We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Save
Share
1.8 kilometres East of Banco de Costa Rica 1.8 kilómetros al este del Banco de Costa Rica, Santa Elena 60109 Costa Rica
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (536)
Room & Suite (69)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 22/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 22/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 8 hotels in Santa Elena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Our hotel located in Monteverde Costa Rica is an ecolodge. The Cloud Forest Lodge offers the perfect combination between isolating yourself in nature and staying close to all Monteverde´s facilities. We are located within the Bellbird Biological Corridor, two kilometers from the main town – literally in the middle between the Monteverde Reserve and the Santa Elena Reserve. We preserve our biodiversity with dedication since we believe that people deserve to enjoy the nature that surrounds us. We are invested in maintaining the essence of Monteverde over time. COVID NOTE. Due to the current situation, we had to vary the operation of the restaurant according to the occupation. In the same way, we continue our effort to meet the needs of each visitor and context. We appreciate that you let us know any preferences in advance so that we can serve you in the best way possible.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Hiking
Taxi service
Foot massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Snack bar
Full body massage
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
683Reviews21Q+A86Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 339
  • 230
  • 84
  • 18
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
bluepetalfam wrote a review Dec 2021
Plano, Texas44 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We absolutely loved our stay at the cloud forest lodge. It’s quite, well maintained, peaceful and so serene. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, plenty of space, well kept grounds and lovely walking trails. You can see many birds and wildlife around the lodge. It’s close to the city center and easily accessible by a taxi. Breakfast is delicious, with limited choices but always very good service. The service is always good and staff is very helpful. At night you can see the clouds moving in! It’s so so different from everywhere we’ve stayed before. Will love to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
flicker15210 wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a great time at this lodge starting with our airport pick up by Jorge. As birders, nature lovers and hikers our experience was exceptional. Wilberth and his friendly staff arranged an experienced local birding guide. We went with him on 3 trips. As a life long resident of Monteverde his knowledge went way beyond birds. This fact added tremendously to our enjoyment of the area. Land around the lodge has beautiful trails and a waterfall that attract an abundance of birds. The viewing areas in the restaurant are breathtaking and birds are everywhere. Some are encouraged to linger at the feeding platforms and sugar water feeders. In the creature comfort department, little is lacking. Our cabin, with king bed, was spacious, beautifully constructed with high ceilings and lots of light. The cabin was very clean. We had a porch with chairs where we birded. After hiking in altitude the massages, arranged by the staff, were welcome. The complimentary breakfast was generous. The dinner menu was extensive and we enjoyed all the home cooked meals. The staff was very attentive and decorated our cabin with a birthday banner for my husband and a complimentary bottle of wine. Everyone who saw us that day gave him birthday wishes. Our dinner that night included cheese cake with a candle and a serenade by our waitress and the lodge owner. We can’t wait to return. We can’t wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring rain gear and shoes.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Responded 29 Oct 2021
We are not the most luxurious or deluxe hotel in monteverde, we always tell our guests that our seal of quality is peace and harmony, since we are located in one of the most privileged points of monteverde, each and every one of the staff understands that our job is to do our best. All comments are very important to us, in this it fills us very much to receive it and to know that we managed to make you understand and accept that when people talk to us, they communicate openly and clearly, we can always give and receive what better: Elizabeth really was a great pleasure to receive you and have Paul celebrate one of his birthdays at our hotel.
