We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kokkini Hani, Crete 71500 Greece
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (31)
Pool & Beach (15)
Room & Suite (7)

About

#2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kokkini Hani
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

The beachfront Stella Apartments is located in Kokkini Hani Village. It boasts free Wi-Fi access.The apartments looks out onto the courtyard as well as the beach in front of them and most enjoying views of the Cretan Sea.

The apartments offer a kitchenette with coffee-tea-facilities, electric kettle, fridge and electric plates, where guests can prepare their own meals. Each comes with air conditioning and have floor-to-ceiling double-glazed windows and doors, safe and TV. Each apartment includes a hairdryer. All of them have a seating and dining area.

Guests can enjoy a variety of cocktails, refreshing drinking and beverages from the variety of bars near and next to the Hotel. Next to the hotel taverns and restaurants, serve breakfast, local and international cuisine by the sea.

Guests can also use the facilities and swimming pools of the nearby Themis Beach and Xenia Helios hotels.

The front desk can provide information on the palace of Knossos that is 22 km away from the property, as well as the water park located near by, or routes for hiking mountain bikking. For the lovers of golf a golf center is located 15 minutes away from the hotel by car. Scouda diving lessons are provided at the near by beaches. Water skiing and other water sports are provided as well.

Other facilities include a wachine machine located in the hotel free of charge and children have a variety of games to play with, at the front desk or take them away and play at the beach.

Stella Apartments/Hotel is at a distance of 12 km from Heraklion City and Heraklion International Airport and port as well as the archaeological and the historical museums.Creta Aquarium is located 3 km away from the hotel. Hersonissos Village is within a 10-minute drive.

Within 50 metres a bus stop connecting to the city of Heraklion, Hesonissos, Gouves, Ag. NIkolaos, Rethymno and Chania. Free parking is available near the hotel.

Many churches and monasteries are within 30 minutes radius from the hotel by car.

