We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
800 Mts North from Santa Elena, Santa Elena 50309 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$69
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Hotels.com$86
Travelocity$86
Priceline$86
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (333)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (34)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 17/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 17/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 53 Specialty lodging in Santa Elena
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1233Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 904
  • 264
  • 52
  • 7
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rachael D wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
I can echo many of the other points in recent reviews: the hotel is really charming, everything was clean, and the breakfast was possibly our favorite while in the country. Although we were some of the only guests staying there at the time, we did learn that the walls were thin and let in noise. Lack of window screens did not present an issue for us (no bugs, somehow), but we were dismayed to see no deadbolt or safe. The location was great--it did feel rustic but it was close enough to walk to Santa Elena for meals, and there was a super/grocery store right down the hill for snacks. Not at all the fault of the hotel, but both nights we were there it was extremely windy, and that's what caused most of the noise. Again, lots of great things about the spot, and we appreciated the hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotel area (farther away from the road), you might avoid some...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Madrigal, General Manager at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Hola Rafael, we are glad our service was delightful, we focus on providing the best experience possible while you're visiting Monteverde. Yes, we constantly receive feedbacks of features as cozy, small and warming hotel, we are so happy to know you enjoyed. You are right, Monteverde is sometimes some windy, but is part of the magic of the zone. Thank you so much for taking your time and sharing your experiences, it is very important for us. Best regards!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KtTravel wrote a review Jul 2022
Atlanta, Georgia36 contributions
+1
People were very friendly and room was perfectly adequate even for the five of us . We got the big family room and it was fine. Huge bathroom and nice shower! Temperatures were fine despite no AC. Fans were all we needed. No bug issues for us. Our only issue was breakfast did take quite a long time to wait for. We were ready to get moving quickly in the morning and the included breakfast just took longer than I liked. My husband did not find this to be a problem but I don't like sitting. There was a nice balcony that is actually a shared space but we had it all to ourselves as the hotel was not busy when we were there. That really saved our experience here because we were able to sit out there and play cards and read, etc. It looks over the town's soccer field which was sweet to watch. The road is right there too though so there is a lot of dirt bike noise. Nights were quiet. There was some construction going on during the day but we weren't there much during those hours so it didn't affect us much.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orianna Quesada, Owner at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 19 Jul 2022
Dear Katie, thank you for taking your time to let us know about your stay! You're right! Our hotel has just the perfect location! We are pretty close to several restaurants, souvenirs, tours, supermarkets and pharmacies. Also, we will definitely take into consideration all your feedback about our breakfast and will work on that in order to offer a better service to our next guests. Our main objective is to make our guests feel relaxed and completely satisfied, while enjoying the beauty that Monteverde provides. Greetings from the family of Treebū Hotels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary T wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
So the good: nice staff, clean room and great breakfast. The bad: no AC, or TV. No screens on the windows ( a lot of bugs in the room) and only a doorknob with no safety chain or deadbolt on the door. Horribly uncomfortable spring mattress. To be fair, this is a $60/night room which was appropriate for the accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Madrigal, General Manager at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 21 May 2022
Hello dear Gary, thank you so much for your feedback. We are truly sorry for your inconvenience, we would have loved for you to tell us your concerns, so we could do something about it. We are a small but cozy and warm hotel, focus on relax and perfect option for guest who are looking to explore the beauty of Monteverde. Best regards and thank you so much again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellie L wrote a review Jan 2022
Passaic Park, New Jersey30 contributions13 helpful votes
Sweet place but I could hear the people next door and the motorcycles outside by 5:30 am. This hotel is right on the main road. The staff is very kind though and the place was clean. They allowed me to go into their kitchen and use their microwave which was nice. Also the bedroom could have allowed a bunch of people to sleep in it - two doubles and 1 single bed provided so that is practical for a family.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Madrigal, General Manager at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 12 Feb 2022
Hello dear Ellie, thank you so much for your feedback, it is very important for us. It is amazing how every day we receive compliments about our service, it makes us very proud. We are happy that we could help you. You are right, we have rooms for single, double, triple and family of 4 -5 people. Best regards and thank you so much.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ayrinv wrote a review Jan 2022
Murrieta, California43 contributions31 helpful votes
I paid for the biggest room which is a family suite. The family suite is not available and They gave me a smaller room without any refund between the price. They offerdm e 20% off to a restaurant and access to jacuzzi/pool on their other property (not walking distance ) which I'm not interested at all. All I'm asking is a refund for the difference between what I paid for and the cost of the smaller room. I sent a message to their management with the response that they will investigate. I don't understand on why they need to investigate. Admit the mistake and refund the customer. No chairs inside the room. This should be standard in all hotel rooms. Forget about coffeemaker, kettle, microwave etc. All you get is a bed/s and a table (without a chair). I also emailed them twice for tour bookings. No answer for both email. Bring earplugs unless you want to listen to your neighbor's conversation. On the positive note, rooms are clean can walk to city center.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Good for backpackers and budget traveler. You will enjoy the hard/firm mattress too.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Madrigal, General Manager at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 8 Jan 2022
Hello dear ayrinv, we are sorry that even in our conversations it seems like you are not happy. It is important to clarify you received the room you booked, such as our conversation all our rooms are the same category, different goes in beds. Also, essential to mention that you booked through a 3rd part, they did to charge you, and they paid us, so unfortunately we can not process the refund (even that in this case does not apply). Thank you for giving us the chance to explain this written, besides our conversation personally. All rooms have chairs and table out site of the room, even we can put it into the room if you want it. Our hotel is standard, rooms are described once you do the reservation, small but cozy and warm hotel it is our main feature. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alex wrote a review Jul 2021
