We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Oysterfleet Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Oysterfleet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Oysterfleet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Room was clean and tidy, and appeared to have been recently renovated. Towels in the room along with Shower Gel The pub associated with the Hotel is great, lovely location overlooking the lake, and the local wildlife Didn't eat at the Lighthouse restaurant attached to the Hotel but the food looked good as did the pub food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. All our rooms have recently been renovated and it's great to see positive feedback from this. It is always nice to receive positive feedback from guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We always stay here when visiting my parents and family. Its always clean and the staff are inviting and friendly. I would recommend this hotel always. Its very constantly good. We have never had any complaints with this hotel & shall continue to use it when we visit Canvey Island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IRW1968
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you always find the standards at the hotel to be high. We are a friendly hotel so I'm glad you feel this to be the case. We look forward to welcoming you back again in...

Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing stay this weekend with my partner. We had originally booked for just a standard room, but I received a call in the week to say that due to a leak in the room, we were being upgraded to the honeymoon suite. This was free of charge, and might I add how lovely the room really is. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, it was myself that called you last week and upgraded the room. It's also good to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant, it is always nice to receive positive feedback from guests. We look forward...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We were only there for 1 night as we had a family party to go. Our room (no.7) had a nice view of a river with swans on it. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Good value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chigago
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, I will pass on your positive feedback to Housekeeping regarding the cleanliness of the room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We also had Room 2 (see Conibear 1960) and found it perfectly acceptable. Furniture is as you would expect at a budget price and any sounds from adjacent rooms were minimal. The room was very comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, and the restaurant dining was of good quality and served by attentive waitresses. Standard of cleanliness very good, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philip_buddell
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and will pass on your positive feedback to housekeeping and the restaurant. The staff here pride themselves on being friendly and helpful so I am pleased that you felt this to be the case. We look forward to...

Reviewed 21 April 2016

We were down to celebrate my parents 60th wedding anniversary so stayed at Oysterfleet. We could not believe room 2. It was as if furniture had been put in for the night. Small double bed 2 plastic school chairs a MDF dressing table and wardrobe which was open with no doors. Walls so thin the couple next room might just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Conibear1960
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent stay with us, room 2 has indeed been refurbished recently in a modern minimalistic style. We receive may positive reviews regarding the hotel and our facilities and as the hotel is a 2 star rated property, we more than...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

I stayed here for one night as an alternative to using a late night taxi after a family event nearby. I booked the room through Hotels.com for £48. Upon arrival I was politely greeted at reception and checked in. I was told there was a function room practically below my room, but the function would end before I returned anyway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JmeBDC
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am pleased to hear the positive feedback that you gave regarding your check in and communication with Reception. We always try to inform guests in advance if their room will be noisy due to the function room, I'm pleased this didn't affect your stay. I hope that you will...

Glasgow
Reviewed 28 March 2016

we just stayed there for a weekend and it's very nice place to stay. rooms are not very modern but cozy and clean with great bathroom. bed was comfy. stuff was nice helpful and friendly and we couldn't complain about any noises or anything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are in the process of refurbishing all of our ground floor rooms to modernise them so should you return to us I'm sure you will notice a difference.

Rochford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We went to a wake here and I have to say the buffet was dismal, cheap shop bought scotch eggs that were awful, bridge rolls with hardly any filling in them, chicken pieces, deep fried spring rolls and scampi for £11.50 per head...and there wasn't much of it. Very poor and thry need to use their imagination. I work for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieandmick2016
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry to hear your negative feedback of our funeral buffets, we hold many funerals and functions at the hotel and generally only ever receive positive comments on the food. I will pass your feedback on to the Head Chef as I'm sure he will also be disappointed too....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed over night for business on 16th March. Good points: *The lady at reception was very friendly, greets you with a smile. *A quick and easy check in and check out. *Room had a bath and the bathroom was spotless. *Towels provided *Free view *In a convenient environment *Tea making facilities available. *Extra pillows provided Bad points: *It says...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJROLO
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. We do indeed have WiFi at the hotel, which is chargeable - this is stated on our website. The conversation that you had with Mandy our Receptionist regarding the router being confiscated was incorrect information and I feel completely misunderstood on your part. Mandy actually said that we used to...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.7 km away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
50 reviews
7.5 km away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
515 reviews
7.6 km away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
9.6 km away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
619 reviews
8.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
The Oysterfleet Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Seafood, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oysterfleet hotel is a 40 bedroom hotel situated in the town centre of Canvey Island. All bedrooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities. There is a choice of double, twin, family or interconnecting rooms and also a honeymoon suite. Complimentary parking is available on site. There is also a pub serving bar meals every day and a restaurant that is able to seat over 100 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oysterfleet Hotel

Address: 21 Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Price Range: ₹ 4,167 - ₹ 5,646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oysterfleet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Oysterfleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid room 20 there is a fan noise all night.”
 of 5 bubbles Hippychris, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enjoy your food we did.”
 of 5 bubbles benfleetjan, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel, plenty of choice off the island”
 of 5 bubbles 196pamelah, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try Premier Inn”
  • Old heater which didn't work
  • Peep show at the bathroom window
  • Bent wires at the back of the heater
  • Old dirty shower tray
  • One ply toilet tissue
  • Toilet stack
  • Squashed bed, no headboard, next to the wall and under draughty windiw
  • One of two broken lamps in the room
 of 5 bubbles Engineer9199, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A room which looks over the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles lizabellett, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5