The front desk can provide you with information regarding renting a car, bike or bicycle or can help you book an excursion to a site-seeing of your liking.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Street parking
Wifi
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Water park
Windsurfing
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Greek
32Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 8
  • 8
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
VictoriaDl1 wrote a review Sep 2022
Latvia50 contributions46 helpful votes
Very nice apartment, great value for money,it's located beachfront, in quiet area, nearby the supermarket. The room was very big, there is shower, kitchen fully equipped, bedroom and living room, the cleanliness very good. Very friendly staff. We definitely suggest this apartment. We had amazing sea view
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is enough space for parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Алла С wrote a review Jul 2019
St. Petersburg, Russia11 contributions2 helpful votes
clean comfortable room, timely cleaning and change of linen and towels, comfortable bed and mattress. the kitchen is well equipped with everything you need. plumbing, air conditioning all in good condition, everything works. Friendly responsive hosts, good location of the hotel, near a supermarket, pharmacy, beach 20 meters. for this money is great! exceeded my expectations
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anastasia A wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution
I booked this property for 2 weeks. The apartment was on third floor and had two rooms - two beds in living room and two beds together in bedroom ( I guess it was supposed to be a queen size bed , they just moved to single beds together ). I was very disappointment with this apartment. Ants were everywhere - bathroom, bedroom,living room, kitchen, you name it. Shower didn't work property - water was going straight and to the side. They should change the shower head. Shower drain was clogged. It took 10 minutes for water to disappear after shower. Air conditioner was installed in living room and it was very hot in bedroom. It's not powerful enough to cool even one room. Bed sheets were changed every 4 days. Wifi - you can't get signal even standing next to router. I was getting signal from hotel across the street but not from the router next to me. The whole place it outdated and need renovations. We paid around 1100 euros for two weeks and I will never ever make this mistake again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Irina S wrote a review Sep 2016
Moscow, Russia8 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a simple place perfectly located very near to one of the best Kokkini Hani beaches. Not suited for capricious people who value artificial comfort. Shortcomings: hot water comes and goes, only Greek channels on TV and some other minor imperfections you eventually get used to. We had a side sea view apartment of very decent size and enough amenities to organize everyday life. On the whole it is a charming family kept place where you feel autonomous and protected. It is unlikely that I will stop in Kokkani Hani again because there are too many other interesting parts of the world to see, but I will miss the place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Best apartments 9-12 face the sea. Numbers 3-6 have side sea view. 1, 2, 7, 8 ground floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
FliegenKiwi wrote a review Sep 2016
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg170 contributions102 helpful votes
Maybe my standards are higher than the other reviewers as I have stayed throughout Crete now for several years and this ranked as the worst hotel we have stayed in both due to our experience, the management, the room and the beach. I chose Stella as we would be arriving late en route to our final destination of Matala. I paid in advance for a room with a sea view. Our flight was delayed so we arrived after the cutoff checking time of 11.00 by 45 minutes but I did send a message ahead when we departed four hours earlier so we appreciate the owner waiting. When we did arrive late, we found that the room we booked and paid for in advance with the sea view was not available but we were never notified. Instead we had a dark ground floor apartment opening onto the courtyard entrance with a dirty washing bucket next to the front door. The owner was very grumpy saying he had waited for us 45 minutes which of course we appreciated, but then it was only when we pushed him that he agreed to give us Eur 5 back and then I see now, went and changed the booking.com booking to reflect a lower cost room. This is not though what we wanted. I paid extra to get the room with the sea view. Not a ground floor apartment with all the noise and lack of privacy that entails. The room was just OK and certainly not worth the rates In the morning the key stuck in the door but the owner was not in the office even though it was well past the advertised opening times so I had to call booking.com to track him down. When he arrived, he was very grumpy again. In all, I would not recommend staying here. The beach is not representative of Crete. The water is not clear and I am not sure how clean it is. Most of the beach is not cleaned and there is a lot of seaweed on the beach. There are very few places to eat and many houses are dilapidated with broken cars etc. I would never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Location
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from StellaApts, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Stella Apartments
Responded 14 Sep 2016
Dear Sir, thank you for the review. We are really sorry for your review and the way you experienced your visit. Although we do have some question marks regarding your review. First of all we are truly sorry for the change of your booking, it happened due to multiple bookings at the same time hence, we didnt have the time to inform the system or you about the availability of the apartment with sea view. We did although inform you the moment you came and gave you your money back for this change!When you arrived at 2:00 am after midnight, the rest of the clients at the hotel were all sleeping therefore it is very difficult for us to believe, how you were annoyed by the noise, there wasn't any at this time late at night! The apartment you stayed is a garden view apartment and several clients have stayed there before and after your stay!None of them said at their reviews that the apartment was dark, noisy or dirty! The next morning you went out and when you came back you couldn't open the entrance to the apartment, when someone came from the reception after a while to help you, he opened the door for you and together you saw after you tested again the opening and closing of the door that the door was not after all stuck and working properly! Finally you stayed at the apartment/hotel for less than 12 hours, you left the next morning, we really wonder when did you found the time to check all these misconducts, like the lack of privacy, the noise, etc, at the hotel and be so dissapointed with your stay!Finally, when the person from the reception came to help you open the door, you were the one yelling at him and when the rest of the clients heard you yelling came out of the apartments and asked what was happeping!When later they realized what was happening they did support us and encouraged us for the good work we are doing at the hotel!Finally since you say that you left the next morning when did you found the time in your 12 hour stay, to check and say with certainty that the beach was not clean or the sea, we truly wonder! I am really sorry for saying all this but it is the truth! Thank you again for your booklng!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgie A wrote a review Jul 2016
