We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
High Street, Dingwall IV15 9HA Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$62
View deal
Expedia.com
$66
View deal
Vio.com
$58
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity$66
Agoda.com$66
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (4)

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Dingwall
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a family ran hotel in Dingwall, the heart of the highlands. A 15-minute drive from the capital of the highlands Inverness. We offer a great location for anyone looking to travel and explore the wonderful delights the highlands have to offer. Giving you a perfect gateway to wonder places such as Inverness, Loch Ness, the Highland Whisky trail, beautiful Mountains & lochs. We have our own in-house restaurant Using the best of local produce. Serving hot meals all day. In our coffee shop we sell delicious homemade cakes and scones with piping hot tea or coffee, the perfect way to relax.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
11Reviews3Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
dwknock wrote a review Dec 2022
Stornoway, United Kingdom110 contributions2 helpful votes
I had booked to stay here in September but had to cancel due to a change of plans so as I saw the accordion & fiddle club was in in Dingwall I decided I would come back. The hotel is in a good location and was easy to find, I had to enter via the restaurant as the front door was locked but the barman showed me through and the lady at reception checked me in and was very pleasant. I had a nice big room overlooking the front of the hotel which was warm and quiet adn very spacious and it had a nice sized bathroom with bath and shower. I deided to eat in the restaurant as the menu seemed nice, but it was something else, there was nothing to fault the food but the atmosphere was terrible, It wasn't very busy but there was one table that just kept making a noise and swearing really loud which shouldn't be allowed in a restaurant. they left after a while but then some others came in and started playing their own music really loudly (and that was above the music the restaurant was already playing which was also louder than it could have been) so I'm sorry to say I was disappointed by the restaurant. Fortunately breakfast the next morning was nothing like that, it was quiet and there was a nice waitress who attended to everyone, there was a nice little buffet and cooked items were ordered and brought out to the table. I would like to return again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diogo Monteiro, Owner at National Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the food we serve. We also deeply apologize for the loud music played at the bar, you should have been offered a table at the restaurant instead, we are really sorry about that and appreciate you sharing it with us so we can prevent it from happening again. We would love you to give us the opportunity to have you back as it would be our pleasure to host you again. Kind Regards, The National Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Albia-Newton wrote a review Dec 2022
Evanton, United Kingdom3852 contributions1319 helpful votes
We had hoped for more The main courses were nice but my wife had to send her Cullen skink back to go into the microwave for heating to the correct temperature The deserts looked very nice but sadly the cakes were really stale. My wife did not eat hers and fair enough was given a refund Would not choose to visit again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diogo Monteiro, Owner at National Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2023
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry you were not happy with your meal. We appreciate you sharing this with us as it helps us to improve and learn from this. We are sorry that our efforts to make your meal enjoyable as well as the refund we offered didn't help to make things better. You will be always welcome back shall you decide to give us another chance. Kind Regards, The National Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
renatobelli99 wrote a review Nov 2022
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom51 contributions46 helpful votes
This Dingwall Icon has been run down for years but recently been taken over and is a breath of fresh air for the town, we had a lovely meal for six people and two children,well presented and really tasty and not expensive , then on Sunday my wife and I went in for a couple of nice cappuccino s, in a relaxed atmosphere so good luck to the new proprietor s
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diogo Monteiro, Owner at National Hotel
Responded 23 Nov 2022
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your family meal and your Sunday date. We are offering a new menu so although we personally love it, we are very pleased you liked it too and your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for the good wishes and we are looking forward to having you back soon! Kind Regards, The National Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sian N wrote a review Oct 2022
Inverness, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Came for lunch with my mum and gran and we were not disappointed. Beautiful food and lovely customer service. Very good value for money. Cake display looked absolutely fantastic. Although the food menu could have a little more as there is not a lot of choice to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diogo Monteiro, Owner at National Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your lunch with your lovely family and the cakes! We actually are working as well on a new menu, which shall be ready within the next couple weeks, so we hope you come to give it a wee taste :) Thank you again for your review, we will be very pleased to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, The National Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dougie2015 wrote a review Sep 2022
Playa del Carmen, Mexico41 contributions48 helpful votes
I had a great time in the national. Myself and my wife were visiting the area and stayed in this Victorian hotel. The staff were very friendly. The food was very good and adjusted to our needs. The bar in the evening had a fun and lively atmosphere. The receptionist went completely out of their way to help us. The hotel has aged and I think it adds to its unique charm of an old Victorian hotel in the Highlands. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diogo Monteiro, Owner at National Hotel
