 August 2015

It's a hostel. So don't expect luxury. Highlights include: -Clean showers and bathrooms -Private Rooms -Large kitchen facility with a food and spices section up for grabs left by previous travelers. -Friendly staff, it's owned by a family who lives there with small children -Common room with TV, books, couches and a wood burning stove -Camping spots in the back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2015

This accomodation was a great experience along traveling through NZ. Manager Billy does amazing job in this hostel, as well as other managers do but I don't know thier names... Everything was clean, Billy was still keeping up the fire and warm within building, he was always willing to help with bookings and answers the questions and I didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarioXS99
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Not much that makes this place stand-out from other hostels, but it was exactly what we expected. The facilities were clean, the kitchen was small but enough. The rooms were average, bathrooms were likewise. The lounge/living area was welcoming after a day of exploring. Although everything is walk-able in the area, the location of the hostel was, more or less,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent A
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We were driving down with friends from Christchurch to Queentown. stayed overnight at the YHA Lake Tekapo. it was warm and very comfortable, toilets and bathrooms were clean. got ourselves two private rooms, not too sure about the shared rooms and its not far from the convenience shops.. huge kitchen to prepare our breakkie. best back yard and starry night....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnny w
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 1 July 2015

從青年旅館公共空間望出去就是非常優美的景色。 當天氣不佳時,下雨、太冷、風太大,我們可以回到美麗的青年旅館公共空間,這裡永遠溫暖! 我在這裡住了六天,於是觀察到TEKAPO湖的各種樣貌,從早上到晚上,從晴天變成雨天。如水晶般清澈、如鏡般平靜、皺浪濤濤,色彩豐富的群山、變化多端的陽光、不可預測的天氣... 所以非常感謝有像這樣一處平價又如此貼近TEKAPO湖畔住所,我才能有以上體驗。 強力推薦這間青年旅館 ^___^ *可以邊洗衣晾衣服邊欣賞湖景。 *廚房常常不太乾淨。 *衛浴通常很乾淨。 *通鋪有些擁擠,但床很舒服。 Very, very good view from the warm common area!! When the weather is not very good, raining, too cold, or windy, we can just go back to our beautiful common area, always warm!!! I stayed 6 nights here and I saw Lake Tekapo from morning to night, from sunny to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ConjuntoUniverso
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately we got stuck this hostel twice due to weather conditions on the trail we our doing. The guy who seemed to be running the hostel was friendly. However same can not be said for another staff member. There was a load drunk Chinese tourist with no thought about any other guests there. None the staff told them to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4seasonbackpacking
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We’re sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We believe we are quite a hiker-friendly hostel. We had a busy season this year with hikers, trampers and cyclists staying with us. We have a lot of storage for gear and we do collect parcels for trampers/hikers/cyclists...

Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my wife. First night in a dorm and the second in a double room. The staff were very accommodating beforehand and managed to upgrade our booking for one night. They even cleaned the room extra early so we could move our things into it for the second night. Amazing location overlooking the lake....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew E

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,344 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
638 reviews
0.8 km away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
1.1 km away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
311 reviews
1.5 km away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right on the lakefront with unobstructed views to the mountains beyond, the million-dollar view from the YHA Lake Tekapo backpacker hostel is of the incredible shades of blue of this glacier fed lake in the centre of the South Island of New Zealand. The hostels large lounge area directly overlooks the lake and is a comfortable and cosy retreat. Relax in front of the roaring log fire with the friendly hostel cat on your lap. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Lake Tekapo

Address: 3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Price Range: ₹ 1,751 - ₹ 4,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YHA Lake Tekapo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Tekapo Hotel Lake Tekapo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Lake Tekapo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room away from common room and kitchen is better, though the hotel is quiet in the evening”
 of 5 bubbles hellogc, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the right side of the hostel for a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles LORDZORPHIAAA, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms inside the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Amazinria, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Splendid views and great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles V2C, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Need to book ahead as was full every night I was there.”
 of 5 bubbles Mechanogirl, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5