Costa Rica7 contributions
+1
I end up here which was not planed, but I am glad I did. The place is very clean, people is very kind. Food is good and is near to other place’s restaurants and others. Rooms are big and again clean. They do have alcohol in the room for you to use. Super recommended. In the place though there is no facility to get ice (in case you need) so I ask for some ice and they figured it out and got me a big full bag of ice. That was a great surprise.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Be there before 9pm since due to COVID everything closes at that time
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Madrigal Montes, General Manager at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 19 Jul 2021
Dear guest Guide16223605967, We really appreciate your time you take to share your experience, this is very important for us. Every day, our staff to their best to provide the best service possible and make you feel as at your home. Thank you so much again, and we hope you can visit us soon! Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
baytravel wrote a review Apr 2020
san francisco102 contributions142 helpful votes
PROS: 1) Friendly & courteous staff 2) The landscaping is pretty and well maintained 3) Breakfast was pretty good - there's fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt and you order the main breakfast off their menu. CONS: 1) The front desk warmed us upon check-in to wrap all foods in plastic due to ants. There were trails of ants climbing the walls the entire time and we didn't have any food. 2) No air-conditioner. Only one very slow ceiling fan. It's cool at night so this wasn't not be a problem. However, the daytime is hot and so is the room. There is no way we could stay inside the room in the afternoon. Forget about a nap. 3) No mattress pad. The bottom sheet is the only thing separating me from the mattress, that grosses me out.. Also, one of the beds squeaked with every move and it was so hard it made my face hurt (I sleep on my side). 4) Walls are thin and we could hear our neighbor's conversations. 5) You better be in good shape to hike the hills from town if you don't have transportation. Those hills are steep. Can't recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Quesada, Guest Services / Front Office at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 12 Jun 2020
Dear BayTravel Thank you so much for write us and taking your time for share us your feedback. It is clear that you haven´t the experience that you deserve. Always our staff will be willing to look for best options for you in order that you feel confortable. Please feel free to contact the Hotel and ask for the Director (for policies of Trip Advisor we cannot put emails here), we want to look the way of compensate this inconvenience to you. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marleneadelson wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada12 contributions2 helpful votes
A quaint hotel not far from town, Rustic Lodge is staffed by excellent customer service employees who were most helpful during our stay. Beware however, that despite wearing construction-grade earplugs we could hear snoring and every word said by guests in adjacent rooms. There is ZERO sound-proofing! Oddly there are also no chairs to relax in. The only chairs available are terribly uncomfortable tree-branch rigid structures - good for a quick meal outside only. More over, there was not even ONE chair inside the room. Hence if you want to sleep well and read a book/relax in a lounge chair, look elsewhere. Other than these two challenges, the hotel is ok.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room with as few neighbours as possible.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Infohpp, General Manager at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Dear marleneadelson, Thank you so much for your feedback. It's amazing how we always receive positive comments about our staff, it makes us proud! We completely understand about your comments and we put the eye on in order to get better every day. Best regards and we apprecite your time to shere your experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aussie1fan wrote a review Feb 2020
Spruce Grove, Canada210 contributions182 helpful votes
This is a no frills hotel - basic breakfast, basic rooms, very small bathroom, no A/C, no mini fridge, no coffee or tea Pots and the beds, OMG are they hard! Staff is helpful, especially Alejandro, she was always pleasant and went out of her way for everyone, this hotel is lucky to have her! The grounds are small but well groomed, nice little patio set outside our room. It’s a short but hilly walk into town, watch out for Costa Rica sidewalks, they’re dangerous! Most often you’re walking on the road, be very careful!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Infomrl, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Hello, We appreciate your feedback because with it we can improve the quality of service that we will provide to our next guests. We will definitely take into account all your comments and will work on that in order to offer a better service to our guests. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wanderinggirl wrote a review Feb 2020
Cotswolds, United Kingdom211 contributions120 helpful votes
Stayed here for three nights and sorry to say this was definitely the worst hotel we stayed in. To be fair we were on a package holiday and other hotels which were organised for us were a better grade of hotel so not sure why our tour company choose this place. Bedrooms were small, brown walks depressing, see through curtains, no soundproofing , double beds tiny and v uncomfortable, windows not finished properly so when it got windy at night it felt like the window was going to smash. Nowhere comfortable to sit everything wooden in garden not one chair in room. Garden was tiny. This meant we had to take taxi to the sister hotel Poco a poca everyday so we could relax. Breakfast ok but had to wait ages for it. This place is definitely more suited to backpackers than sixty year olds travelling around the country and needing a few home comforts. Also no bar or meals available apart from breakfast
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Infomrl, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Hello, We appreciate your feedback because with it we can improve the quality of service that we will provide to our next guests. We will definitely take into account all your comments and will work on that in order to offer a better service to our guests. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$62 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
monteverde rustic hotel santa elena
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverdeSanta Elena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Monteverde Rustic Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Monteverde Orchid Garden (0.6 km), Ranario Monteverde Frog Pond (0.8 km), and Monteverde Wildlife Refuge (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monteverde Rustic Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Monteverde Rustic Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Monteverde Rustic Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monteverde Rustic Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include San Lucas Treetop Dining Experience, El Sapo Restaurant & Bar, and Choco Cafe Restaurant and Coffee Shop.
Is Monteverde Rustic Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.06 km away from the centre of Santa Elena.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Monteverde Rustic Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Monteverde Rustic Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.