Responded 21 Sep 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure to host you and your wife and we are looking forward to welcoming you both back when you visit next. Kind Regards, The National Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monica Brown wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed for a lovely weekend and had a great time! The hotel is located In a very central area and offers delicious food and a lively pub during the evenings. Our room, which was a double deluxe was beautiful and cozy and the hotel itself is an impressive historical building that features a hall where they happened to be hosting a Highland show, quite the experience! We truly enjoyed talking to the owners and staff who were super nice and attentive. We felt really welcomed and will definately come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diogo Monteiro, Owner at National Hotel
Responded 21 Sep 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to host you and we are looking forward to welcoming you again! Kind Regards, The National Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
colin wrote a review Sep 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
A strange hotel , first impression, - a car park with rubbish in the corners , then no answer at the door so entered through the bar and coughed to get attention . Given a key card wallet and told wifi code on it , but no sign of the code . No mention of food arrangements. The room had a tatty feel to it and over looked a courtyard that had seen better days and was inhabited by pigeons with a lot of guano about. Due to creaking floorboards you could hear every movement , the door locks have a system where if a door hasn’t closed a bleeping noise emits, useful , but not all night long. The food was reasonable and bar service was good . We won’t be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Simon R wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Poor service , room smelt , windows wouldn’t stay open , pigeon poo all over window ledge . Reception got details wrong , no Wi-Fi information , no eating information offered . Bar service slow , food extremely hot , avoided breakfast after talking to another guest .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
SHAZRScotland wrote a review Aug 2022
Wick, United Kingdom60 contributions43 helpful votes
Stayed with work colleagues attending local show. Reception staff first class and very friendly. Rooms dated but adequate. Bar service very poor, closed at 10pm mid-week, staff did not advise our group. Breakfast was dreadful, everything was dried up and totally inedible. Will not be returning sadly,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diogo Monteiro, Owner at National Hotel
Responded 21 Sep 2022
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast, we are often praised for it and it does deeply disappoint us to learn that you didn't enjoy it. Our bar is open until 1am on the weekends but yes, unfortunately we do close at 10pm from Monday-Thursday, as you will find most of the other places do around here as well. We are truly sorry you feel this way about not coming back and we do hope you give us another opportunity in the future if you are around Dingwall. We thank your feedback as it is always taken with a positive approach to help us keep growing. Kind Regards, The National Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nadia N wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our family stayed at the National Hotel in Dingwall after our initial travel plans to the Isle of Skye were derailed. One month later, we can't say enough about the kindness, hospitality, and high quality service we were fortunate enough to experience. Upon arrival, the hotel staff immediately made us as comfortable as they could, which was particularly comforting in light of our anxiety and exhaustion at the time. They found us a room that accommodated our entire family, which was incredibly clean, well maintained, and well equipped for our needs. When we requested a fridge in our room for us to store some of the refrigerated goods we had purchased for our vacation, one was immediately provided for us. The hotel itself was quite beautiful - very well maintained for a historical building. Every member of staff was a pleasure to speak with - very friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating, and very reflective of Dingwall's unique charm. The food was excellent - we can't say enough good things about the meals at the hotel. At one point in our trip, we had to depart the hotel for a few days, and the hotel kept our room clean and organized just as we had left it, so it was more than ready for us when we returned. The flexibility and lengths that the staff at the National Hotel went to in order to accommodate us was exceptional and incredible. Overall, the experience was stellar and the hospitality we enjoyed at the National Hotel far exceeded the level of service we've experienced at some larger chain hotels. Our stay at the National Hotel was one of the highlights of the trip (which, given the beauty of Scotland, says a lot), and we will definitely be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diogo Monteiro, Owner at National Hotel
Responded 21 Sep 2022
Hello Nadia, It is lovely to read your review. We are very pleased to know that you and your lovely parents enjoyed your stay with us and we will love to host you again if you come back to Dingwall! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, it was truly a pleasure to host you all. Kind Regards, The National Hotel Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$55 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dingwall national hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
OYO National Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsRoss and CromartyDingwall
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NATIONAL HOTEL (Dingwall) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about National Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to National Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dingwall Museum, Scotland (0.2 km), Hector MacDonald Monument (0.2 km), and Picaresque Books (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at National Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at National Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a dishwasher.
What food & drink options are available at National Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at National Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to National Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Miss Ying Thai Food & Shop, Chilli Masala Restaurant, and Battysbaps.
Is National Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Dingwall.
Does National Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to National Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Strathpeffer Pump Room (6.8 km).