Read more
Megan B wrote a review Aug 2021
San Diego, California58 contributions40 helpful votes
We spent 2 weeks in Costa Rica and stayed in 8 different hotels and lodges; this was the only place we did not like. I was expecting a quiet, peaceful lodge tucked away in the jungle. Though it is inconveniently far from town, it's the least peaceful place I could imagine; constant ziplines, cars and tour busses in the parking lot immediately in front of our room, and loud partying groups of guests at all hours. The walls were paper thin, adding to the noise. I think there were also people coming for tours who were not guests, maybe explaining some of the volume of people and noise. Even our first hotel near the airport in Alajuela was more peaceful than this place. No lunch is available and the (very expensive) dinner starts at 6, so your options are very limited. The restaurant seating is assigned so even though we arrived for breakfast at 6am with only one other family in the place, we were stuck at the farthest possible table from the view. On top of everything else, the breakfast was mediocre at best. If you want any other food at any time of day, it's a pricey taxi ride into town. The hotel staff was rabid about covid rules for everyone... except for the huge group of 20 adults and kids (friends of the staff?) having a party in the main room with no masks or distancing. I was scolded about washing my hands and wearing a mask to stand behind a plastic partition and ask a quick question, while right beside me were 10 kids laughing and playing while their parents socialized nearby (no masks, nothing). After 1 hour in this place I asked the front desk about checking out the next day (2 days early) and was told they had no control over a refund, it was up to hotels.com. I checked with hotels.com who said it was no problem on their end. So we left after 1 night, expecting a refund for the other 2 nights. Two weeks later, guess what? Turns out it IS up to Monteverde Lodge, and they declined any sort of refund. So to recap: extremely far from town but with no peaceful surroundings; terrible noise, facing a parking lot; expensive mediocre restaurant that is often closed; inconsistent covid policies; and dishonest management. Thank goodness our other 7 hotels in Costa Rica were supurb, this one was the worst. The place we moved to in Monteverde was the same price and exactly what we were looking for; quiet peaceful surroundings, amazing views, pleasant staff, and great food. Sad we wasted a night of our trip here, but at least it was only 1 night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jorge Taylor, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Responded 27 Aug 2021
It is amazing what some one will come up with when not getting a refund after they realize that they booked a hotel with out first finding out what the hotel had to offer. It is very clear from our web sight and our add in Hotels.com and other on line travel agencies, that we are a three star simple lodge located 2.5 kilometers from Santa Elena in Monteverde, We did have a problem with a local family who's kids were not under control; how ver this was only the first day and we were able to fix this problem. By the way, Monteverde Lodge is a different hotel. "Extremely far from Town". ? Our lodge is surrounded by 72 acres of Cloud Forest. Every morning birds and howler monkeys can become your wake up call. That is the reason why people book a room at our Lodge; not to be close to town. It seams to me that if you come to the Cloud Forest you want to be in the Cloud Forest. The review is to long to answer each complaint; If you are reading this response, please read what other guest have to say about our restaurant, location and our staff.
Read more
lovedjamaica79 wrote a review Jul 2021
York, Pennsylvania31 contributions16 helpful votes
This hotel was beautiful! The room was large, rustic and beautiful, though not particularly comfortable. We loved our stay this week. Breakfast was delicious, and staff was very friendly. Loved the view from our room, and especially from the restaurant, and we loved watching all of the birds, especially the hummingbirds!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Responded 25 Jul 2021
Thank you very much for your visit and comment, we are happy to receive you and know that you were able to enjoy our facilities and service, I hope you can return soon.
Read more
KarenKiyo wrote a review Jun 2021
Fair Oaks, California35 contributions9 helpful votes
We were blown away by the friendliness of the staff here. They went out of their way to help us and to make us feel like family. While we had eaten Gallo Pinto numerous times at different restaurants, the Gallo Pinto made for us at Cloud Forest Lodge was by far the best!! And we especially loved their hot sauce. The trails around the lodge were fun to hike around. The rustic feel around this place reminded us a little of Kauai.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia CFL, Director General at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Responded 23 Jun 2021
We love receiving comments from our guests, they help us to try to improve, but we like them much more when people tell us that they had a good time, that they felt well cared for, because that is our goal every day. For us, each client is one and deserves all our dedication and dedication. Thank you very much for your words, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay a lot and that you liked the gallo pinto. We hope you can visit Costa Rica again, it would be a great pleasure to receive you again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
monteverde cloud forest hotel monteverde
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverdeSanta Elena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Monteverde Orchid Garden (1.0 km), Serpentario (1.1 km), and San Luis Waterfall (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include San Lucas Treetop Dining Experience, El Sapo Restaurant & Bar, and Choco Cafe Restaurant and Coffee Shop.
Is Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Santa Elena.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.