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
I visited Stella apartments July 2016 and I had a lovely time there. I wanted somewhere that was big enough to go self catering and was right on the beach. The apartments where very spacious, kept very clean I was there 10 days and every second day the cleaner came. The amenities are basic and fit for the purpose, we cooked most meals there, everything worked as it should. The air con works, and another bonus is being by the sea there is a nice breeze (good for temperature control and to blow away some mosquitoes). All in all the apartments where fantastic value for money. For me the best thing about this holiday was how laid back it was, the owners of the apartments where very friendly and there for any need you may have, they really could not be more helpful! however they really allow you to just get on with your holiday, they dont disturb or pester you, I felt like I was a resident of an apartment block rather than a tourist. And that I loved, you have everything in very close proximity to live in Crete for your duration, the large supermarket is around 3 mins walk away. There are some nice restaurants and bars near by, allowing you to wine and dine on holiday, however its not too touristy, if you dont want it to be. The beach is very very close, with most apartments having a sea view. We often sat on the beach directly in front of the apartments and watched the amazing sunset, with a beer (from the supermarket). During the day there are options to go to several spots on the beachfront. To the left of Stella there are sun loungers on the beach to rent literally one min away from Stella . only 7 euro for the lounger and a coffee ! and i cant say enough as to how helpful and friendly the staff there are. Overall everyone is so laid back, while managing to be super attentive and helpful. I definitely preferred this location, to my previous visit to Gouves, in a more touristy location. Not that the tourist attractions aren't fun, however at Kokkini Hani you are in close proximity to the public bus so you can really tailor the perfect holiday to suit you, and this is the perfect base. Laid back, amazing scenery, great sized apartments with everything you need, friendly staff, very close to the airport, and central to lots of other locations in easy reach of the public bus (very good bus service and comfy air conditioned buses), great local amenities. All together the most relaxing holiday so far.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AlBoozin wrote a review Jul 2016
Pszczyna, Poland75 contributions43 helpful votes
You have a nice basic apartment with a kitchenette, friendly owner who lives in the same property and a balcony (or two) facing the sea. On top of that the price is acceptable. What else do you need ? On the darker side, the beach ain't the best on the island but is clean and they built some stone water fence to protect part of the beach from the waves so it is safe even for the little ones.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
allidoolally wrote a review Oct 2015
Dublin7 contributions1 helpful vote
an ideal location - practically on the beach & excellent price!! in the centre of town with a large supermarket and several bars/taverna's in the area. we had room 12 which had a beautiful view of the sea - the apartment was very spacious and very clean!! kitchen was fully equipped with large lounge area!! the owners were very friendly & we were made most welcome - i would definately recommend this place!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
richard d wrote a review Oct 2015
Eastbourne, United Kingdom108 contributions34 helpful votes
Such a great location right on the beach .We stayed here as its only 20 minutes from the airport and has buses stopping at the end of the road every 15 minutes.The rooms are spacious with seperate lounge with kitchenette and bedroom they are clean if a little dated.Very homely you could easily stay for a week or two .Big supermarket at the end of the road and some good tavernas some of which are open all year round.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 12 has a great balcony overlooking the beach
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
csz75 wrote a review Jun 2012
Budapest, Hungary286 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
We spent only one night here when we arrived in Crete late evening. There was a little trouble to find this accommodation, we didn't know this area, but luckily we found it. The owner was super friendly and we got a spacious apartment (separate bedroom and living room with kitchenette) with sea view. We were satisfied with it, it was good value for its rate (29 Euros/night). The big advantages of this apartment house that it is around in 15 meters from the sea. :) I recommend it for those travellers, who are looking for a simple seaside accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$36 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureKokkini Hani
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

STELLA APARTMENTS (Kokkini Hani) - Guesthouse Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Stella Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Stella Apartments?
Nearby attractions include The Whisky Bar (0.3 km), Rebekka store (0.3 km), and Supermarket Dictamos (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stella Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Stella Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Stella Apartments?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Stella Apartments?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stella Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kafe Meze Pratsinis, Kontra Flokos, and Taverna Arkadi.
Are pets allowed at Stella Apartments?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Stella Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Stella Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Palace of Knossos (9.3 km), Castello del Molo (Koules) (10.9 km), and Loggia (11.0 km).